New Year’s EVE AND STORMS

LAST NIGHT THE WIND BLEW IN LIKE THE WIND OF MARCH……

WIND WAS UP TO 75 MILES AN HOUR AND TOSSING EVERYTHING IN ITS WAY.

WHAT’S UP WITH THAT WE DON’T GET THAT KIND OF WIND.

EXPERIENCE:

Life’s experiences have taught me that you should always expect a storm on New Year’s. Expect the unexpected and be prepared for the worst.

I remember back to a year in Montana. It was the Christmas of 1971.  I remember it well as it was my first year married. My husband and I were in our last year of college. We went home for Christmas. It was a typical drive over the Rocky Mountains through Mountain passes. A normal four and a half hour ride home. We had a lovely Christmas.

We had planned to return back to school on December 31st but his mother said,”Please stay for New Year’s.” She loved her small but enjoyable parties with family and friends.

We agreed to stay and on New Year’s Eve the worst storm I had ever seen rolled in. Then I was afraid to leave to return to school.

My husband being the man he was said, “We’ll be fine.”

We left January 2nd and headed back in our 1950 Chevy across mountain terrain that no one was on. It was still snowing and hard to see very far in front of you.

The more we traveled the more we saw cars in ditches including the highway patrol.

I begged him to stop and spend the night in another town but he refused. We were the only car able to stay on the road with our heavy old car.

We crawled all the way home and after eleven hours arrived safely in front of our home only to find out there was no place to park the car. So much snow had fallen that you had to shovel a parking place. Exhausted and a nervous wreck I helped my husband for the next two hours shovel out a place to park the car. We unloaded the car and went inside glad to be home.

Too tired to do anything we went to bed after calling our families to let them know we were safe.

That would not be my only holiday horror experience. Now that I am older and hopefully much wiser I prefer the warmth and safety of staying in doors at my own home. I want to know where my sons are. I pray for those who have to travel and worry constantly about what storms will roll in.

Last night was a perfect example of the unexpected. I knew a storm was coming. I told my son I didn’t want my car out in it but he had to go to town. Six hours later and half a dozen phone calls he returned home safe.

I went to bed early but couldn’t sleep because of the winds howling and pounding at the door.

Up and down like a yo-yo I finally was able to get a few hours of sleep but awoke exhausted.

This morning the ground is covered with a blanket of white. You can hear the crisp sound as cars drive by. My wind chimes occasionally move. But the calm is now here.

Remember for those of you who wish to celebrate New Year’s sometimes it is better to do so at home .

No matter where you celebrate make sure those drinking either have a safe place to stay or a designated driver.

Friends don’t allow friends to make bad decisions and be out risking their lives and the lives of others.

This weekend will be the weekend of the unexpected as the door to the old year closes and a new door opens.

I pray that all of you stay safe and are here for 2012

REMEMBER TO RESPECT MOTHER NATURE

SHE IS BEAUTIFUL ONE MINUTE AND CAN TURN ON YOU THE NEXT

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO EVERYONE!!!!!!
until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

