November 27th

Hello and welcome to my World!

The sky is blue . The air is calm. It sure be a fairly nice day in the 50’s.

Although an enjoyable Thanksgiving was had. The aches and pains hit suddenly with a vengeance late yesterday afternoon. I don’t know if an unexpected storm is coming or if someone is giving me a message.

I not only spent the night with swollen gums, a sore mouth and teeth that were very sensitive but my siadic nerve flared with vengeance. I couldn’t sit, stand or lay down. Finally after taking a Bayer aspirin which seems to be the only thing that helps my nerve the cats had me up to feed them. Then it was difficult to go back to sleep. However, by then my mouth was healing, my nerve was calming down and I was beginning to feel somewhat normal again.

Finally I got back to sleep for a couple of hours when the house woke up. Now I am up left in a fog , feel like a truck ran over my head and I am about to face the day.

I am thankful for:

Knowing how to care for my own ailments.

Cats that leave me alone after they’ve eaten.

A beautiful day.

Time to spend with my other son as we venture to his house at 3:00 this afternoon for another Thanksgiving celebration.

A mouth that has calmed down.

A nerve that is manageable.

Another day alive.

My twitter, Facebook, blog and email friends.

My home, my life, and my health what it may be.

You see things could always be worse.  I’ve learned in my sixty-one years young that you ride the roller coaster. If you think it’s bad and wonder what will happen next life will teach a lesson and show you just how bad it can get. However, if you accept your life and roll with it you will come out a stronger person.

Yes there are days we could do without but then we wouldn’t want every day to be exactly the same just like we wouldn’t want every person to be the same.

Life is interesting because of the differences and the challenges it presents. However, we can handle it better if we make better choices in our lives.

I am thankful for those people in World War II that realized we needed social security, medicare and Medicaid.

I am thankful for those in our generation that follow their example and have enough for sight to know our children and grandchildren will need more than that.

I am thankful for those people who are trying to create jobs, bring businesses back to the US and promote made in America.

I am thankful to those people who don’t feel they always have to be politically correct and will continue to say Merry Christmas, Christmas Trees, and Happy Holidays.

I am thankful for those who still say in “God We Trust.”

I am thankful for the Pledge of Allegiance.

I am thankful for the right to make these choices. The reason this country has been flooded with immigrants is for these rights. Let’s preserve the rights we have.

I am thankful to all those out there that are trying to make a difference by helping others. There are so many wonderful people who are freely giving of themselves to help those that are less fortunate. They deserve a great big THANK YOU!”

I am thankful for everyone who takes a moment out of their day to read my blog and care.

Now as we prepare for the next holiday I will leave you with a section from my book to reminisce on.

Chapter 9 Christmas

With winter came Christmas, a time for family traditions. It was traditional for the family to decorate the tree together as my sister and I got older. When we were younger our parents decorated it on Christmas Eve and we woke up to a beautiful tree. However, I loved to decorate the tree, and this would become a very special memory for me. It started with my father and uncle going to get a tree from my Uncles relatives, in Walkerville. They sold trees every year. My cousin and I loved to go and help. It was the only time we were allowed to ride in the back of the pick up truck and our job was holding the tree. We got in under the tree where it was warmer and helped to keep it from moving around too much. We sang Christmas Carols on the ride. When we got the tree home it was my father’s job to put it in the stand. He always did that outside cutting off from the bottom of the tree to make sure it would fit in the house without ever cutting off the top. Then he would bring a beautiful evergreen, spruce, or pine tree into the house and stand it up in the corner of the living room, on a tree skirt

@copyright 2011 “Growing Up in the Rockies”

Well I am being told it is time to get ready to go so until tomorrow. Take care have a great day and be safe.

Leave a Reply

