August 20th

Good afternoon. Better late than never as the saying goes. I was up early but had a zillion things on my need to get done list….. I had to run to town and even left late for there. However, I managed to get to all my stops, do my grocery shopping and yes I went through the most hatred of all Wally World at the busiest time of day. However, I did the riding cart today, which I hate and I let every one else worry about getting out of my way because I am not a good driver when it comes to those carts. I normally don’t use them but I knew I wouldn’t pay attention to what I needed to do today if I had to do that long walk.

I don’t go to Wally World unless it’s absolutely necessary. I hate the parking lot, I hate the length of the store and I hate running into everyone and their brother and not having any where to sit down. By the time I get done by back feels like it’s going to break and my legs don’t want to move to get me to the car. However, today was better since I drove crazy and got through as quickly as I could and walked to my car.

I was glad to return home to the a/c and get comfortable. I’ve been reading my emails and three chapters of a book for another author and now it’s time for my blog.

Monday’s always start slow for me I don’t know why. I could understand it if I was still going to work but now my days are pretty much the same everyday of the week. However, Monday always seems to be my slow day. Maybe it’s because forty years of teaching we always hated Mondays.

Students would come back tired, staying up late not sleeping or eating right all weekend. You could get little out of them on Monday’s. Then by the time they get back to normal your headed back to the weekend. It’s a never-ending cycle.

Now it’s just me who has a bad sleep pattern (do to age and health) and poor eating habits (due to money and health) so I have no one to blame for Monday blahs but myself.

At least the sun is out, last night was cooler and some areas of Idaho were suppose to get some showers, with minimal lightning. We really need some rain to stop the forest fires.

My prayers go out to all the families around the US that are being evacuated from their homes.

Right now in Idaho the Red Cross is short of volunteers and asking for help. I wish that I was in shape to help them but I know I’m not.

Well our air isn’t as smokey as it’s been and that is a good thing. The allergies and asthma have been flaring.

Well now let’s take a look at the National Day’s.

National Days:

Sunday:

19 Aviation Day

The National Aviation Day (August 19) is a United States national observation that celebrates the development of aviation.

The holiday was established in 1939 by Franklin Delano Roosevelt, who issued a presidential proclamation which designated the anniversary of Orville Wright‘s birthday to be National Aviation Day (Mr. Wright, born in 1871, was still alive when the proclamation was first issued, and would live another nine years). The proclamation was codified (USC 36:A:I:118), and it allows the sitting US President to proclaim August 19 as National Aviation Day each year, if desired. His/her proclamation may direct all federal buildings and installations to fly the US flag on that day, and may encourage citizens to observe the day with activities that promote interest in aviation.[1]

For more information go to : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Aviation_Day

August 19, 2013 is

National Potato Day

It’s National Potato Day! Potatoes have been popular parts of diets around the world for centuries.

Did you know that more than 45 billion pounds of potatoes are harvested in the U.S. each year? We use them to make baked potatoes, mashed potatoes, home fries, French fries—the list is endless!

Potatoes are not only tasty—they’re good for you! They contain high levels of important vitamins and minerals, such as vitamin C, potassium, and iron. Today, enjoy potatoes prepared your favorite way to celebrate National Potato Day!

Idaho is known for its potatoes. I grew up on potatoes. I love every type of potato. The one thing about potatoes is they help make a meal complete and they are very filling. It isn’t the potato that is fattening it is what we put on it so use good judgement and pick healthy toppings. We frequently have only a loaded baked potato for dinner. There is noting like a potato loaded with onion, mushrooms, olives, broccoli, a dab of sour cream and some shredded cheese.

In fact tonight we are going to have baked potatoes with rib eye steak. Yummmmm.

No matter how you like your potatoes enjoy.

 

Monday:

20 National Radio Day

National Radio Day is observed on August 20th every year to celebrate radio.

