November 23rd

Hello World! I am still here. Having a horrible time with a toothache. Dentist won’t touch it because my blood pressure is too high. Can’t give me an anesthetic for fear of a stroke. Need to see an oral surgeon but have to wait till my ship comes in.  So I took some badly needed down time.

However, I have returned to finish what I am THANKFUL FOR:

I am thankful for weather reports that warn travels of conditions be for leaving for their Thanksgiving holidays.

I am thankful for all the wonderful people who donated food to the food banks for Thanksgiving.

I am thankful that I am able to enjoy Thanksgiving in the comfort of my home.

I am thankful that I can be eating leftovers while crazy people are out doing black Friday shopping.

I am thankful to live in a country where there is something to be thankful for.

I am thankful for sons that continue to make every day something to be thankful for.

I am thankful for my cats who know when to let me rest and when to get me up.

I am thankful that although the weather is grey and rainy we aren’t having horrible storms like other parts of the country.

I am thankful to be able to cook Thanksgiving Dinner.

I am thankful for all my wonderful friends who continue to email me, twitter, Facebook, and chat with me.

I am thankful for all the wonderful people who wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving and still keep traditions in their homes.

I am thankful for my parents and extended family that taught me about the importance of traditions.

I am thankful that my mother was a good cook and that I picked up a few of her tips.

I am thankful for practicality and good common sense which make our life easier during this horrible economy.

I am thankful for Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, and Unemployment which help so many in this country.

I am thankful to those who listen about the needs of the middle class person.

I am thankful for the God-given talents I have and the repeat sales that have started on my books.

I am thankful that I can share the love in my heart, the memories in my mind, and the kindness from my soul.

Thanksgiving was a tradition started to celebrate the first harvest in this country. However, it was much more than a celebration of harvest. It  was a celebration of a new way of life. That life-giving the pilgrims a right to freedom of choices. Freedom of religion without persecution. Freedom to speak freely. Freedom to choose a job freely. Freedom to work their own land and to have free enterprise. It was an opportunity to hunt freely and provide food for families. It was a chance to no longer be held down by dictating parliament. It was a chance to be what God meant for them to be.

Thanksgiving was also a time to forget about differences between cultures, people, and a new society. It was the first coming together of new races. It was a time to share, care, love and learn.

I hope as we approach this Thanksgiving Day we will reflect not only on what we are currently Thankful for but what we can change to make a difference. I hope that we as a society will go back to our roots and take time to share, care, love and learn from each other.

It is time to rebuild this country into what it once was. We now must pull together as a society and work hand in hand and listen to each other if we are to survive. It is a time to put our differences aside for the sake of our country.

Let us start this Thanksgiving by remembering the struggles of the pilgrims, the adjustments of the Indians and the ability to overcome what they needed to.

I am thankful that our forefathers were built from sturdy stock to survive this land and give us a country we can be proud of.

Last but not least as you sit at your tables in a warm home. Please give thanks and say a prayer for our military. Now as they prepare to return home this is a very dangerous time for them. Keep them in your prayers. May God keep each and every one of them safe. May they return to their families to be able to give Thanks.

No matter what your traditions are or where you are on Thanksgiving I wish you a safe, comfortable and Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

Until next time enjoy your day and may God Bless your Home and Families.

Leave a Reply

