February 24th

Hello! I am alive today just moving slow. Back is killing me but it too shall pass. I will be glad when the weather decides to stabilize and warm up. That would help immensely.

“Land of Horses” poetry book was downloaded yesterday . Hooray for me I didn’t pull my hair out doing it for the first time. I am going to print it off when I finish here and do one final proof of a hard copy before submitting it. Still concerned about the cover so everyone say some prayers.  I am really excited now I can download my own books and do them much faster.

That was a big concern and I feel so much better after trying it. However, I will always hate doing the Table of Contents .

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well at least today we have blue sky, sunshine and almost no wind although they say we could get more but nothing like the 60 mph wind we had on Wednesday. However, the snow is supposed to hit this weekend again. We are now having trouble with flooding in parts of the state while other parts are having avalanches. It just blows my mind because as I look outside my window all I see is dry brown grass and bare trees. We are in the banana belt of Idaho I guess. We just get a lot of wind.

Well the cats were good last night and again are napping. That is good because it gives me time to do the things I want to do. They have been fighting for a week and I have to watch equal attention for no jealousy when that occurs.

Talked about spoiled babies.

Oh well I love them and they mine. I am just glad we only go through this every few months. I think a lot of it has to do with the weather and they get bored in the house too. Once the weather gets nice I can open up the windows and let them enjoy the fresh air.

They love the spring and summer when I open up the house. Not to keen on winter.

I have summer cats LOL!!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well let’s take a look at the National Days.  (My son hates this he thinks it’s an excuse to be lazy lol).

National Days are as follows:

National Tortilla Chip Day

It’s National Tortilla Chip Day! Rebecca Webb Carranza invented tortilla chips in the 1950s. Carranza and her husband owned the El Zarape Tortilla Factory in Los Angeles and were among the first to automate the production of tortillas.
The machine often produced misshapen tortillas, and Carranza decided to try and use them instead of throwing them away. She cut the rejected tortillas into triangles, fried them, and sold them for a dime a bag.Tortilla chips soon became a nationwide sensation, served alongside salsa, chili, guacamole, and a variety of other appetizers.
In 2003, the state of Texas made the tortilla chip the official state snack!To celebrate National Tortilla Chip Day, buy a bag of your favorite tortilla chips (or try making your own) and enjoy them with your favorite dip!
You can find many recipes on-line for salsa, and nachos if you don’t have any. Myself I prefer mine loaded with meat, cheese , tomatoes, olives and sour cream and sometimes salsa on top.
However, I will skip the beans most of the time.
Although I have to be careful of the salt I have to give in once in a while and have my tasty nacho snack. I prefer cooking the meat with salsa rather than spices for that reason.
No matter how you like them they are a tasty treat. You can make a full meal out of them if you choose.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
First Steam Shovel Patented
 On February 24, 1839, William S. Otis received Patent No. 1036 for the first steam shovel for excavating and removing earth from railroads or canals. The crane was mounted on a railway car. His steam shovel was first used on the Western Railroad in Massachusetts. William S. Otis was a civil engineer of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He was born on September 20, 1813, in Pelham, Massachusetts, and died on November 13, 1839, at the age of 26.  Although he died young his Steam Shovel has been his legacy and has progressed through time to benefit our culture in many areas of the work force. It is important that we remember those people who took the time to make our lives better and our jobs easier.
So today we remember William S. Otis for his first Steam Shovel Patented. Thank you for your achievements.
“When a man has a dream he should follow it because you never know how much time you have or what accomplishments you will make.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1786. Wilhelm Carl Grimm is born February 24, 1786, in Hanau, Germany, son of Philipp Wilhelm Grimm and Dorothea Grimm
Died on December 16, 1859.
He and his brother were responsible for writing the famous Grimm fairy tales which have been very controversial over the years. However, I was raised on them and love them.
Such tales as Goldilocks and the Three bears, The Ugly Duckling, and so many more.
I have my childhood book of them still to this day. My parents use to read it to me every night at bedtime.  My personal favorite was the “Good Girl” I won’t give it away as it is one you must read to appreciate but it is about a prince and princess.
I also had The Ugly Duckling and several others on my 35 records that I use to play over and over again. I always loved it when the Ugly Duckling became the beautiful Swan as so often happens in real life.
These two brothers had a very strong impact on today’s literature and store telling.
Sadly but true many children today have never heard the classic childhood stories or nursery rhymes that we grew up with. I think it is very important that we keep that part of our heritage alive.
So today take some time while eating your nachos and read one of Grimms Fairy Tales. You can find them all online. IF you aren’t sure where to look go under Classic Literature and Fairy tales. You can find just about anything there.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So I dedicate this day to dreaming and snacking while we read about the dreams of others and think about the dreams of our own.
It is a great day to dream and then accomplish what you set out to do. I plan to do just that by finishing my book  “The Land of Horses”.
“Remember nothing will ever happen if you don’t dream.”
I will leave you with that until next time 🙂
Leave a Reply

