November 14

Good Morning World 🙂

This morning started off early. I awoke to a cat meowing. My son trying to cough quietly, so I decided to get up take care of the morning necessities with the intention of going back to bed. My joints were all aching from the weather change.

Well the cats are now sleeping. My son has gone to sleep. The house is quiet and I am wide awake. Figure that one out.

At least I am not aching at the moment. I guess today will be my day for an afternoon nap.

I am thankful for:

Social security return calls so I don’t have to sit on hold all day and wait for them.

The sun that is shining bright even though it is cold outside.

I am thankful for a calm and relaxing weekend.

I am thankful for my father. This week will be dedicated to his memory as twenty-six years ago he dropped dead suddenly. Some say I was fortunate because I saw him five minutes before he died. Then I left on the bus. It was a very tragic time for me and my sons. It was hard to understand how he could be standing there one minute and gone the next.  However, I am thankful that I had that one last kiss, that one last hug, that one last moment with him. I am thankful that I had a father that understood me who I felt close to. I never had to tell him what was wrong he always knew and understood. I am thankful that he was willing to take fishing, let me work on the car with him and be as much of a tom-boy as I wanted to be.  I am thankful for a father who had love and patience. I am thankful that my sons had a chance to know their grandfather and be able to cherish happy memories for the rest of their lives.

My father was one of a kind. I am thankful for that too. He knew when to be quiet which was most of the time. But he also knew how to stick up for what he believed and for the rights of everyone.

He was highly respected in the community. He was always voted in as the President of the Typographical Union even though he didn’t want the job. The men wanted him because they knew he would get the job done and be far. The employers always like him in because they could talk to him without him loosing his temper. He knew how to remain calm through mediation’s and negotiations. We need more people like that.

I was always amazed when I would go to town with him. Everyone knew him and shook his hand. He could go anywhere and get a loan on his word and his handshake. That’s how it was done back then.

I am thankful that he taught me that you are only as good as your word.

I am thankful that he was a man who knew how to treat a lady like a lady.

I am thankful that my father believed in families eating together, and that dinner time was the time for talking about your day.

I am thankful that my father believed in being home with his family.

I am thankful that my father taught me to drive so that I would know how to drive under any conditions.

I am thankful for his enjoyment of music, his talent of art, and his love for nature.

I am thankful that he loved animals and taught us how to take care of them and make them part of the family.

I am thankful that I had a father that was good with his hands and knew how to fix whatever needed to be done at home. If he didn’t know he’d figure it out.

I am thankful for having a father that believed in pride in your work no matter how small the job was.

I am thankful for having a father that taught us responsibility and the importance of work and a paycheck.

I am thankful for everyday that I had with my father.

I am thankful for the times he looked out for me. I have always felt his presence with me .

I am thankful that he protected me from much of the world that I didn’t need to know about or be hurt by.

I am thankful that my father returned to his hometown to life and gave us a wonderful hometown to grow up in.

I am thankful to call Fred Wilson Richards my father.

He was a son, a brother, a husband, a father, an uncle, a veteran, a grandfather, a friend, a worker, a companion, and so much more. He left his mark on everyone he touched and that is his legacy.

I am thankful to God for giving me a wonderful father and a great home. I am thankful that I have healed enough from his loss to dedicate this week to him.

Dad I love you no matter where you are. We are always together. I carry you in my heart, my soul, and my mind. You are with me forever.

I am going to end today asking that you be thankful for someone special in your life. Who was that person. Please share that person with me in the comment section. I’d love to hear about them.

Until next time. What are you thankful for? 🙂

Leave a Reply

