November

November is here and now that Halloween is over we move on into new holidays. Harvest has ended in many places and winter is rapidly approaching. Now as we will be thinking about the special events of November I will post new information as it comes to me. Three important dates to currently remember are as follows:

Armistice Day now known as Veteran’s Day is celebrated on November 11. Originally  this federal holiday was established to honor Americans who had served in World War I, but it now honors veterans of all wars in which the U.S. has fought. This is a day when Veterans’ organizations hold parades, and the president of the U.S.  places a wreath on the Tomb of the Unknowns at Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia.

I Love to Write Day, is on November 15th and is now recognized by nine states . This is a day when schools encouraging writing with their students and young author publishing. Please encourage your children to write. This is very important as there is very little writing being taught in today’s schools.

Thanksgiving Day is a federal holiday celebrated, which always is  on the fourth Thursday in November. This custom began when in the fall of 1621, the Pilgrims held a three-day feast to celebrate a bountiful harvest. Many regard this event as the nation’s first Thanksgiving, or harvest day.

November is a month when we share everything that we are thankful for. I am going to ask all of my followers to leave a comment this month stating what they are thankful for.

I will start by saying I am so very thankful for my sons who brighten my life. I am very thankful for the opportunity to be part of the literary world and to have met so many wonderful people online. I am thankful to have grown up in the family I had and to have had opportunities. We learned to appreciate the little things and nature. We were not rich in money but we were rich in love. I am so thankful for knowing the difference.  I am thankful to all my readers and all comments that are left. Please share with me this month everything that we are thankful for. I will add new things frequently.

Leave a Reply

