Ten Days till Christmas!!!!!!!!

Is your house in order?

Have you done the major cleaning?

How about the holiday decorating?

Are you finished with your shopping?

Have you mailed your packages?

Did you manage to complete your Christmas card List?

What about those unexpected cards that arrived did you add them to the list?

Do you plan your groceries for Christmas dinner?

Are all travel arrangements made?

How about arrivals and pickups?

Do you have that special wrapping paper, bows, and remember lots of scotch tape not to mention labels to write on?

Oh don’t forget the pets! They want to celebrate too and if you ignore them they will leave a surprise for you!

How are those Christmas Carols going? Is everyone singing and having good cheer?

What about that special shopping night you promise to take the kids out so they could do their shopping?

Don’t forget those special people on your list, remember your secret santa gift, your kids teachers, the clergyman, the doctor, the secretary, and any other special ones in your life.

What about the baked goodie gifts are you all organized for those? Have you already made them, froze them, and got gift boxes for them?

How about donating for Toys for tots? What about the homeless and the needy can you squeeze out a little extra this year?

Don’t forget the canned food drive at school. Make sure you help your child’s class win that drive.

How about tipping this year? Times are tight can you give a little extra when you buy that cup of “Jo”?

Have you remembered to say Merry Christmas, Thank You, Happy Holidays, and keep a smile on your face?

Who have you taken time to pass it forward too? Christmas is a difficult time for most people. Pick one and make them your pass it forward friend.

Have you thought about the couple down the street that’s going through a break up?

What about the parents who have a sick child in the hospital?

Have you taken time to volunteer, help delivery, packaging, visit the shut-ins?

This is a time to provide your special services for the year.

How about the true meaning of Christmas? Have you read the Christmas Story? Have you gone to a Christmas pageant? What about church? How about caroling with a group?

Have you sat at bedtime and read a Christmas story to your children or grandchildren?

Have you even started thinking about Christmas?

No, I haven’t worried about Christmas. Every year it comes and goes and I know it will take care of itself somehow.

This year my family has more important thing to think about. What? More important things than Christmas?

Yes, this year my family is thinking about, separation, being jobless, where the next meal is coming from and the bills that need to be paid.

We will gather for Christmas we will share a meal and say our blessings. However, we will not worry about presents, cards, or parties. We will take care of each other and the immediate needs and be thankful for what we have  and the time to be together.

We will accept that life has it’s good and its bad times. We may sing carols, we may go to church depending on the weather.

We will do what we can but the one thing we won’t do is spend money carelessly or travel using up gas, or expect company. We may feel lonely at moments but we won’t be alone. We will have each other and God.

We won’t decorate with a tree and things that require money to be spent.

This year is a year of sadness, a break up, and we will be happy for what simple blessings come our way.

We will find happiness in the beauty of decorations on others homes, we will start new traditions and if the budget allows make some cookies.

But most of all we will be grateful for each other and for the time we can share together. For all that matters in life is love.

In the end no one cares about the hustle and bustle and how much you did. It’s only important what you did when you spent time with someone.

Christmas will come and go every year but how will you spend that time?

Christmas traditions started with simplicity. A tree popcorn strung for decorations, a few candles burning to light the home and a fireplace. Homemade gifts for the family.

Carols sung and church on Christmas eve.

Old time traditions are often the best ones. That is what we all need to return to.

We talk about Made in the USA. How about making your decorations, your own Christmas and not spending any money except for the dinner you need to prepare.

How about being thankful for time together and playing an old-fashioned game. Putting music on. Making hot chocolate, eating cookies and dip with chips.

Before I leave you today I would like to share something with you. When I began today I was writing impromptu questions not knowing where it was going or what it would end up with in today’s blog. While I was writing I looked out my window as I frequently do.

To my surprise was one of God’s beautiful creatures. Having not seen this creature in our neighborhood before I viewed it as a sign. One of peace, love and joy. I continued to write as I watched this ,tiny little, grey bunny sitting on a patch of snow in the shade. This beautiful creature was munching on something it had found. I was pondering what I could do realizing this was not a safe place for it to be. Suddenly a car came by scarring it away. While I watched it run off feeling somewhat disappointed my heart knew that was the best thing for it. It was not meant to be caged up , it was meant to roam the land and be curious and get into mischief. I am happy that I was blessed enough to see it and enjoy it’s moments outside my window. I have named the bunny “Fluffy.” I hope that “Fluffy” will come back so that I can have many days watching it. I love all of God’s creatures.

Just after it ran away my son returned from town bringing in the mail. First words out of his mouth were. Okay mom, now what are you up to? Why do you have mail from Oprah? I smiled and opened my package that was sent. What a beautiful Journal I received from Oprah for taking her lifeclass online.

I never stop surprising my sons as they never know what I am up to or what I will do next. Oh if they only knew what I was looking at online for them yesterday. HEHEHE!

To quote Oprah and her quote in my journal “We all want to make the most of our lives……”

Start by surprising yourself. Do something unexpected you might amaze yourself.

Now to close for the day and I feel this is a perfect time to look at peace as our troops begin to return home. So for the day keep this thought and song in your mind and heart.

How about just taking a day off from the struggles of the everyday world and life and “LET THERE BE PEACE ON EARTH” if only for one day.

Let there be peace on earth,
 And let it begin with me.
 Let there be peace on earth
 The peace that was meant to be.
 With God as our father
 We are family.
 Let us walk with each other
 In perfect harmony.

 Let peace begin with me
 Let this be the moment now.
 With every step I take
 Let this be my solemn vow.
 To take each moment
 And live each moment
 With peace eternally.
 Let there be peace on earth,
 And let it begin with me.

 (child)
 Let there be peace on earth,
 And let it begin with me.
 Let there be peace on earth
 The peace that was meant to be.
 With God as our father
 We are family.
 Let us walk with each other
 In perfect harmony.

 Let peace begin with me
 Let this be the moment now.
 With every step I take
 Let this be my solemn vow.
 To take each moment
 And live each moment
 In peace eternally.
 Let there be peace on earth
 And let it begin with me.
 May Peace be with you , God Bless and Merry Christmas until next time.
🙂

6 Responses

  1. What a great post!!! A lot of tips and things worth doing! Gave me some great ideas.

  2. You have been nominated for the “Versatile Blog Award”.

    Please visit here: http://fourbluehills.com/2011/12/15/versatile-blogger-award-2/

    🙂

  3. Thank you so much I never knew there was such a thing.

  4. I am never ready for Christmas and this year has thrown me for a loop with some unexpected hardships. So it’s one day at a time. HO HO HO

Leave a Reply

