May 22nd

Well this morning I got my presentation and read through my poems. I am now awaiting the arrival of my book order along with the proof of ” A Tribute to Those Serving the Red, White, and Blue.”

While I was working on my presentation a spider decided to walk across my computer keyboard straight at me. Talk about scare me to death. Where did he come from? How dare him be on my keyboard.

Well after the shock when I suddenly looked down, and the jump backwards. I composed myself gave me a moment to flee and it was a stand-off. He was going to stay put.

Oh, no that’s my work area so after a knock to the ground he still didn’t leave. What the heck is the matter doesn’t he get it that he’s not wanted here?

Well someone the rollers on my office chair rolled over the top of him and that was the end of that.

Rollers on a chair are nice don’t you think?

Well I’m ready to continue with my work and what the day presents. It looks like the rain is moving on but at least it isn’t 89 degrees today. Boy it was hot last night without any breeze. I love the heat but trailers don’t cool off. I like to have a breeze in the evening for that reason.

Well leaving the windows open cooled the trailer and shutting them at 7:00 am kept the cool air in so it’s been comfortable all day today.

Temperature’s today are only in the 70’s. I see the breeze is picking up so this evening will not be great for the windows being open.

Boy since we started opening the windows int he evening my cats have been very naughty.

Usually they go to sleep with me. Now they want to play and look out the windows.

I am going to have to retrain them for the summer.

Well let’s see what’s in store for the National Days and don’t forget to check out new poems.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

National Days

22 Buy a Musical Instrument Day

Buy A Musical Instrument Day is celebrated every May 22nd, just in time to encourage a new hobby for the kiddies who are about to be set free from school for the summer. But taking up a musical instrument is a fun and engaging activity for adults and seniors as well.

for more info go to : http://theyearoflivingunofficially.com/05/22/buy-a-musical-instrument-day/

It is true that this time of year musical instruments are often encouraged. School counselors go the the elementary and talk about the classes for the middle school or, junior high and high school.

They recruit where they can recruit. Buying a musical instrument gives you the summer to take music lessons before the next school year. It also gives you something to keep you busy over those long three months at home.

You can usually pick up a deal on an old instrument that another student is no longer interested in playing or perhaps they have out grown and are moving up in quality. This is a good time to look for those deals.

There was no reference to the reason for this day but I would say it is a combination of music stores, schools and parents.

I myself started playing piano when I was seven. Then when the counselor’s game to junior high and talked about high school classes I saw my opportunity to be in the band and away from the protective eyes of my parents.

I begged to be in the band. Mom fought it but they had no reason as dad had a Saxophone so there was no monetary investment. I had enough music to start working on my own with minimal lessons.

I set off my Freshman year packing that heavy Saxophone walking to and from High School. After doing it for two years I threatened to quit band if I couldn’t have a smaller instrument. By that time my parents were happy to have me in band and realized the benefits of having my time occupied. They also saw what a discipline music was. I wanted a flute so we set off to the music store.

When my mom saw the prices of flute she said no way so I ended up with a Bundy clarinet which I played until mid year of my senior year.

The band teacher gave me after school lessons and I was there when one of his new instruments game in. It was an E Flat clarinet which was very small and high-pitched. He had no one to play it so I convinced him to let me do it for the rest of the year which he did.

My best memories of school were the band activities and the friends in band. We were a group and we did everything together.

I met my high school sweetheart in the band and he played trumpet.

We both went on to College to become music majors. I ended up with a Vocal Degree while he became a band instructor.

We never agreed on anything to do with music which could account for our drifting apart.

Our sons both played instruments, my oldest started with the violin while his brother went with the trumpet.

Violin was out the door at the end of the year because of a teacher that didn’t understand elementary students.

Then my son wouldn’t play again until high school when he could get his hands on a set of drums. Now he is a very good drummer, and a self-taught guitarist composing music and recording in my back bed room.

My youngest son ,do to moving around and changes in school, didn’t stick with the music but he was a wonderful collection of Cd’s of all styles of music. He has become the person who truly knows how to appreciate music of all kind.

So I guess you would say we all have music in our blood.

For young children I recommend Kazoo’s they can start very young, humming into the instrument. They are durable and last for ever. I had one very young and later on taught my sons’ cub scout troop how to march in the 4th of July parade playing Kazoo’s.

Senior citizens love music and if you play an instrument or sing they love volunteers are always welcome at nursing homes and senior citizen centers.

Music is an international language you can communicate without knowing the language.

This is a great day for finding that instrument you always dreamed of having so go look for it today.

You can also make your own instruments as they do in pre-school or as one man did who tried out for “America’s Got Talent.” He plays a beautiful rendition of the broom and dustpan.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

May 22 is National Maritime Day in the United States each year. This day reflects the gratitude that Americans have for the maritime industry and the benefits it brings to the country. It also recognizes ships and seafarers who have held a special place in the nation’s history.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

National Vanilla Pudding Day

Today is National Vanilla Pudding Day! The delicious, creamy pudding we know and love today has been around since the 19th century. Most culinary historians agree that our modern recipe evolved from custards, which date back to Ancient Rome.Jell-O introduced its first line of instant pudding in the 1950s. The advertising campaign announcing the new product promoted it as a “busy-day dessert.” Check out one of the original commercial spots!

To celebrate National Vanilla Pudding Day, make some delicious homemade vanilla pudding from scratch, or from an instant mix! For an extra special treat, pair it with fresh fruit or chocolate. Yum!

http://www.punchbowl.com/holidays/2012/5/22/national-vanilla-pudding-day

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well that seems like that’s it for today.  So no matter how you decide to celebrate this day enjoy it.

So until next time 🙂

4 Responses

  1. I love drums and I think if I were beginning all over again, I would go for drums! I was scanning your National Holidays for a National Chocolate Day, but I didn’t see that one–I assume that on that day you can eat all the chocolate you want with absolutely no guilt whatsoever. I enjoyed visiting your blog!

    • Sandra there are various National Chocolate Day’s. It is hard to list just one. The next one is July 7th. All you can eat Chocolate Day. Then October 28th is also National chocolate Day. Chocolate Day comes around frequently because of the impact it has on making people feel good whether it is Chocolate Chip Day, Chocolate Sunade day or Devil’s Food Cake Day, etc. Just about every month has a day with Chocolate in it.

  2. Janice, That was a funny piece on the spider. I feel that way about centipedes, who’s only virtue is that they eat spiders. Otherwise they scare me to death as they move like lightening with all those long legs.
    Now this is the way I like to post–it gives me no problems–why can’t wordpress have this?

    Micki

    • Hi! Micki, I am glad you enjoyed the article I about jumped off my chair. I hate spiders but since then I have learned how to get rid of all spiders in your house. Watch for that information in my blog site. I don’t know why blogs have to be so difficult to comment and some you can’t read because of colors. I like to keep mine simple and I want people to feel like it’s a friendly atmosphere and chat back and forth as if you were sitting in my home. Thanks for coming to see me. I hope you will visit again and we can chat some more.

Leave a Reply

