December 5th

Hello all you Winter Lovers and all of you who headed south for the winter 🙂

IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS EVERY WHERE YOU GO!

Well now that the towns are decorated with street decorations. Stores are busy with shoppers, and the post offices are piling up with packages you can sense the feeling of Christmas in the air.

Music is beginning to be sung and listened to on old favorite records, tapes, and stations. Then there are those favorite musical toys. You had better not be without batteries.

I called my sister on Saturday to see what she was up to. She replied, “I’m about ready to fall on my face.” I asked her what she had been doing and of course she had been hauling out the Christmas decorations. While we were engaging in conversation I heard two different music sources go off. I asked where what they were. She laughed replying, “There musical toys I’ve had for years, I just put the batteries in and now they won’t stop.” One was a dog I never found out what the other one was but I guess even the toys come to life at this time of year after a long year of napping.

I remember when my friend and I use to go through the stores and pushing every musical toy we could find just to hear them. It wasn’t that long ago. When I lived in Las Vegas, Walgreens always knew when I was in the store because their music aisle would start to sing. The clerk found it charming and it livened up her late night hours but the manager wasn’t so charmed by it. However, nothing was ever said to me as I spent plenty of money there.

When we were children we wouldn’t have dared to do that nor did we allow our children to do that. However, it is funny how as you get older you just have to find a way of returning to your childhood however you may.

Growing up this would have been the week for the last minute rush of packages to get out and those last finished Christmas cards. Mom would hurry off to the post office and make sure everyone had been taken care of before worrying about the last minutes things at home.

Now she would spend everyday sewing Christmas dresses. Mom always bought material so my sister and I could look-alike on Christmas day. Then she would show the material to my aunt who would run out and get the same material for her daughters. Then there would be four of us in the same dress. I was the youngest and I dreaded it as I knew there would be hand-me-downs.

My cousin Delores was five years older and  I never had to worry about her dresses as she was the “Twiggy” in the bunch. By the time it got to me I couldn’t fit in it. My sister was the “Dolly Parton” of the group and I knew mom would do a tuck or two and I’d have at least two. Then came Debbie who was only a month older than me but taller, she was more of a “Pippi Longstockings” character and I might get a month or two out of her dress at best but hopefully the season would be wrong and I’d out grow it.   No matter what we were always proud of our special dresses that mom made just for us.

However, I remember one year after Christmas when I wore my beautiful dress to school. It was a sky blue dress with white dots on it. I forget the exact material maybe chiffon. The dots were fleecy.  We glued at school that day and of course I got glue on my beautiful dress. It wouldn’t have been so bad but I didn’t want mom to know so I tried to pick it off. I picked a hole right through my dress. Boy was mom mad at me. She scolded me about picking at my clothes and told me to leave them alone until she cleaned them. I hated that dress after that.

The one dress that I loved the most was a red plaid with a blue velveteen gusset in the front. Then it had ruffles that framed the blue and buttons on the front. It tied in the back. I felt like a princess in that dress.

The worse part about winter was the horrible long white stockings we use to have to wear. Oh how I didn’t like them. Girls didn’t wear pants back in my days except to play in so you had to dress up for school, church and every where you went. You had to have garter belts to hold the stockings up and if they weren’t pinching you the metal clips were ice-cold.  Boy have we come along way since then.

I use to love my fur muff that I got to use only for good. It was made from white rabbit fur. Mom would take it out of the moth balls and we would take it to church. We also had the little fur collars that tied int he front. Oh how special they made us feel.

I like to wear hats when I was young but those horrible ear muffs gave me earaches. They always were too tight and pinched.

Mom was famous for wearing a scarf. I didn’t like scarves but as a last resort would wear them. They weren’t very fashionable in my eyes.

Now days you are lucky if anyone wears anything on their head. Oh how the times and fashions have changed. No one cares about the specialties of homemade dresses, the fur muffs that were such a delight to a child. Where or where did it all go.

Now the traditions are all about electronics, the more the better. What ever happened to home-made clothes, baking from scratch and wrapping a package without wrapping paper. What ever happened to homemade decorations for the Christmas trees.

Does anyone still remember how to have an old-fashioned Christmas?

What about the hayrides and Christmas caroling? How many of you have done that?

Who goes to the nursing homes with treats and songs to make their days.

Church youth groups aren’t what they use to be. Christmas pageants are smaller and less often.  Where has it all gone?

But then when I return to visit with my home town people there is not one who has forgotten the memories of Christmas. The wonderful times we had and the special goodies our moms and grandmothers made.

So today take a journey back to your memories and look at what memories and traditions you have carried on in your family. I will leave you with this wonderful song for today.

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas
Ev’rywhere you go;
Take a look in the five and ten glistening once again
With candy canes and silver lanes aglow.
It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas
Toys in ev’ry store
But the prettiest sight to see is the holly that will be
On your own front door.

A pair of hopalong boots and a pistol that shoots
Is the wish of Barney and Ben;
Dolls that will talk and will go for a walk
Is the hope of Janice and Jen;
And Mom and Dad can hardly wait for school to start again.
It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas
Ev’rywhere you go;
There’s a tree in the Grand Hotel, one in the park as well,
The sturdy kind that doesn’t mind the snow.
It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas;
Soon the bells will start,
And the thing that will make them ring is the carol that you sing
Right within your heart.

I hope as it is beginning to look like Christmas and feel and smell like Christmas that each and every one of you are building family traditions that just don’t last a life time but go on from generation to generation and keep the excitement of Christmas going.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays until tomorrow. Stay safe and warm and pass it forward. Remember someone out there is lonely and needs your kindness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

