February 19th

Today is National Chocolate Mint Day.

Good Morning Everyone! Hope you are all having a wonderful weekend.

Here we are at the beginning of a new week already. Only ten days left in the month of February. It’s hard to believe it has gone by so fast.

The weather definitely has a change in the air.  Old man winter is still hanging around but spring is trying to push its way through.

Friday was a gorgeous day and then it turned bitter cold and the mountains had snow. Today the wind is trying to pick up but at least the sun is shining through the billowing white clouds.

We didn’t receive the snow just the cold air. However, it is supposed to be warmer this week and often and on next week with some hints of snow showers.

It’s time to start thinking about gardening, yard decorations and outdoor work.

I for one will be glad to see the green grass return along with the warm sunshine. I always look forward to seeing my first Robin cause then I know that spring has sprung. That comes from living in the mountains as a child. I knew once I saw a Robin the birds were returning.

I will be glad once again to be able to watch the birds and the squirrels even though they drive my house cats crazy. I will look forward to leaving the windows open for fresh air until it gets too hot and I need air conditioning.

For me it is never too warm. I would rather have it hot then cold. I can always sit in a cold tub of water for a nice refreshing bath. But at my age putting on too many layers of clothing becomes a chore.

I look forward to getting outside and chatting with neighbors.

This summer I am going to do more walking and be outdoors more. Look out here I come. 🙂

But I have to hold back because winter isn’t over yet and we always get a winter storm at Easter time.  Once that’s over things are better until Memorial Day and you can count on that being miserable too. But after Memorial Day whooohooo…… Even if it rains at least it will be warmer.

So I am counting down the grey days of no sunshine knowing that there will be more days of warm sun headed my way.

So there’s my food for thought for the day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

National Days

Today is National Chocolate Mint Day.

Who doesn’t like Chocolate enhanced with the combination of mint. You can find it in so many different styles, light chocolate, dark chocolate, different types of mint from creme de mint to plain mint. You can find it in ice cream, cookies, candy, cakes, ice cream bars and so much more. What an enjoyable way to celebrate a relaxing day.

For me my favorite Chocolate Mint Ice Cream and I also enjoy a good after dinner Chocolate Mint. Mint is known for soothing the digestive system.

I have found having a great Creme De Mint after a large dinner helps with that full bloated feeling and it satisfies the sweet tooth at the same time.

Any time is a good time for Chocolate Mint no matter how you like.  There are many recipes online if you feel like whipping something up or you can check the isles in your grocery store.

Here is an interesting recipe amongst the many that I have posted for you to enjoy with its link.

Chocolate Mint Fudge Candy

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (12 ounces)
1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk, divided
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
6 ounces white candy coating (see note above)
2-3 teaspoons peppermint extract
3 drops green food coloring
In a heavy saucepan, melt chocolate chips with 1 cup milk.
Remove from the heat; stir in vanilla.

Spread half into a waxed paper-lined 8-in. square pan; (I prefer to line the pan with foil and grease the foil with butter) chill for 10 minutes or until firm.

Meanwhile, in a heavy saucepan over low heat, cook and stir candy coating with remaining milk until coating is melted and mixture is smooth.

Stir in peppermint extract and food coloring. Spread over bottom layer; chill for 10 minutes or until firm. Warm remaining chocolate mixture if necessary; spread over mint layer.

Chill for 2 hours or until firm. Remove from pan; cut into 1-in. squares.

So no matter how you are spending your day today enjoy it with some Chocolate Mint.
Not only does it taste good but it is refreshing. Until Next time 🙂
2 Responses

  1. Hi Janice, I wondered if you heard about Trooper a stray cat they found frozen on a driveway, he was rescued and the whole world is praying for this kitty. We need all the media we can get, can you help us? See website, thanks! http://scapasanctuary.blogspot.com/

  2. Thank you for sharing this and I will do as much as I can to pass the word.

Leave a Reply

