November 7th

Hello everyone. 🙂

I am getting a late start even though I was up early.

I am thankful for:

I am thankful for the calmness of the day. Even though the sun is gone and it is grey there is no wind.  It will be much more peaceful today even though it is grey, drizzly and cold.

I was up and checked my emails, played on Facebook and decided I really just wanted to curl up under a nice warm blanket and go back to sleep which I did. I am thankful for being able to do that.

I am thankful for having a warm home to live in, power to keep me warm, and a safe place to dwell within.

I am thankful for food to nourish my mind, body and soul.

I am thankful to be able to have the medications that I need to keep my health under control.

Today apparently in my mind is about health, warmth and safety.

I am thankful that we live in a country where there are shelters for the homeless and soup kitchens for the hungry.

I am thankful for all those who donate to the food banks to help those less fortunate.

This month is food drive month. The food banks are low and Holidays are upon us. Many will not have food let alone a holiday dinner.

I want to say THANK YOU to all those who help provide by donating extra this time of year.

Oh my, as I am looking out the window, I see a lonely squirrel scampering in the cold and wet weather. I love to watch the squirrels. I am thankful for all the wonderful trees that we have and the food they are able to collect and save through the winter.

I am thankful for the changes in the seasons. I have lived where the seasons were few and sometimes not even noticeable. It becomes the same old boring day in and day out. So although I am not fond of winter. I appreciate its purpose. Winter allows for mother nature to rest so she can give rebirth in the spring. Although its hard to like the bare branches on the trees it’s nice to know that when they return they will be fuller and more beautiful than ever.

I am very thankful to the land owners who care for their trees and keep them pruned. That is so vital to the health of a tree.

I am thankful for windows. I love to be able to look out my windows. My desk is positioned in front of the window so that as I type I can look out at the view. It isn’t the most beautiful view in the world but it brings clarity to my day.

Today my cat Baby decided that she wanted to be overly active after eating breakfast. She wasn’t getting enough attention and decided that the front room should be her playground. This doesn’t happen very often as most of the time she is content to eat and sleep. This is exactly why she never is allowed catnip. After a few moments of using the back of the couch as a balance beam and attacking the curtains like a dance partner on an ice skating rink I turned to say “No!”  She had already heard me tell her several times before. Turning towards her she leaped and bounded down  on to the floor where it became grooming time. She had gotten what she wanted my attention. But she also realized that she had pushed the boundaries.

I am so thankful that my cats know the meaning of word “No”. I am also thankful for the water bottle when they don’t think I mean it and go too far, which isn’t often as they don’t like water.

I am thankful for being able to talk to my cats they truly understand more than we give them credit for.

I am thankful for leftovers. Last night there was no cooking we were able to heat up the leftovers from the night before. Quick and easy and a complete meal. Growing up my father didn’t like leftovers. We had them but they usually consisted of mashed potatoes and gravy with what ever was left over. There were no casseroles or boxed foods in my home.  But that was before the day of microwaves and fast foods. Not that my dad would have liked them. He had been an army cook and when he came home he wanted good meals on the table always and a bottle of ketchup just in case.

I however, am thankful for hot meals on a cold day especially if I don’t have to cook.

I am thankful that now we have reality shows that actually help people instead of just use brains vs. bronze. I love the homemake over show where someone gets a fresh start.

I love the dancing with the stars, American Idol, Battle karaoke and anything that gives someone a chance to follow a dream. I wish we would have had those opportunities when I was young and healthy enough to have taken a chance.

I am thankful that we have people in this country who are reaching out to help not just individuals but situations and make the world aware of things that are truly important and can touch each and everyone one of us.

I am thankful to live in a country where I have opportunities. Times may be tough right now but I am a firm believer in making your own opportunities. We live in a world where if you try hard and go for it you will survive. You may not be rich but you will have a life to be proud of.

I am thankful for those citizens who believe in mad in USA. I was raised that way and it has always made me feel betrayal to by something not USA made. Thank goodness we are bringing jobs back home.

I am thankful for all the military and for the fact that we are return our young people home . Many have already come home and more will be returning this month.

I am thankful to all those who protect each other and serve. I am thankful for all service people including nurses, teachers, doctors, and the ones who are the grunt workers for without them we would be in serious trouble.

I am thankful for this opportunity to be thankful.

Thank you for joining me once again. I will return later to reply to any comments left. Please join me in what you are thankful for.

Thank you all. 🙂

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

