July 30th

Happy Monday. Hope everyone had a great weekend. I spent all day Sunday watching the Olympics.  I am trying to get my blog written around watching it today but it is certainly distracting. Right now the men from the USA are playing the Poland Team in Beach Volleyball. I guess I’ll have to hurry and get this done. USA seems to be doing pretty good in most areas.

 

National Days

30 Father-in-Law Day

You always hear comments about in-laws. We celebrate mother-in-laws day and now father-in -law’s day. However, I couldn’t complain much about my in-laws. I actually liked them. My father-in-law was a quiet man most of the time but July always brought the child out in him. He loved fireworks and would always set off a wonderful display for the fourth of July. He loved playing with the grandchildren. However, unfortunately he passed away too early before my children were born. He had served in World War II in Africa and was wounded leaving shrapnel in his body. We never knew if that was the cause of his sudden death or not. However, he died instantly during the second year of my marriage. It had a profound impact on everyone in the family. I would like to remember him on this day. He was of Finnish heritage. Waino Koski was a wonderful Father, Husband, Father-in-Law, Grandfather, co-worker and friend.  God Bless all Father-in – laws today.

Remember them with a card, a special activity, or a hug. After all once they are gone they are gone forever.

 

National Cheesecake Day

Today is National Cheesecake Day! Cheesecake is a rich, decadent dessert made with cream cheese, eggs, sugar, and vanilla. Add a crumbly graham cracker crust and a fruit topping for the ultimate cheesecake experience!

There are dozens of different cheesecake varieties. Some of the most popular flavors are strawberry, key lime, and peanut butter cup. There are also many styles of cheesecake. Different countries (and even cities) have their own version of this classic dessert.

To celebrate National Cheesecake Day, grab a slice of your favorite cheesecake from your local bakery ! Remember to keep an eye out for special cheesecake deals and giveaways in honor of the occasion.

Boy I wish we had a cheesecake factory around here. Wouldn’t today be a great day to be able to go in to a factory and sample a piece of each type of cheesecake.

However, if you can’t do that settle for your favorite type and enjoy a piece for me too.

 

Well that’s it for today’s National Days. I hope everyone is taking time to enjoy the Summer Olympics in London. It has been a long time since I’ve been able to watch them and it has been pure enjoyment for me. So until next time 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Janice–

    Loved your post!!

    Micki

Leave a Reply

