November 8th

Hello my friends 🙂

I am Thankful for:

I am thankful for waking up to the sun peeking through the dwindling clouds left over from yesterday. It is so much brighter when the sun shines.

I am thankful for waking up and being refreshed to face what comes my way today.

Yesterday my sister called and I am always thankful when I have a chance to visit with her. We laugh and we giggle and we reminisce. We always know when it’s time to get off the phone because the conversation starts to dwindle into serious chaos.  We can’t solve the worlds problems but we can complain for a few minutes without stirring more problems and personal attacks. So I am thankful to have a person I can vent with and she can do the same with me.

I am always thankful when she shares her grand children’s activities with me and we can have a laugh or two since I have none of my own to talk about. Then she listens to me talk about my cats and has her own laughs. After all they are babies too. Not having grown up with cats my sister isn’t use to the things they do and finds humor in them.

Last night as I reclined on the couch to watch Dancing with the Stars both cats decided it was time for moms attention. Normally baby lays in my lap and goes to sleep which I expected. Skeeter never challenges her for that place as it has been hers from the beginning. However, last night he wanted more attention than usual. Instead of his usual place next to my feet where he can hold my feet down with his paws and his head; he decided to lay on my chest blocking all view of baby. I thought Oh boy trouble is coming and you are awfully brave. Being the mother I am I tried to reposition him so I could at least see the look on baby’s face as she is the aggressive one. He didn’t like that and went right back to his original position of claim. Then I decided okay, no petting anyone, I’m watching my show. That wasn’t good enough for Skeeter so he decided to get up and leave the room.

I am thankful that the cat’s for once ignored each other and peace continued in the house and I was able to watch Dancing with the Stars.

I am thankful that the trail of Michael Jackson’s doctor is finally over and the family can get on with their lives. I truly feel for his children.

I am thankful that we live in a world with a judicial system that although it is flawed it tries to do the best it can for the victims.

This week has opened bad memories for me. We are approaching the death sentence of Paul Ezra Rhodes after twenty-four years. I had not even been in Idaho a full year when he committed his horrendous murders. I was newly divorced, alone with my sons living in a place where I knew no one. I remember it only too well. His appeal was denied yesterday and his sentence will be carried out.  Although I am against capital punishment I remember how horrifically he tortured his victims. I just want this week to end the long sentence. I don’t want to hear about it or be reminded of it. One of them was a teacher who had stayed home from work ill and stopped at the drugstore to pick up flu medicine. It could have been me in that situation. I was too close to the situation and knew too many people at work who knew the inside details that were never released.

I am thankful that I can turn off the news, change channels and close out the world when I don’t want to hear anymore. Somethings you should not ever relive.

I am thankful that my book continues to sell and requests for it continue to come in. I wrote about happy memories and that’s where I like to drift of to in a world of chaos. I wrote it because I think others need to read about happiness also.

In Oprah ‘s Life Class she ask what is love? My book “Growing Up in the Rockies” describes what is love without using those words. The entire book is a life of love. Love that my family gave to me and I will cherish it forever.

I am so thankful that I was born to the family that I had. We weren’t rich in money and things but we were rich in what is important.

I never thought I would be a computer geek. I used the computer mainly for work. I never wanted to be on Facebook but I was told I needed to for social networking of my book. Therefore I gave in and became familiar with it. Then I was told I needed a website or a blog site. I tried the website and hated it. When I was told I needed to blog I thought oh no. But after being on Facebook I figured it wouldn’t be much different. Then I was told I needed to twitter. Oh my how much more was this old lady going to have to learn to do? So now at the age of sixty-one I Facebook, blog and twitter. I spend all day on the computer.

I am thankful for being challenged to learn new things everyday. I am thankful for having a computer and being able to keep my mind active. I enjoy browsing and reading Wikipedia. I enjoy my wonderful friends on Facebook and my blog site. I have made so many new wonderful friends.

I am thankful for being able to share, laughter and tears everyday with those friends I have gotten to know.

At night before I go to bed now I go to “You know you are from Butte, America if…” It’s the last blog I read before bed. I feel like I’m back home. I share the thoughts of my hometown friends even though they live everywhere. It is the one spot I can go to and still feel connected to home.  It has given me a sense of peace before sleep and I am so thankful for that.

Today I am going to attack learning about medicare. I hate dealing with health care and insurance coverage. It is my nightmare. However, I am thankful for having and being able to get medicare.  I am thankful for having choices of gap insurance. I don’t want to live in a society so controlled that the government just tells you what you must have. I want to maintain my right to choice.

I am thankful for choices.

I am thankful for days when my memory is good and I remember that I need to take care of things like medicare. I was going to yesterday and forgot. Oh well that’s how Monday’s go around here.  Sometimes Tuesday’s, Wednesday’s, etc also but today I remembered so I will be online with those wonderful forms once again.

I am thankful that I have a computer and understand how to fill out all the online forms.

Yesterday when I was Facebook I saw an advertisement for all Senior Citizens should have cell phones. I am so glad to see that attention is finally being made to Senior Citizens needing to have communication.

I am thankful that there are groups that are now realizing that senior citizens need more help than what has been available for them. After all everyone gets old.

I am thankful that today I am happy, happy , happy. I hope it lasts as I flounder through the medicare.

I am happy for all the friends who visit my blog site. Please share what you are thankful for. We all have things no matter how small we are thankful for. Right now I am thankful for my cup of coke a cola. I am enjoying it completely.

I am getting ready to ship some books today and I am so thankful we have a post office. I never thought I would live to see the threat of postal service stopping.

I am doing my part to help keep it going.

Well it’s time for me to go autograph those books and get them on their way. Thanks for joining me today. Everyday brings something new and interesting. Tonight I will be watching Dancing with the Stars to see who makes the finalists. Hopefully my cats will  go to sleep then. I guess I better wear them out during the day. So until tomorrow. Here’s  I am thankful for: You!!!!!!   🙂

2 Responses

  1. And we, on Butte America, are grateful for your presence. Least I am, guess I shouldn’t speak for everyone. However, I don’t think I’d be wrong!

Leave a Reply

