April 23rd

Yes, I’m back. Sorry if you missed me but I really needed a couple of days to myself.

Sometimes when we go through the transition of seasonal change we also go through the mental transition of adjustment.

I found myself happy that the sun was finally here and I love the warm weather. However, at the same time I found myself depressed over the fact that I can’t run around like I use to and I don’t have gas money to enjoy a nice long ride.

This put me into one of those slump moods where I wanted to enjoy the day but I didn’t know how nor could I write because I didn’t want my mood to ruin anyone else’s day.

I am okay now and ready to move forward. I did get out of the house and of course, I did over do and paid the price so that was another day it was hard to do anything.

Then my spoiled cats let me know they were not happy with me leaving the house by keeping me up all Saturday night.

So here we are back to Monday. Back to a routine and ready to start new summer habits and move forward with our life the best we can.

I have been caffeine free for two days on top of everything. I am starting my exercise routine today although I was doing before surgery but now I am going back to it daily and going to watch my progress.

I have decided to completely change my diet and I am going to cut out as much meat, starchy food, sugars and fat as possible. I have to cut salt out so it doesn’t make it real fun because it means no seasoning.

I am going to go to a summer light diet with a lot of liquids mainly water and tea with an occasional natural homemade juice.

I stuffed myself on the last sugar cookie my son made for me and I’m going to tell him not to make them unless it’s for my birthday.

I am going to go outside everyday that weather permits and walk a little. I am going to try not only to increase the distance but the mobility.

My cats won’t like me leaving the house but they will survive.

I am afraid if it stays this hot I will have to result to the A/C to keep not only me comfortable the my babies.

Well Grandma’s Pantry is supposed to arrive on Wednesday and I am anxious for that.

I am up to sixty pages on “Tribute to Those Serving, the Red, White, and Blue.” I still have some things I haven’t done yet so it won’t be long till I hit eighty pages which is my goal. I am anxious to get it done. I won’t it live by Memorial Day.

Then I am going to concentrate on marketing my books. I may also change the looks of my blog site. I am going to spend more time learning what all I can do as I did this quickly and still don’t have it all right.

However, life is a learning process and sometimes we just have to dive in head first and learn as we go.

That’s what I frequently do because it keeps me from procrastinating.

Well enough about me let’s see what’s been going on in the world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

21 Kindergarten Day

Kindergarten Recoginition Day

Did you know that today, April 21st, is National Kindergarten Recognition Day? It was adopted in 2005 to “recognize the critical role that kindergarten year plays in the lives of our children,” according to Senator Ken Salazar, who introduced the resolution. April 21st marks the anniversary of the first kindergarten classroom in 1837 by Friedrich Froebel in Blankenburg, Germany.

Well-rounded early education forms an essential foundation for a child’s future success, and this holiday provides the perfect reason to celebrate and recognize high-quality education.

Many of us didn’t have Kindergarten but life has changed and now friendships and social skills are learned very early in Kindergarten. Kindergarten is the foundation of the school system and can determine how they perceive their school years.

It is also quite a challenge for teachers. Have you ever worked with twenty plus five-year olds.

It reminds me of the morning I agreed to substitute for a kindergarten class. The teacher had gone to school and was sick and went home. It was already 8:00 am when the school called. I explained to the principal I could but I wouldn’t make it before 9:00 as I had to get my two children to the sitter. She agreed to watch the class till I arrived.

I rushed as fast as I could and arrived at the school knowing everything was under control. Well that was wrong.

The kindergarten classes were in mobile units outside the school. I was directed  to the room. There was no adult in the class with 24 five years running ramped . Oh what had I gotten myself into. I got them all to sit down. Then I looked for lesson plans and there were none. Now what was I going to do. I was used to junior high. Brilliant idea let’s do art work. I began to ask the kids where’s the paper , where’s the glue, where’s the crayons, etc.

Sorry but five-year olds don’t know where the teacher had them. By the time we found everything it was time to catch the bus have a half hour lunch before the afternoon class arrived.

I was ready for the afternoon class and things went fine however, I swore never to substitute for another kindergarten class again. I loved the kids and didn’t mind the age. But I did mind lack of preparation. The need many activities and change direction every few minutes.

That’s when I learned to always have my own pack of materials to take with me.

However, I salute all Kindergarten Teachers it is a rewarding but difficult job.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

PowerTalk 21 day—April 21st—is the national day for parents to talk with their kids about alcohol, and MADD wants to equip all parents and caregivers with the tools to help them start this potentially lifesaving conversation.

For a free copy of their handbook and more information go to:

http://www.madd.org/blog/2012/april/PowerTalk-21.html

Remember parents children learn by example and if you aren’t talking to them their friends or friends parents are talking to them. Be their guiding influence in their life.

Also a caution: We were always taught to get out of a car if the driver was drunk and walk to a phone and call home. This is dangerous.

