Hurricane Irene

Now as school is about to start the new year and the last time for a holiday weekend on Labor Day our eastern sea board is being pounded with a Hurricane of enormous strength. This has been a most unusual year between, floods, earthquakes, forest fires, and now hurricanes.

It is a time when everyone needs to pull together as neighbors in the old days did; when they use to get together for a good old-fashioned barn raising. The men would hammer and build all day, the women would prepare food and at the end of the day when a barn was all built-in one day they would feast on pot luck dinners and dance into the wee hours of the morning. What a great way to live.

It is now a time to celebrate life, liberty, family, friends,  and neighbors for that is really all we have in life. Materialistic items don’t matter they can be washed away in an instance. However, the love of others, our life and our liberty we have for eternity.

I hope that as we faces these natural disasters that seem to be increasing around the world that everyone will extend the hand of brotherly love.

“For God So Loved the World that he gave his only begotten son! That who so  believeth in me shall not perish but have everlasting life.”

I think it is time for all of us to recognize that there is a stronger being and that power is in control of our destiny. It is up to us to recognize what we need to do now. Please reach out to one another. Help each other not only be safe, but continue to live safe.

Last night I watched a horrifying show on 20/20 about homeless teenagers. Not runaways but teenagers who had been abandoned by families. It is time as a country we see that our own are protected, are educated, feed, clothed and housed. No child should have to live on the street. When they live this way they have a 50/50 chance. The ones that succeed are the ones that someone reached out to and set the example. We need to pick up the pieces at home and give families hope.

We are living in a very tough economy now and few have experienced this type of depression. Let’s join together as a nation and rebuild to be the greatest nation ever. It is time to reduce the debts, the destruction and the homeless.

Please pray for those in the line of Hurricane Irene and be there to help when it is over. This destruction will last more than a few days. The love in your hearts can save a person and last a life time.

Don’t just talk the talk but walk the walk. The time has come now for our country to receive its own help.

4 Responses

  1. God Bless You Janice, it was great reading your post. I have been praying for all the people, and animals around “Hurricane Irene.” My stepson is in Washington DC, and he will not talk to me, he is living in the flesh, and does not want to hear God’s Word. I emailed him and asked if he was all right and safe, he never returned my email. His name is Walter Jr.
    I have a strong feeling that God is getting everyone’s attention, and he will keep safe.
    Great Post! Keep up the important news, it breaks my heart about the homeless teenagers; I did not watch 20/20. However, I pray for the homeless people and animals every chance I get.
    God Bless You
    Carol

    • Thank you for your wonderful words Carol. It is a time for us all to look at ourselves and judge our lives before judgement day. I pray for you and your son. If you would like me to send him an email to try to mediate between the two of you I would be happy to do so. I would need you to send me his email which I will not post. You can send it through my blog site or on facebook under Janice N. Richards”Best Selling Author” I will send you the copy of the email I send him. However, I respect you if you choose not to do so. I try to help all that I can. I continue to pray for the homeless, the military, and all in need of prayer including those who are sick and the senior citizens. I pray for the animals and those good people who take them in to shelters or foster care for them. I have two cats that needed a home. This is a time when I ask everyone to join me in prayer for the entire east coast as Hurricane Irene continues its destruction. Dear Lord Protected those in the path of Irene keep them safe and let their families know that they are okay. In Christ’s name Amen.

  2. Lovely post….and thoughtful.

    • Sally thank you for your reply. I think we as a country, a world, a nation need to start pulling together and doing our part any way we can. I am physically and financially limited in how I can help. However, I am a firm believer in the power of prayer. I can pray for all of those in need and continue to do so. I ask all of the world to join in prayer for the hungry, the ailing, those who have lost some one, and for any other need to help humanity through these difficult times. God Bless you Sally and the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

