February 4th Already!!!!

Create a Vacuum Day

National Thank a Mailman Day

National Soup Day

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sun shining. What a beautiful cold day. Turned bitter cold last night. Felt like the arctic window had moved in.

Well I had the house all to myself last night. Just me and my cats. Today is quite except for “Skeeter” whose starting to wonder why we’re the only ones here. My son and his friends took off for Jackpot Nevada to soak in the Hot Tub. Everyone is starting to go stir crazy which is normal here this time of year since there is nothing to do.

I have been sitting here thinking that I need get up and go somewhere but don’t know where I’d go. Can’t say I want to be out in the cold but I am sitting way too much. It’s time to develop some activities.

My friend who is a nurse is so irritating. She is fighting getting old. She hurt her knee awhile back was laid up for a week and didn’t even call. I scolded her then. I even contacted her daughter who lives out-of-town and told her she needed to keep an eye on her mom. Did that do any good ? No!  I knew she’d end up needing knee surgery. Two days after the surgery she calls to tell me about it. URGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!! Then she wonders why I get frustrated with her.

You know some people make it hard to be friends with. Then when she’s not trying to be the martyr she uses the excuses well you never call me. No I don’t call you because you work nights. YOu sleep during the day, heaven forbid if anyone should wake you up because you are a light sleeper and can’t go back to sleep. No I’m not going to be blamed for that and send you off  putting  the care of someone else’s life in your hands. GET REAL HERE!

I guess she’s made her bed and will have to lay in it now. She didn’t need me when she had surgery so I guess she doesn’t need me now. I live seven miles down the road. It only takes fifteen minutes. She can call if she wants something.

I think people have become very selfish in this day and age. You try to be friends but either they are so busy mouthing of and not being afraid to say what they think or they only want to do what they want to do. Friends no longer look at the feelings or needs of the other person.

How can you be in any kind of a relationship whether it be marriage, friendship, family or whatever if you are sensitive to each others feelings, likes, dislikes, and interests.

I just don’t understand people this day and age. The one thing I can’t stand is anyone who wants to play the martyr card. My mother was like that and it got real tiring.

So as I tell me son “It is what it is!” I guess I’ll just accept it and go about my own business and if someone thinks I don’t care it’s not true but I can’t handle my girlfriends attitude of I don’t need anyone’s help I can do it myself. Ok well I guess I’ll letter her. But it reminds me of that song “No Man is an Island, No Man stands alone!”

Well I’ve vented my frustrations for the day. Now let’s take a look at National Days!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Create a Vacuum Day

Create a Vacuum Day is celebrated on February 4th of each year.  In everyday usage, vacuum is a volume of space that is essentially empty of matter, such that its gaseous pressure is much less than atmospheric pressure.  The word comes from the Latin term for “empty”. A perfect vacuum would be one with no particles in it at all, which is impossible to achieve in practice.

Although I don’t know where this day started it seems to fit in since my good friend has created a vacuum around her for the time being.

The study of vacuum lead to many discoveries including that of the vacuum cleaner.  So today celebrate it how you would. Be happy for the technology it has given us or just create a vacuum day around yourself where you don’t allow drama and extra baggage to filter into your space. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank a Mailman Day

Today is Thank a Mailman Day is celebrated on February 4th of each year.  A mail carrier, mailman (US), postman/postwoman (UK), letter carrier (in American English and in New Zealand) or postie[citation needed] (in Australia, New Zealand) is an employee of the post office or postal service, who delivers mail and parcel post to residences and businesses. The term “mail carrier” came to be used as a gender-neutral substitute for “mailman” soon after women began performing the job. In the Royal Mail, the official name changed from “letter carrier” to “postman” in 1883, and “postwoman” has also been used for many years. No matter where the history came from it is important that we recognize their importance. Least we move back to the dark ages. I did not find where this day originated but it is one we desperately need to endorse.

Considering the desperate times of the post office this is possibly one of the most important days to celebrate. We should all be thankful for our Mailman and do what we can to keep this service operating in our communities. Today would be a good day to write a letter to some and show the need for Postal Service. Send letters to your congressman. Today is a day to use Postal service not technology. Let’s keep those Post Office’s open!!!! 🙂

 

National Soup Day!

Daily Quote: “Of soup and love, the first is the best.” ~ Spanish proverb

What is better on a cold day than a good pot of homemade soup. Wonderful way to use that crock pot. Get it going and let it simmer. There are many different homemade recipes for soups from hamburger soup, chili’s,  cabbage soup, clam chowder,not to be forgotten the good old chicken soup cure for everything that ails you and of course the  soup of the day. IF you have a favorite soup recipe please post it in comments and share it with us. Remember soup the second day is even better after the flavors have mingled. What a better way to kick back for Super Bowl Sunday then with that big pot of soup that was made the day before. Yumm I can smell it already.

Well now I think I had better go look in the cupboard and see what I can do for a big old pot of soup. Here’s to a great weekend enjoy stay safe and warm.

Remember be kind to a friend it works both ways.

Until next time 🙂

 

 

9 Responses

  1. Nice site, Janice. I found you through Linked In. I’m creating a vacuum today!!!!!
    http://bellybuttonblues.wordpress.com/

  2. You have received the One Lovely Blog Award! Congratulations. Please visit this link to read about it.
    http://fourbluehills.com/2012/02/05/one-lovely-blog-award/

Leave a Reply