I had a dear colleague friend whose son got out of a car to walk home on a dark road and was hit and killed instantly by a Semi-truck. The boy was only fourteen.

Teach your children not to get into the car. I always told my sons to call me no matter where they were even if they had made the poor choice of drinking. I’d rather get them home alive and deal with the issues later. I also gave their friends rides and many of my friends rides. I was always the designated driver. I answered many early morning calls for people. Living in a rural area with no taxi’s made it difficult. I’d rather drive than read about them. Remember most important of all they have enough pressure from peers they need someone understanding to talk to.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

22 Girl Scout Leader Day

22 National Jelly Bean Day

http://wjltevansville.com/sunday-april-22-is-national-jelly-bean-day/

This Sunday, April 22 is National Jelly Bean Day.  You may have had your fill at Easter, but these little egg shaped candies are always hard to resist.  How did this national day come to be?  Here’s more from Squidoo.com:  Well the true origin of National Jelly Bean Day has not been clarified, nor is it a real holiday, it is still a day to kick back and enjoy these yummy tiny treats. Jelly beans, particularly the Jelly Belly jelly beans, were made more popular from President Ronald Reagan, who had to have a bowl of Jelly Bellys on his desk all the time.

No one really knows where jelly beans came from. Many believe that they are descendants of Turkish Delight which have been around since at least the mid 1800s. The modern version of these sweet treats made their appearance during the American Civil War when William Schrafft of Boston wanted people to send candy to the solders who were in the Union Army.

Jelly beans began to be more of an Easter Candy in the 1930s because they look like mini Easter eggs. Since then many companies have begun to create different sizes as well as yummy flavors of jelly beans. Now you can find them in almost any flavor from Watermelon to chocolate. Most of the flavored beans come from the Jelly Belly corporation, however many companies do make then in a variety of flavors.

Earth Day is an annual day on which events are held worldwide to increase awareness and appreciation of the Earth‘s natural environment. Earth Day is now coordinated globally by the Earth Day Network,[1] and is celebrated in more than 175 countries every year.[2] In 2009, the United Nations designated April 22 International Mother Earth Day.[3] Earth Day is planned for April 22 in all years at least through 2015.[4]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Earth_Day

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

the 23rd of April is celebrated as “Shakespeare Day

 

23 Take a Chance Day

Are you a gambler? IS there something you’ve been wanting to do but afraid to take the risk? Well today is your day. Step out of your comfort zone and take that risk and see what happens. It maybe trying something new you’ve never done before, buying a lottery ticket or taking a chance at a new relationship. No matter what it is you want to secretly do today is the day to actually do it. Let us know how it works for you.

23 World Laboratory Day

April 23rd

World Laboratory Day celebrates the place where great discoveries, inventions, and medical cures are born. Its also where mad scientists dwell. Perhaps the most well known thing to come out of  laboratory was…Frankenstein!

Countless ideas, concepts and theories are tested in laboratories. Most of the world’s greatest medical treatments and cures were discovered and perfected in laboratories, after endless study and testing. Products coming out of laboratories have helped and aided mankind in many, many ways.

Celebrate World Laboratory Day by learning more about how they work. If you chance across a laboratory worker (or mad scientist) today, wish them a Happy World Laboratory Day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cherry Cheesecake Day

Directions:

  1. 1
    Combine crumbs and margarine; press onto bottom of 9-inch springform pan.
  2. 2
    Bake at 325°F for 10 minutes.
  3. 3
    Combine cream cheese and sugar, mixing at medium speed on electric mixer until well blended.
  4. 4
    Add eggs, one at a time mixing well after each addition.
  5. 5
    Blend in vanilla; pour over crust.
  6. 6
    Bake at 450°F for 10 minutes.
  7. 7
    Reduce oven temperature to 250°F; continue baking 25 to 30 minutes or until set.
  8. 8
    Loosen cake from rim of pan; cool before removing rim of pan.
  9. 9
    Chill.
  10. 10
    Top with pie filling just before serving.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
NATIONAL PICNIC DAY
With nice weather coming picnic is the thing everyone is going to be looking forward to.  Some rules to follow.
1. Always follow safety rules
2. Plan food that can be left out doors
3. Follow picnic recipes on line for a variety
4. Keep food simple and enjoyable for all
5. Remember if you are in wooded areas keep food up away from animals
6. When finished put your food away
7. Remember Listerine wards of insects so a glass container on the table is wonderful to keep mosquito and other bugs away
8. Watch out for sting insects as this year they are worse than usual
9. Be prepared with Benadryl or Epipens for anyone having allergy reactions as it will give you time to get to a doctor.
10. Drink water as it hydrates the body avoid caffeine drinks especially in heat.
Have fun and enjoy family outings.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Well it is time for me to take me stories and leave until next time so until I return take care 🙂
Leave a Reply

