November 6th

Good morning friends 🙂

I am thankful for:

Daylight savings and that extra hour of sleep. It does a person good once in a while to get an extra hour. I’m also thankful that today all the clocks are the same time. Yesterday they were all different it threw me off a bit.

I am thankful for self setting clocks. My best friend that lives here gave me an alarm clock for Christmas one year and it automatically resets itself. How wonderful that is.

I never have understood why we do Daylight savings time. To me it seems it would be easier just to leave it the same year round. However, I have to admit in the winter that hour of darkness extra helps settle everyone into a winter routine and early to bed.

Today the sky is very grey and there is heavy frost on the car windows. I am so thankful for having a garage. No more scrapping of car windows.

It has been raining lightly off and on and is trying for snow but so far no snow. I am thankful for that.

I am thankful that harvest ended before the snow flew this year. That makes for an ugly time in the fields.

My youngest son called me last night and we had a nice visit. I am so thankful for being able to talk to him around his busy schedule.  He has to work today as they are having a special sale at the furniture store. I am thankful he has work and can work inside.

I am very thankful that my sons learned at an early age to talk to me about anything and everything be it good or bad. Thank God for communication.

Last night I was able to relax and watch a movie without falling asleep which is rare for me and my sleep apnea. I am thankful for being able to just sit back and enjoy the moment.

I have wonderful friends on Facebook who I laugh and cry with. I so appreciate them. Yesterday they were posting a lot of wonderful quotes and sayings. Some of the sayings were hilarious, some were serious and some were inspirational. However, many of them put life into perspective. I love to read those and I am thankful for all the inspiration postings and realty checks my dear friends share with me.

I am thankful the cats had another goodnight. They are getting back to normal and adjusting to winter coming on.  However, I am always thankful when there is no wind as that seems to trigger Skeeter. He gets very agitated when wind or storms are coming. I am thankful that today has started off with no wind and looks like it will be a calm day.

I am thankful for the power that we have and that I am able to have heat on when I need to. I pray for those that have been hit hard with winter storms already.

I am thankful that we haven’t had earthquakes and some of the horrendous acts of nature that have taken place this year.

I am thankful for my oldest son who cooked dinner last night. I was just thinking about it when he went into the kitchen and kicked me out. He made my poor man’s pasties.  They are actually hamburger pinwheels. A wonderful quick meal that takes ten minutes to whip together and fifteen minutes to back. Then when down served with warm gravy. Yes, it is nice being waited on once in a while.

Now if I could just train the cats to do the dishes it would make my day. HEHEHE. I have a dish washer but those darn dishes haven’t learned how to jump in by themselves yet. I am so thankful for having a dishwasher. Some would say I am lazy but I say it saves my back from a lot of extra standing and pain. Oh yes, I love my dishwasher.

I am thankful for Sundays. When i was growing up my grandmother made sure it was a day of rest and relaxation. The only things that you were allowed to do were go to church and have family gatherings. No work on Sunday. They use to say if you work on Sunday it’s a sin and you have to undo it all with your nose. I never figured that one out but it was okay with me not to work on Sunday. I am thankful that my family believed in a family day and family dinners. They are such important memories.

Now I take Sunday and do absolutely nothing but relax and have an occasional family dinner. Sometimes I even manage an afternoon nap.

Did you ever notice that this is the time of year when people start sharing their photos? I love to see postings of photos especially nature pictures, scenery, animals etc. I am thankful to all my friends who inspire my writings with the photos they share.

I am thankful for everyday that I can get up read my comments from my readers and write another day.

I am thankful that I have met so many nice people online who have restored my faith in humanity.

I am thankful for being able to have faith that my parents instilled in me and to believe and choose day-to-day as I want.

I heard a story about the Mayan culture on PBS yesterday and their earliest writings about creation. How interesting it was to be able to have that shared after many years of lost history.  It was full of myths and unexplainable beliefs. It made me realize just how far we have come in our understanding of life. Yet, they were a very advanced civilization that contributed their knowledge to all of us.

I am thankful for the diverse cultures in the world. Every culture brings something new and exciting to the world to share and leave its impression.

I am thankful that we aren’t all cloned to be the same. Variety is the spice of life and what spices we have living amongst us all in this mobile society.

I am thankful for being able to get up today with a positive outlook even though the day is grey.

I hope everyone who reads my blog will write what the are thankful for and look for the positive in life. For the glass isn’t half empty. It’s always half full it’s up to you to fill it until it’s overflowing with your positive outlook throughout the day.

Well until later once again thanks for joining me and I will be back later to read your comments. Here’s wishing everyone a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

