March 28th

Hello world: It’s Grey , overcast and we are supposed to get rain, lots and lots of rain.

I wish my sun would come out I would enjoy it so much. This week is spring break for the schools it would be nice if they’d have some nice weather.

Today is something on a Stick Day.

How about: Corn Dogs

1/2 C. yellow corn meal, finely ground

1/2 C. all-purpose flour

1 T. sugar

1 t. dry mustard (optional)

1 t. baking powder

Pinch salt

1/2 C. milk

1 whole egg, lightly beaten

1 T. melted butter

6 skewers (8 inches each) or popsicle sticks

6 hot dogs

Vegetable oil, for deep-frying

Mix the corn meal, flour, sugar, dry mustard, baking powder and salt together in a mixing bowl. Add the milk, beaten egg and melted butter. Mix until smooth.

Using the skewers or popsicle sticks, skewer the hot dogs vertically almost all the way through. Dip each dog in the batter, coating evenly. Be sure not to coat the sticks. (This works best if you pour the mixture into a tall glass).

Deep-fry in vegetable oil at 375 degrees for about 2 minutes until golden brown. Drain on paper towels, let cool for 1 minute and eat!

Makes 6 corn dogs.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.
Seasoned Skewers:
Calorie-Free Flavor Explosion

Last summer, we wrote about Seasoned Skewers, one of our favorite finds of the year— a 100% natural product made from untreated Maine wood that is flavored with herbal extracts and essential oils. The skewers release natural oils and extracts into the food as it cooks, infusing food with flavor but zero calories. Even for those with little kitchen talent, they turn beef, pork, poultry, seafood, potatoes and other vegetables into truly delicious food. Even fruit could be skewered and seasoned with flavors like Citrus Rosemary and Honey Bourbon. And, they’re even kosher.

for more information on Something on a stick check out the following.

http://search.mywebsearch.com/mywebsearch/GGmain.jhtml?searchfor=March+28th+National+days&id=CDxdm162YYus&

http://www.thenibble.com/fun/more/facts/holidays-march.asp

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
There are many things that you can enjoy that come on a stick, what about Popsicle, or how about the candy you like to dip the stick in and then eat the powder off of, there are shishkobobs , make your own special way, how about roasted marshmallows or hot dogs, then there is candy apples, many different flavors for your taste buds. How about roasted corn on the cob on a skewer?
Then there’s suckers, push pops, my favorite fudge cycles. Whatever your choice be today you should be able to find something enjoyable today.
Then at the end of day when all the sticks are done remember we have one more favorite dessert for fun.
For today is Black Forest Cake Day and believe me you don’t want to try this on a stick. But what a great way to finish off your favorite food with a special dessert like this.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

While you’re frying up some eggs and bacon, we’re cooking up something else: a way to celebrate today’s food holiday.

Chocolate, cherries and whipped cream, oh, my! – March 28 is National Black Forest Cake Day!

Calling this traditional German dessert a Black Forest cake, which is a cherry torte on steroids, is a lot easier than the original moniker: Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte.

If you’re still mystified and/or drooling over what this confection consists of, it’s essentially layers of chocolate cake, whipped cream and cherries, with additional whipped cream, cherries and chocolate shavings liberally slathered on top. A tart cherry liqueur is also included in the mixture to amp up the sour cherry flavor.

You’d think it was named for the Black Forest mountain range in southwestern Germany, but the moniker is actually because of the liqueur extracted from tart cherries. The cherry pit flavor and alcohol give the cake a distinctive taste. Here in the U.S., we typically leave out the alcohol, but in Germany, the liqueur is a mandatory ingredient – otherwise the cake can’t be sold under the Black Forest name.

Make a slightly more streamlined version of Black Forest cake for a supreme treat that will find its way to your dreams. One thing is for sure, this is one forest you’ll want to get lost in.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is plenty to enjoy today and be thankful for. I am thankful for one more day even if I don’t see the sun today.

Tomorrow I will go to the doctor for my report on my biopsy and I hope the needs is good news.

Then I will be back to join all my friends, and supporters her.

I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my first order of “The Land of Horses.”

Today I will be finishing up the proof on “Grandma’s Pantry.” I am anxious to send it in.

I said I would write as much as I could until June and that I am doing. Now friends pass the word to all your friends about my books. I can use all the help that I can get.  I will be fighting with PayPal to get those buy buttons on. I don’t know why they aren’t cooperating with me but I won’t quit until I win. Until then you can order from the links on my blog roll or directly from me.

Well until next time 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I don’t know if it’s just me or if everybody else experiencing problems with your blog. It appears as though some of the text on your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen before. Thanks

    • I am sorry you are having problems. No one else has commented to be about that and I see it on my screen. Do you have a way of adjusting your screen? Maybe it’s your settings.

Leave a Reply

