Birthday Week

Well this past week I had my sixty-first birthday. Just about the time you are beginning to believe you are over the hill and forgotten life has a way of surprising you and reminding you that others truly do care.

I had a wonderful birthday. My sons planned a BBQ with the help of girlfriends and family members. They bought and cooked steaks, corn on the cob, and baked potatoes with all the trimmings. Mandy and her mom saw that there was a pasta salad and a cake actually made from scratch. Mandy picked up mint chocolate chip ice cream my favorite. Miriha(sorry don’t know how it’s spelled) made a cheese cake.  Oh my too much food but all was enjoyed and delicious.

Shawn and Michael out did themselves. When family comes together and help it turns into a wonderful event that is never forgotten. The kids loaded the dishwasher and put everything away so all I had to do was run the dishwasher. Nice not having to do the work for a change. Then the guys went outside for a while and the women sat around the table.

The only game I have is Apples to Apples so I pulled it out and started Mandy and her mom on it as they had never played it before. I looked over my shoulder to see my son Michael sitting at the couch reading my new book “Growing Up in the Rockies.” The gals played around of Apples to Apples laughing our heads off. Michael then joined us to see what was so funny. Shawn was in the middle of a music project he needed to finish working on.  We played a few more games of Apples to Apples laughing and giggling until it was late.

Knowing the kids had to work in the morning we called it a night. Michael told me he liked what he had read. He took the book home with him so he could read the rest of it.

As everyone went their own way that evening and I looked around I said to myself “This is what life is all about.” You take those happy moments when you can get them and lock them in your memory forever. They always have a special place in your heart and they never leave you. So the next time I start feeling like I’m over the hill and life has forgotten me. I am going to pull out the key to my heart and open it up and let the love flow that was given to me on my sixty-first birthday.

I want to thank my wonderful, family and friends for remembering me. You made a hard week turn into a very enjoyable one.

The only thing that went wrong was my computer chair finally broke on my Birthday. I guess I am going to have to think about replacing it as I use it everyday. Oh well, I got my money’s worth out of it.

I hope throughout the year everyone will take time to enjoy their birthdays and to remember those people who may be forgotten. A simple card, or just a happy birthday brightens someones day.

I now can face the coming of fall knowing no matter what my family is here for me. I do not look forward to the end of summer but it couldn’t be a better ending then family, friends, love and the publishing of my new book.

Everything comes full circle eventually. We just have to be patient enough to wait for it to happen and be smart enough to recognize when it does.

May my love be with all of you for months to come.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Janice,

    Very interesting. I thought I would comment so you would know I was here… 🙂

Leave a Reply

