November 13th

Good Afternoon World 🙂

I am thankful for:

Everyday something new in my life.

I woke up this morning to my cat tapping my cheek letting me know I needed to get up. She was hungry and wanted to be fed.

Arising to feed her I realized what a good sleep I had . I don’t usually sleep very well due to the sleep apnea and wake up just as tired as when I went to bed. However, this morning I woke up feeling pretty good.

I stayed up and managed to do a few things on the internet and the after taking my medication suddenly didn’t feel very good. Don’t know why just my weird body I guess. Decided I’d better go back to bed for a while.

Once again sleeping very well. Awakening to my cat being mischievous and my son scolding her for playing with things she shouldn’t be touching.( Imagine that)

I arose and started to organize my kitchen. I am making enchiladas today. I have everything now ready to go but I am going to write my blog before I start playing in that mess.

I opened my blog site to see a message from my publishers. Image that I haven’t heard from them since August. To my surprise they left me the links where others can view “Growing Up in the Rockies”

I have posted the links on my page “Growing Up in the Rockies” I am very thankful for that. Hoping that it will promote more information on my book.

My son ran to the store without me knowing it and bought sour cream which I forgot to get. I am always thankful for sour cream with enchiladas.

I don’t mind making them but I am always thankful when they are done and we have enough to last for several days without worrying about meals.

I am thankful when there are good left overs.

I am thankful for cheese. I love cheese and it adds so much to so many recipes. What would we do without it?

I am thankful that the pain medication my doctor gave me for my toothache worked and I have only had to take it twice.  I don’t like medication and I am especially careful of pain medication. But when my jaw started popping I knew I couldn’t take it anymore. Now I will try to be extra careful. I will only take it if I need it. This next week I have to look into dental insurance and make an appointment with the dentist.

I had been trying to hold off until the medicare kicked in which it did this month. Now I can hopefully get everything  under control.

I am thankful that the sun is shining today even though the wind is being rather blustery.

I am thankful for the weather reports on the news so we know what to expect this up coming week. It looks like a week full of snow and a good week to be indoors.

I am thankful that I was able to teach at a time when jobs were plentiful and times where different.

I am just as thankful to be able to retire and enjoy my time at home allowing someone younger to step in and talk the roll of teacher in a rapidly changing world.

“There is a time for every purpose under heaven.” My time and my season came and passed and I am thankful that I recognized when it was time to leave and move on to the next season in my life. I don’t look at it as the end. It is just the beginning of a new journey.

I have had many journey’s in my life some good some bad but all I am thankful for because they make me who I am today.

I am thankful when I read other ‘s blogs or comments and see through the eyes of someone else. Sometimes we get so wrapped up in our own little world that we forget that there is an entirely different world out there.

I am thankful for technology for expanding my world.

I am thankful for Sunday’s. I was taught at home that it was a day for church, family, and rest. Nothing else. I can remember my mother saying I couldn’t embroider or sew on Sunday or my grandmother would tell me to take each stitch out with my nose.  That always stuck with me . I never could see how you could do anything with your nose let alone try to undo a stitch. Therefore we didn’t sew as it was considered work.

Growing up Sunday was usually Roast beef and potato day at home which I loved back then. I don’t eat as much beef now so it’s few and far between.

Breakfast was always quick and fast as we had church to rush off to.

Lunch was frequently chip beef on toast. I love it and so do my kids. However, it is too salty and I shouldn’t eat it now with my high blood pressure. If we didn’t have that it was usually grilled cheese sandwiches with tomato soup.

Loved mom’s cooking. It just isn’t the same when you become the mom. Although both of my sons can whip up a pretty mean grilled cheese sometimes with ham on it. I step aside and let them cook when they want to.

I am thankful for the choice of religion. I am thankful for being able to go to church when ,where and if I want to. That is very important to me. I am thankful to have grown up in the church of my parents choosing. I am thankful to those people who respect my right to believe in what I choose to believe in. I don’t force my beliefs on anyone. I believe that my religion is between me and my maker. I worship in private for the most part. However, if asked I am willing to share. I am thankful to those who do the same.

I am thankful for knowing where to go to find peace in a time of crisis when I need to. I have met some wonderful people throughout my life do to my beliefs. It has been a journey I have enjoyed.

I am thankful to be able to share with those who come to read my blog. I do not write about news, historical research and such.

I am an everyday down to earth person and I write about me and my life the way it is. My son once said,” I appreciate the way we were raised because we are real people.”

That is what my life has always been about.

Well I must go and make enchiladas now. Thanks for joining me once again. Please leave comments.  I love to read them. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

