June 13th

Been a busy day already. I had to figure out a pricing sheet on my books for a bookstore that wants to order direct from authors not publishers. That took me some time to figure out between shipping costs, publishing costs, and profit margins. Math never was my favorite subject. However, when I got serious I got to business and it worked out just fine. Now I’m waiting for the laundry to finish drying so I can take it over to the bookstore.

I also proofed one more time my book “A Tribute to Those Serving the Red, White and Blue. ” I thought it would go life today but took one last look and darned if a mistake didn’t almost jump off the page. Rats. Now I have to wait another 24-48 hours for them to review the new download.

I hope I can make it live tomorrow.

I also worked on my boards on Pinterest. I read my emails. I had breakfast and did three loads of laundry.

Pretty good for me. We won’t talk about the few games of Spider Solitaire I snuck in between things.

Okay so now that we are all here together let’s look at the national days.

National Day:

13 Sewing Machine Day

Sewing Machine Day

Today is Sewing Machine Day! Thomas Saint patented the first sewing machine in 1790. Since then, the sewing machine has become one of the iconic symbols of the Industrial Revolution, representing the transition from traditional handmade goods to automated production.For many decades the sewing machine was a standard household appliance, but it is no longer considered a domestic necessity. Although the heyday of the sewing machine has come and gone, we can still recognize its significance in our history. Without this important invention, the process of making clothing (and any sewn item) would be extremely tedious. Each article would have to be sewn by hand, stitch by stitch!

To celebrate Sewing Machine Day, dig out your sewing machine and start a new project, or sign up for a sewing class to learn this important handcraft!

I remember growing up and my mother working hours at the sewing machine. No one had ever taught my mother to sew. She learned it on her own. It was the one thing that kept her busy while my father was in World War II. Then she learned to make all of our kids clothes later on. Every holiday we would have look-alike dresses. Later on she would make our formals, and many bridesmaid dresses. She even made a wedding dress.

Mom was a perfectionist and I never enjoyed her enthusiasm for sewing. I learned the basics and could mend something when I needed to. I even made a pair of bibbed overalls for my first son. However, my heart wasn’t in it.

My sons both learned to thread a sewing machine and use it for basics. However, now that I can’t see to thread the needle I don’t even try to sew.

However, every time I see a Singer sewing machine I not only remember mom and all the hours she put in to make us look special but I also think of dad. He worked awhile at Singers so mom learned a lot about the mechanics of the machine and repairing it from dad. After all you never paid anyone to do something you could do yourself.

So my hats off to all of those who enjoy sewing and still do it today. It is a special art that shouldn’t be lost.

 

National Juggling Day

If you’ve ever wanted to try your hand at the art of juggling, this is the day. This entertaining performance feat is thought to have originated as early as the 15th century in Egypt, where a wall painting featuring juggling performers, was found in the tomb of a prince. The word, “juggling” is most likely derived from the Middle English word, “jogelen”, which meant “to entertain by performing tricks”. National Juggling Day was created to teach people how to juggle. After all, it’s never too late to teach an old dog some new tricks!

So get those balls, oranges, or anything but eggs out to practice. Make it a family contest have fun. Invite the neighbors over. Learn to juggle and you might find it helps you to not only have a sense of humor but also to juggle those daily activities that you need to put into perspective.

Kitchen Klutzes of America Day

Date: June 13

Are you a klutz in the kitchen? Well, stand up tall and proud on June 13. It’s your day. Attack your klutziness head on by taking over the dinner duties. If you make a one-pot dish, you may have less to worry about.

We’ve all had those moments of spilt milk or forgetting to put the lid on the blender. Now we have a day to recognize that we are all normal.
Today is the one day it is okay to be a Klutz in the kitchen. You might not want to have a banquet or family gathering on this day but it is okay to be yourself.
What a great day for a beginner to start and learn.
I can remember the first time I broke an egg. My sister had to make a cake for an activity she was going to and I begged mom to let me crack the egg. I had watched mom doing many times and I knew I could hit the edge of the bowl crack it and drop the egg in.  Well guess what. I cracked the egg and missed the bowl. The egg landed on the table which was spick and span because mom always cleaned it before cooking anything. My sister was furious but mom scooped the egg into the bowl and cracked the second egg. I was exiled from the kitchen for the remainder of the project but I had my first egg experience and knew what not to do next time.
How many of  us have gone to pour a drink and missed the glass, or forgot to stop pouring and had it overflow.
Everyone who has ever been in a kitchen has had that moment of being a Klutz so embrace it and move on. Have fun with your day and cook something delicious.
Since no one can agree on a food for today, I am going to give you a special recipe for Father’s Day. Go do your shopping and prepare this delicious treat for that special dad in someone’s life.

White Chocolate Coffee Cashew Blondies

Start to finish: 1 hour (20 minutes active)

Makes 9 servings

1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon instant coffee
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1½ cups packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1¾ cups all-purpose flour
1 cup white chocolate bits
1 cup unsalted roasted cashews

Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat a 9-by-9-inch baking pan with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine the water, instant coffee and vanilla. Stir until the coffee granules dissolve.

Add the butter, brown sugar and salt. Use an electric mixer or whisk to beat until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating between additions and scraping down the sides of the bowl. Stir in the flour, then the white chocolate bits and cashews.

Spread the mixture evenly into the prepared pan. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted at the center comes out clean. Cool, then cut into 9 squares.

Nutrients per serving (values are rounded to the nearest whole number): 530 calories, 220 calories from fat (42 percent of total calories), 24 grams fat (12 grams saturated; no trans fats), 70 milligrams cholesterol, 71 grams carbohydrate, 8 grams protein, 1 gram fiber, 260 milligrams sodium.

Gentlemen prefer blondes, according to Hollywood. But what about blondies?

This Father’s Day, why not find out? We’ve dreamed up a white chocolate-studded blondie treat with a duo of tastes that’s easy to love — rich coffee and crunchy cashews. We brought it all together in a sweet, rich bar that, thanks to a generous helping of brown sugar, stays moist and chewy with just a hint of crunch on the outside.

Want to take it even further? Sprinkle the top with flaked sea salt just before popping it in the oven. And if Dad doesn’t like cashews, peanuts, almonds or walnuts would be good, too. Or maybe you want to add a bit of each.

 

Now remember tomorrow is Flag Day so make sure you are flying your flags this week.

Do your shopping for Father’s Day. Prepare for an awesome weekend.

So until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

