December 8th

Hello friends, family, fans, and everyone who chances to stop by.

Hope this blog site finds you happily enjoying the hustle and bustle of the Holiday season:)

Today I am going to share a true story with you.

We spend much time telling our children that Santa is checking his list gonna find out whose naughty or nice. We remind them that it’s never too late to check their name off of Santa’s list. We encourage our children to write letters to Santa Claus and tell him what they want for Christmas.

Growing up we didn’t do much other than sing the songs and we already knew that we were expected to know right from wrong and have respect.

However each generation changes.

When my children were toddlers there was an organization that sponsored Santa Claus letters. The parents would help the children write letters to Santa and they would be sent to the North Pole. Then just before Christmas your child would get a phone call from Santa’s Workshop. They would be told they received the letter and talk to the child about if they had been naughty or nice. They always left the child with a positive feeling that Santa knew and was going to take good care of them.

Of course at that time we lived in a very small community and it was easy for an organization to do this as a Christmas fund-raiser. Then they donated the money to Toys for Tots. It cost $1.00 for each letter.

Then as my boys got older things changed. We lived in a larger town of 100,000 people. The boys were in school around the age of six and eight. They knew how to behave when shopping with mom as I wouldn’t tolerate bad behavior in public. I had promised the boys they could see Santa if they were good until I finished my shopping.

We had gone to the mall and were in Sears. I was looking at the clothes prices of the sales. I always did all the shopping in front of the kids or I never would have gotten anything done.

However, on this particular day to my shock their worst behavior came out. My youngest was climbing through the center of the racks and as his brother was trying to chase him clothes started falling everywhere.

Embarrassed I told them pick up the clothes we are leaving. Quickly and quietly the clothes were hung on the rack and we left the store heading for our car in the parking lot.

Both boys knew I was fuming and not to ask about Santa. Just then a man approached us and said to the boys, ” You know Santa knows what you did in the store.” “He knows you weren’t good for your mother,” reminding the boys of the fact it was only a couple of weeks before Christmas and he was checking his list. My oldest boy wanted to know how Santa knew. The man replied, “Santa has Elves everywhere. They see you and report back to Santa. My sons looked at me as if to see if that was the truth. Then the man went on to say, “I am a retired elf of Santa’s; but I still talk to him and tell him what I see.” That scared the boys. Now they had done it. They had been caught in the action of being naughty. Now This man who didn’t look like an elf was telling them everything he saw. He said, “You misbehaved in the store. You didn’t do what your mother asked you to do and you didn’t get to go see Santa because of it.” Now you have left the store embarrassing your mother.” The boys eyes got bigger and bigger. My oldest son trying to figure how he was going to get out of this said, “Are you really an elf?” The man replied yes. My son’s heart was crushed. The man realizing that he felt doomed for Christmas smiled kindly and said, “It’s not too late to show Santa you are good.” “Go home and do what your mother tells you.” Santa will know how hard you try.”

Perking up the boys looked at me and said,”Oh mom we are so sorry.” “We’ll be good from now on.”

For the next two weeks I had the best behaved sons you could ever imagine. They even went to bed on time and went right to sleep. They never argued. They picked up their room and they ate what they were suppose to. Christmas Day came and with a note from Santa praising them for their good behavior they were happy to see their rewards had been recognized by Santa.

After that all it took was a reminder that you never know who is watching you.Sometimes a parent needs that extra helping hand from a stranger.

Holidays start at Halloween with sugar that hype up our kids. Then we go into Thanksgiving and we stuff them with more sugar and sweets. By the time you are into the Christmas season even the best of children are so wound up they have a hard time settling down.

A kind reminder from a stranger made my life better and reminded my boys what they already knew. They learned an important lesson that day.
I was startled when the man first approached us but being caught off guard said nothing, as I realized what he was about to do I followed his lead. I was thankful that I had respected a stranger enough to not interfere. He was a kind man giving a helpful hand.

During these holiday seasons we will be met with many obstacles and struggles. Let us all open our hearts to those who are willing to lend us a helping hand. Let us have the vision to see the goodness that is extended by strangers to all of us.

Let us be careful what lessons we teach our children. Those lessons last for a life time. My sons and I have often talked about that day. That day they didn’t think anyone saw them. It made them realize you aren’t invisible and people do see and remember what you do.

Even as teenagers I was always able to use the words “You never know whose paying attention.” That has helped with job hunting, going to school and everything in their life.

Now that they are men they remember their behavior in public is critical to self-respect. You are after all what people see you as not what you think you are or what you want to be.

During the hustle and bustle of Christmas people get crazy shopping. Let’s all have a reminder that we are being watched and we are judged for our behavior,whether it is by Santa, the Lord, potential employers, or a stranger we may meet in the future.

Let us remain calm and do what we know is right to do. Let all of us use the respectful manners we know are the right behaviors. Let us remember to say Thank you and Merry Christmas.

Store clerks are working long hours with many different types of people. By the end of their day they are worn out. Remember a kind word, a smile, a Merry Christmas goes a long way.

Let us all at the end of the day know that the young child is still inside all of us and that we can be on our best behavior until Christmas whether we are rewarded or not.

Let us enjoy the Christmas carols, the beauty of the lights and decorations, the many Christmas stories and pageants. But most of all let us enjoy each other as we find that it is better to “Give than to Receive.”

This is a time of year to let the love show in your heart and share it with everyone.

So the Christmas Song I am reminded of today is ” I’m Gettin  Nuttin for Xmas.”

I’m gettin’ nuttin’ for Christmas
Mommy and Daddy are mad.
I’m gettin’ nuttin’ for Christmas
‘Cause I ain’t been nuttin’ but bad.

I broke my bat on Johnny’s head;
Somebody snitched on me.
I hid a frog in sister’s bed;
Somebody snitched on me.

I spilled some ink on Mommy’s rug;
I made Tommy eat a bug;
Bought some gum with a penny slug;
Somebody snitched on me.

CHORUS
Oh, I’m gettin’ nuttin’ for Christmas
Mommy and Daddy are mad.
I’m gettin’ nuttin’ for Christmas
‘Cause I ain’t been nuttin’ but bad.

I put a tack on teacher’s chair;
Somebody snitched on me.
I tied a knot in Suzy’s hair;
Somebody snitched on me.
I did a dance on Mommy’s plant.
Climbed a tree and tore my pants.
Filled that sugar bowl with ants;
Somebody snitched on me.

CHORUS
Oh, I’m gettin’ nuttin’ for Christmas
Mommy and Daddy are mad.
I’m gettin’ nuttin’ for Christmas
‘Cause I ain’t been nuttin’ but bad.

So you better be good whatever you do
‘Cause if you’re bad, I’m warning you,
You’ll get nuttin’ for Christmas.

MERRY CHRISTMAS HAVE A GREAT WEEK 🙂

Leave a Reply

