April 16th

It always makes one feel good when they hit a goal. Thanks for the 50 likes that I have received. Yippee. Let’s have a race to 100.

 

 

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When my father died November 16th, 1985 and I entered a divorce which was finalized in June of 1986 I never thought I would smile again.

I spent many years what had happened to my life. I no longer was the strong person that took care of everyone else. It was like something in my brain snapped.

I cried over anything and everything. If you said Hello to me I cried. My life started on a journey that I didn’t expect to survive. I told my sons if they lived to the age of 18 , I would through them a party. When my youngest hit 18 I offered a party to both of my sons. They laughed and said, mom its okay we don’t need a party we’re glad to be alive.

We survived a roller coaster of hardships that no one should ever have to go through. I was angry for many years because my children deserved better.

I didn’t know who to get rid of the pain and anger that I felt inside. I didn’t have time for anything but work to support my family. I got to the point where I hated a job I had loved.

I wanted to be at home with my sons. I felt they needed me but I saw no way around working.

My life had ended up in a place where there were no friends, no family, no happiness. Salary was poor and if we were lucky I could tuck away$50 a month for emergencies.

There was no recreation. My sons and I drifted through life. My dreams drifted away.

It wasn’t until I stopped carrying what anyone thought or wanted for me that things began to change.

I once more in my life rebelled. I start doing what made me happy, what I wanted to do and forgot about anyone else except my children.

I was old enough now that my choices didn’t matter anymore. Things started to improve but I still couldn’t stop crying. It wasn’t until my doctor put me on antidepressants that I was able to not cry when someone spoke to me.

I had my ups and downs until I finally retired. I spent six months hiding from the world and for the first time enjoyed being at home alone.

Now I have found myself. I love myself and my life. I now do what I want to do. I pay my bills, I have a relationship with my sons and I write.

I have pushed friends away who only cared about themselves. I believe friendship is a two-way street.

If you bring negativity to my life I can’t afford it. If you never want to do anything I enjoy then it isn’t a true friendship.

The one thing that I learned over the years is that you have to be there for your children no matter what. Life is tough and peer pressure is very strong. You have to be willing to fight for your children.

I drug my son out of many places he shouldn’t have been in. However, I knew he was hurting and as angry as I was.

Children today have been put on the same roller coaster ride. Divorce and abandonment are the devils tools.

Drugs are the devils tools waiting to take control of our young. When you decide to be a parent you decide to be responsible for a life. I fought tooth and nail for my sons. It drained me emotionally and most of the time I couldn’t sleep from exhaustion.

However, it has paid off in the end. My sons both are here for me now when I need them most in my old age. We love each other and enjoy each other. We now can talk about the hardships that we endured.

Both of my sons feel that it has made them stronger. I still hate the fact that they had to go through what they did but sometimes you have no control over your life.

Now we all face the ability to survive a poor economy and rough times which is easier for us than for many because for twenty years that’s all we have known.

I write for two reasons: 1) I have something I want to say so that others don’t think they are alone like I felt I was and 2) It’s my legacy to my children when I am gone. Maybe it will make their life a little easier if the books continue to sell and it is their inheritance. For it is all I have to give them.

I write this after reading some postings by others about their concerns about their books not selling as fast as they would like.

I do not worry about that although it would be nice to see them pick up. However, you can’t guess the public.

I have learned to appreciate the one book that sells and puts gas in my car so that I can get across town or go to the doctor.

I know that the Lord has a plan for me. I know that when the time is right the books will pick up.

I have faith in the public. I will continue to write as long as I am able. Selling one book or twenty at a time.

I will do book signings because I learned years ago that one person that shows up is the most important person. That is the one that deserves the attention and will return again.

Having worked in retail I know that the public changes from day-to-day and economy influences their spending.

However, I choose to influence their thinking. I watch what people care about and I write about what they love.

This week “Grandma’s Pantry ” goes live and would make a wonderful Mother’s Day present.

Tribute to those Serving the Red, White, and Blue will be out before Memorial Day.

THen I will spend time working on marketing. However, I want to thank everyone who has supported my books and my blogs and been there through the grey days.

I love you all and hope to see you when I hit 100 likes and keep on going.  When we reach 1000 likes I will do some give aways.

