February 25th

Finally!!!! The winds have calmed down. It has been more than a blustery day in Idaho.

Windy with occasional snow showers. Temps nearly steady in the mid 30s. Winds W at 25 to 40 mph. Chance of snow 50%. Winds could occasionally gust over 50 mph.

I think we received the 50 mph winds. Then they closed four highways due to the wind.

I woke up to snow/ice covering everything and the electricity going off. Actually what woke me up this morning was my printer was clicking on and off. I wondered why was my printer working? It was the power surge.

Spent most of the day unable to do much of anything because I never knew when the power was going to click off again.

Finally I gave up and took a nap with the cats.

Now it looks like the quiet before the storm. Woke up to blue cloudy sky and now it is getting very dark and grey.

Today was suppose to be a big ski day up in Sun Valley. I sure wouldn’t have wanted to be on the Mountains during that wind.

Sure did make a waste of my day. But I will write my blog even though it’s late so let’s look at what national happenings were today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

National Day

Remember the Colt Revolvers!!!!

Pistol Patent Day ( Samuel Colt)

It was on February 25th in 1836 Samuel Colt patented his famous revolver in the United States. However, Europe got his patent first in 1835 on a different date, which is why this holiday is relegated to mere “national” status.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

National Clam Chowder Day
It’s a good day for a tasty bowl of your favorite Clam Chowder whether you make it yourself or buy it pre-made.  There are many recipes online if you are looking for away to make it yourself.
My mom use to just make homemade potato soup and then add the clams.  That’s how my dad liked it.
For me I usually get a can of clam chowder. But should I have the occassion to get it from a restaurant I will.
I love to pick it up at the Subway Sandwich Shop when they have it.
I wish they would carry it year round as sometimes I’m just in the mood for it. But no matter what you like I’m sure you can find something today.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Not much else going on but talk about the Oscar’s. Does anyone ever get tired of the Oscar’s? To me it seems like such a waste of money, and time. You already know who the most popular people are. The most likely to be voted for and it reminds me of being back in junior high when you ran for office and didn’t get elected. Someone is always getting left out and their feelings hurt. What is up with the horrible pictures posted on the worst dressed people on the Red Carpet. I feel like saying get a life and quit playing dress up.
Oh well I never watch the Oscars and it makes me made when my shows aren’t on. So I guess I will spend that time working on my book.
But if you enjoy the Oscars it’s okay with me. I compare it to sports. If I’m not involved in it why do I want to watch it? I’d rather see an action movie.
Well that’s my take on today’s topics. So until next time 🙂
2 Responses

  1. Oh boy, I think you hit the nail squarely on the head with your views of the Oscars. In fact, I’m starting to feel that all of pop-culture is a waste of my time. Especially the stuff that seems to be pumped at us non-stop through the media. I don’t want to be told what I should like. I’ll stop there before going into a full-blown rant.

    We got the wind Friday night into Saturday. No power for a while on Saturday morning. Today seems to be much more pleasant. Still chilly though.

    • Thank you for your wonderful comments. Now we have the aftermath of what horrors took place at the Oscar. It is ridiculous. Now we will see the leg on everything, a costume of a diplomat pouring pancake powder on the red carpet and heaven forbid some of the behind seen happenings. I won’t even justify by mentioning names. I’d rather know about important things in the world today.
      It seems kind of redundant to me when someone has been elected 90 plus times for an Oscar. If you’re the best in the business everyone knows it so why do you need that attention. It’s the beginners, the novice, the ones who aren’t sure of themselves that need the reassurance. Thank goodness it’s over till next year. The weather is cold and chilly here and we expect more snow. It’s killing my body. I need warm weather soon. I’m ready for spring.

Leave a Reply