Numerous electronic inventions and technological advances preceded the invention of the radio, not the least of which was the telegraph and telephone. The radio revolutionized communications, particularly news and family entertainment. Today there are more than 12,000 radio stations in the U.S., and more than two billion radios in use.

One of the most famed radio broadcasts ever was “The War of the Worlds,” directed by Orson Welles. Performed as a special Halloween broadcast on Oct. 30, 1938, the delivery was so realistic that many Americans reacted in panic, believing that the earth had been invaded by Martians.

The radio invention has allowed us to expand and listen to many varieties of music and to listen as we travel in our cars to and from work, to town, or on our vacations. The radio invention has provided us with not only a very important way of communicating but also a very practical entertainment that can be shared by all ages. Pick your favorite channel today and enjoy the radio while you are working around the house or riding in the car. Make today a celebration of those who were the first talk shows on radio and opened the doorways for all other programs to come. Whatever you do enjoy.

 

Stay at Home with Your Kids Day.

On the third Monday in August we celebrate “Stay at Home with Your Kids Day.” And why not? Everyone needs a mental health day every once in a while! The concept behind this obscure holiday is to give your kids a special treat and work on that parent/child bond. So don’t let the day go to waste by sleeping until noon or running errands. Get in there and enjoy the day with your kids. Watch movies, bake cookies, ride bikes — it doesn’t matter as long as you’re interacting with your children.

This is also a wonderful day to use for preparing your children for back to school whether it be shopping for schools or school supplies, making sure they are registered and taking them to a new school to help with anxiety. This is a day that should be about kids. A great day to take them for a treat and have fun in the process. Whatever you do enjoy those precious kids of yours. They grow up way to fast.

 

for more information go to : http://news.yahoo.com/august-20-pony-express-day-national-radio-day-222600536.html

August 20, 2012 is

National Lemonade Day

Today is National Lemonade Day! Lemonade originated in the Mediterranean region in the 13th century and the recipe eventually made its way to Europe and then to America. The beverage was sold as an everyday refreshment and as a tonic, used to treat colds and other ailments. In France, you could purchase a glass from street vendors known as “lemoadiers.”

To celebrate National Lemonade Day, make your own homemade lemonade to share with friends and family. Dissolve 2 cups of sugar in 1 cup of hot water. Then stir in 2 cups of freshly squeezed lemon juice and 1 gallon of cold water. Pour into glasses filled with ice and garnish with a lemon slice and a sprig of mint. Enjoy!

Well that’s it for today so I am no hungry from reading about food so I will go and cook my dinner. So until next time”)

National Chocolate Pecan Pie Day

It’s National Chocolate Pecan Pie Day, just another reason to celebrate. I had several different recipes for Derby Pie that use pecans. July 12 was National Pecan Pie Day, so I just had to make that a Chocolate Pecan Pie. That was an adaptation of Derby Pie and included bourbon.

So today, I thought I’d give a recipe that’s quick and easy. First, use a frozen crust. I like Trader Joe’s frozen pie crusts, but Pillsbury or another will work. Of course, you can always make your own.
 

Chocolate Pecan Pie

1 unbaked 9″ pie crust
1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup light Karo syrup
3 large eggs, beaten
1 1/2 tsp. fresh lemon juice
1 cup pecan halves
1 cup broken up dark chocolate or chocolate chips.
(you can add 2 tbsp of good bourbon if you’re so inclined)

In a saucepan, brown butter until golden. Don’t let it burn. Set aside to cool. Then add sugar, salt, vanilla, syrup and eggs. Mix well. Add lemon juice, pecans and chocolate pieces/chips.
Pour into unbaked pie shell and bake at 425 for 10 minutes. Then, reduce heat to 325 and bake for 55 minutes.

When you serve, top with real whipped cream!

You’ll love this pie! Have a great National Chocolate Pecan Pie Day today!

for more information go to : http://dyingforchocolate.blogspot.com/2009/08/national-chocolate-pecan-pie-day.html

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