Let’s look at the Nation Days today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

16 National Eggs Benedict Day

http://www.punchbowl.com/holidays/national-eggs-benedict-day

It’s National Eggs Benedict Day! Eggs Benedict is a breakfast dish made with two toasted English muffin halves topped with poached eggs, bacon or ham, and tangy Hollandaise sauce.Many people claim that they invented Eggs Benedict. According to one story, in 1894 a Wall Street broker named Lemuel Benedict went to the Waldorf Hotel to find a cure for his hangover. At the hotel restaurant he ordered buttered toast, poached eggs, crisp bacon, and Hollandaise. The restaurant chef Oscar Tschirky loved the dish so much that he added it to the menu and named it after Mr. Benedict.Another account comes from a man named Edward P. Montgomery. In 1967 he wrote a letter to The New York Times Magazine claiming that he’d discovered the true inventor of Eggs Benedict. Montgomery’s note contained a recipe created by Commodore E.C. Benedict before his death in 1920. Montgomery received the recipe from his mother who was an acquaintance of the Commodore.Regardless of where the recipe for Eggs Benedict originated, it is now considered a classic. Enjoy this delicious dish for breakfast, lunch, or dinner today to celebrate National Eggs Benedict Day!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
DAY OF THE MUSHROOMS”
For more information go to :
http://vegan.sheknows.com/2012/04/14/day-of-the-mushroom-types-of-mushrooms-and-recipes/
April 16 is Day of the Mushroom in select foodie circles (pretty  much any group that loves food-centric holidays and can’t get enough mushrooms) so we’ve got a list of different types of mushrooms for you to forage and find ways to include in your vegan menus
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

16 National Librarian Day

National Librarian Day celebrates and honors librarians. When you visit your cavernous library in search of a particular book, or a specific research topic, they always quickly point you in the right direction.

Librarians do more than just check in and out books. They spend hours categorizing and going through myriads of literature. They have to keep up on current authors,and trends in literature. They spend hours mailing and ordering materials.They are expected to guide you through every subject matter needed.

Now they are also expected to understand and train you with technology and assist you in the world of technical research.

Experts of the Dewey Decimal System, your Librarian aids and assists you in identifying and retrieving  a myriad of books, periodicals, and  reference material.  Librarians hold a wealth of knowledge in their heads. Got a subject you are researching? Chances are, the Librarian will point you right to the book you need.

Think how difficult it would be without Libraries or the assistance of Librarians. We need to start by thanking them with our smiles, and pleasant attitudes. We need to make their jobs easier by returning books on time. Then like any other person that is important in our life we need to remember them.

Celebrate the day by sending a card to your librarian. Visit the library today, and make certain to say hello and “Thank you” to all of the librarian

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

16 National Stress Awareness Day

http://www.stepbystep.com/national-stress-awareness-day-guide-6658/

Background of National Stress Awareness Day

There will be many who will be surprised to know that the 16th of April is observed as National Stress Awareness Day in the United States. It was not until 1992 when the Health Resource Network (HRN) declared this day to be observed so as to create awareness of stress within people, as well as the causes and cures of stress. It is worth-mentioning here that in countries like the UK, the National Stress Awareness Day is celebrated on 2nd of November. Besides, the day falls one day before the income tax day.

April 16th is National Healthcare Decisions Day

http://hh-solutions.com/april-16th-is-national-healthcare-decisions-day/

Please join us in celebrating National Healthcare Decisions Day on April 16th. National Healthcare Decisions Day exists to inspire, educate & empower the public & providers about the importance of advance care planning. National Healthcare Decisions Day is an initiative to encourage patients to express their wishes regarding healthcare and for providers and facilities to respect those wishes, whatever they may be. It’s important to talk about the decisions and wishes that we have and document them. Home Healthcare Solutions support the mission and efforts of NHDD and are a proud participant. For more information, resources, or to sign up as a participant, please visit their website: www.nhdd.org

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hopefully everyone finished their taxes in time to meet the deadlines and for those fortunate people getting refunds congratulations to you.

April can frequently be a stressful month due to the end of winter, taxes and changing of work with the on coming of spring.

I hope everyone will take some time to relax and enjoy the day. Remember for good mental health you need one hour a day of quiet time for yourself.

So until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

