May 9th

Sorry I had one of those days. First I couldn’t get into my blog site. Than I couldn’t get into sites on Facebook. Then I went to my book to check the proof and I had to make some corrections which I got the interior corrected. But there was a simple change that I wanted to do on the cover and just as I was finishing the computer blinked and I lost my entire cover.

I wanted to cry at that point. I had to redo the entire cover of “A Tribute to Those Serving The Red , White and Blue. I had to hope I could find the right color combinations as I hadn’t written them down.

I hope I got it right. Now I’m waiting again.

National Days

National Receptionist Day the second Wednesday in May

I hope everyone remembered the many Receptionist who talk with people to help them get the information and scheduling that they need. Having been a receptionist I know this isn’t the easiest job as often times you have to deal with people who are angry and you have nothing to do with it. Please take time and be thankful for receptionist.

9 National Train Day– date varies

About National Train Day

National Train Day marks the 143rd anniversary of the creation of the nation’s first transcontinental railroad. On May 10, 1869, in Promontory Summit, Utah, the ‘golden spike’ was driven into the final tie that joined 1,776 miles of the Central Pacific and Union Pacific railways, forever transforming the face and character of America.

National Train Day is back to celebrate train travel and the ways trains touch the lives of people across America. May 12, 2012, will be the day where train stations and other venues across the country, host activities and exhibits that highlight the past, present and future of trains and travel. Amtrak will host major events in New York, Philadelphia, Chicago and Los Angeles with free live entertainment and activities for both children and adults: interactive and educational exhibits, model train displays and tours of Amtrak equipment, and notable private railroad cars – just to name a few!

The ‘rail way’ comes to life for attendees, as well as those participating online and through social media. Only on a train do we see more of the world around us, and live more of the experiences we have when we discover the ‘rail way’. Look out your window. What do you see? Look around the car. Who do you see? It’s all part of the journey. Join in the celebration by attending a National Train Day event near you, or submit your photos, videos and stories to the National Train Day Gallery, and enter for a chance to win great prizes.

Let the journey begin

For more information go to :http://www.nationaltrainday.com/about/

9 School Nurses Day the Wednesday during Nurse’s Week

This has been a week of honoring Nurses so make sure you have thanked those special nurses in your life.

09:00 AM ET
National crab meat day

While you’re frying up some eggs and bacon, we’re cooking up something else: a way to celebrate today’s food holiday.

Pinch me! March 9 is National Crab Meat Day.

There’s nothing like the fruit of the sea, and delving into a crab meat dish is a surefire way to feel the spray of the sea on your face.

Crab meat is a favorite across many cultures’ cuisines because it is slightly sweet, soft and has a delicate texture and taste. The most common crabs used for cooking are brown, blue, blue swimming and red swimming crabs.

Like other meat, crab is available in different grades, dependent on where and what kind of crab it comes from. Some terms you might hear bandied about are colossal, jumbo lump, lump, special and backfin. Colossal and the various lumps are the largest pieces from the muscles connected to the back swimming legs, while special and backfin are from the body cavity.

You can also serve up claws or claw fingers, which are best used in soups because of their strong flavor. But one of the best things to make with fresh crab meat are crab cakes! Just don’t get, err, crabby if things don’t go your way today.

For more information go to: http://eatocracy.cnn.com/2012/03/09/national-crab-meat-day/

So until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

