April 27th

The winds have finally calmed a little after a horrible night of rain and pounding wind. The sun is trying to peak out but the gusts of wind keep moving the clouds that are overcast.

Just as I think the wind is about to subside a gust hits. I am worried about the baby Robins in the tree. The other day I was fortunate enough to see their first journey out exploring along my yard. I expected to see two or three but there must have been a dozen of these beautiful tiny baby Robins. Trying to figure out what to peck at and what to be afraid of. We have a cement border along the yard and they couldn’t cross it without flying so most of the time they walked along it. It reminded me of a group of kindergarteners on their first school outing. I wondered how well they could fly but I found out when a noisy car drove my. You know the kind with the blaring booming music. I was made for my Robins had been scared off. However, I was so glad to know they were ready to fly. But last night as I laid in bed and listened to that horrible pounding wind I couldn’t help wonder how a next can possibly stay in a tree. I worried about my Robins all night. I haven’t seen them yet today. They usually come out around supper time. I hope the wind calms by then. I enjoy watching them as they learn to survive. My cats don’t appreciate them and I am watching for the cats that prowl the neighbor hood. We must have had several nests this year to have so many babies. This is a first.

I will be chasing off any unwanted predators. I would put a bird feeder out but then it would draw the Magpies in and that would chase away the Robins.

Isn’t mother nature fascinating when you can enjoy it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yesterday when the mail arrived I was so excited as the World Poetry Movement had accepted my poem of “Grandma’s Kitchen” in their semi-final contest. It is an honor just to be chosen. However it would be great to win the cash prize.

I will be posting links today to “Grandma’s Pantry.” I remembered last night that I hadn’t done that yet. However, until I get everything under control you can always contact me and order directly through me.

I am finishing up the final touches on “Tribute To Those Serving The Red, White, and Blue.”  I will work on the table of contents this weekend and then next week proof everything and get it ready to submit.

I only have about three poems left to do. I may finish them today not sure yet.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well let’s see what’s happening in the world today.

National Days:

Happy Arbor Day!Today is Arbor Day. It’s a time to celebrate the wonders of nature, and to plan for an even greener future by planting and caring for trees.For more information go to:http://www.arborday.org/

Remember our trees are vital to our survival. They protect us from storms, and erosion. They provide the gases that our environment needs. The provide us with food to eat. The provide animals with homes, and food. They are part of our cycle of life so they need to be cared for, nurtured and replaced or we will be the ones to suffer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

27 Tell a Story Day

For more information got to : http://www.huffingtonpost.com/amy-newmark/chick-soup-for-the-soul-editor_b_1456802.html

April 27th is “Tell a Story Day” in the United States. I know that the proliferation of special days on the calendar is pretty silly, but on the other hand, there is real value in telling stories.

Storytelling, after all, is the most common way that we pass on wisdom, advice, and culture from one generation to the next. It’s how mankind has woven a continuous thread through society for thousands of years. And stories make people happy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All of my life I have enjoyed hearing stories, reading stories, and telling stories. Now as I write my books I hope that others are enjoying the stories that I tell. I have learned to weave stories into my poetry. I don’t always have time for a novel so I have learned that those special moments in life that need to be shared both good and bad can be done in poetry/prose and I only hope that someone reading my works will learn from my lives journey.

Find a good story today or tell one you all ready know and share it with others. We need to protect the art of storytelling and make sure that each generation is handed down those wonderful stories that the elders use to tell.

Enjoy today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

27 National Prime Rib Day

Five Food Finds about Prime Rib

http://blog.al.com/southern-foodie/2012/04/april_27_-_national_prime_rib.html

  • A standing rib roast is a prime rib consisting of SEVEN ribs.
  • A scooped & tied standing rib roast will have the bones taken off and then tied back on.
  • A rib eye roast is a boneless prime rib.
  • The beef is cut from the rib section, the largest central area of the steer, located in between the chuck and the short loin, just above the plate.

If choosing a prime rib at the butcher, look for a cut that has a bright color and milky white fat

This makes my mouth water just thinking about it. Having been raised in beef country a good piece of prime rib is a special enjoyment to me. However, unfortunately I will have to pass on it for now. So if you are fortunate enough to enjoy it today have a slice for me please.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

27 Babe Ruth Day

Today is a holiday because on this day in 1947 Babe Ruth attended a ceremony at Yankee Stadium to honor him for what he did for and with the sport of baseball. This was the second to last time he’d ever step foot in Yankee Stadium.

For more about the Babe go to:http://bendo13.hubpages.com/hub/April-27th-is-Babe-Ruth-Day

Anyone who has ever played baseball or watched a baseball game has heard the name Babe Ruth and no it’s not the candy bar. This man changed the history of baseball. He gave America hope at time they needed it most when World War II was just beginning.  He is a man who should be remembered by all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

26 Hug an Australian Day

Hug an Australian Day — To show our great appreciation for all the love and support the Aussies have given us over the years. For information on this copyrighted day go towellcat@comcast.net.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

26 National Pretzel Day

April 26, 2013 is

National Pretzel Day

It’s National Pretzel Day! Centuries ago, Catholic monks created the first pretzels from scraps of leftover dough. The unique knot shape represented the Holy Trinity, but the significance of this symbol has evolved over the course of history. During the 17th century, pretzels symbolized the bond of marriage. This is where the phrase “tying the knot” originated! Today, traditional soft pretzels are popular at sporting events, carnivals, and festivals.

Hard pretzels are a fairly new invention compared to the original soft pretzels. According to legend, in the late 1600s a Pennsylvania baker forgot a batch of pretzels in the oven. The over-baked treats were dark and hard, but the baker sampled one anyway. He was pleasantly surprised by the crunchy deliciousness. Hard pretzels are now one of the most popular snack foods.

To celebrate National Pretzel Day, pick up a bag of your favorite type of pretzels to enjoy today

!http://www.punchbowl.com/holidays/national-pretzel-day

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

26 Richter Scale Day

Eddie Gribbin | 0 comments

Today is a shaky one. It was 112 years ago today that Charles F. Richter was born. The American seismologist invented a scale in 1935 that could measure the amount of energy an earthquake releases.

Today, we celebrate National Richter Scale Day. There is no definitive way to acknowledge the day except by researching the worst earthquakes in history.

http://www.phillyburbs.com/content/tncms/live/phillyburbs.com/lifestyle/celebrations/today-s-celebration-national-richter-scale-day/article_33

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

26 Take Your Daughter to Work 4th Thursday

IT is now known as Daughter and Sons to Work Day. Originally it started with Daughters because they weren’t in the work force and needed to see what the male population was doing. It soon came down to equal rights and both daughters and sons began this journey when the schools saw how successful it was.

Parents often ask why this isn’t done on a day in the summer when school is out. That would eliminate children from visiting parents who work at schools. This has been a tradition that the school tie in with their career day programs.

The original idea was to encourage children to set goals for a career path.

Although I didn’t see the research on this information I have worked with these days as a teacher . It is very rewarding for everyone who takes it seriously.

I remember as a child I loved to stop by my father’s workplace on my way home from town. I wasn’t allowed to stay because of the dangerous equipment. However, if I went to town with a cousin or friend I was required to check in with my father coming and going. His workplace was half way between home and town. That made my mother relax.

For me it was a wonderful experience because I learned what my father did all day. I think it should be honored several times a year. I think too often we are busy in our adult life and we don’t share enough of our own life with our children. It helps to prepare them for the adult world and gives them options.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well it seems like it’s been a busy couple of days and I’ve been late and I am sorry. However, I will get back on track now and try my best to keep up with everything once more.

Until next time:)

 

 

Leave a Reply

