August 1st

Good afternoon everyone.I hope your day is going well. Mine is off to a slow start. I didn’t sleep well last night. Had some zesty spaghetti sauce that caused heartburn all night long. Finally I am feeling like it’s gone. I don’t think I will eat leftovers today. I will leave them for my son.

I find it interesting how the body changes as you get older and things you once could eat you no longer can eat. It sure makes it difficult at times.

Well I’ve been following the Summer Olympics and I can say I am very proud of what the USA teams have been doing. The women’s gymnastic team looked amazing last night. The men and women’s swim teams have been awesome and so have the volleyball teams.

I find all of the teams to be such an inspiration. Often times we sit at home and we whine about our aches and pains and yet here are these champions ignoring their injuries and going for the gold. I find them to be amazing. What an inspiration they have been to me. I wish I had the Olympics recorded. I think every time I whine or feel sorry for myself I should watch these amazing champions to be reminded of what hardships it takes to reach your dreams. Such an inspiration they have been. All I can say at this point is Bravo!!!!

National Days

Well it’s a new month can you believe that? I find it hard to believe we are already in August. Although our forest fires have been going for a month already. I sure wish we could have a rain day. I think it’s time for a National Rain Dance Day.

Section 1 National Days

 August is the eighth month of the year.

 

Month:

  • Admit You’re Happy Month
  • Family Fun Month
  • National Catfish Month
  • National Eye Exam Month
  • National Golf Month
  • Peach Month
  • Romance Awareness Month
  • Water Quality Month
  • National Picnic Month

Weekly Events:

  • Week 1 National Simplify your Life Week
  • Week1 National Clowns Week
  • Week 2 National Smile Week
  • Week 3 Friendship Week
  • Week 4 Be Kind to Humankind Week

 

The first week in August is National Simplify Your Life Week. What better way to celebrate than by clearing the clutter from some area of your life– whether it be your closets or your finances. Two new books from Ambassador International are designed to help you simplify your life.

for more information go to : http://ambassador-international.com/celebrate-national-simplify-your-life-week-with-help-from-ambassador-authors

Daily:

Respect for Parents Day is August 1st. Who knew we needed a day set aside out of the year to respect our parents? Maybe you’re already respectful of your parents, and all your elders. Maybe you just need a little reminder to be a little more respectful, a little more patient, a little more kind.

If your parents have passed, perhaps you could take a moment today to smile at someone who is old enough to be your parent. Visit or call an aunt or uncle or family friend who may be like a parent to you. Or perhaps take a few moments to participate in some activities to strengthen your relationship with your own children, teach them to respect you as a parent, as well as their elders.

for more information go to : http://www.examiner.com/article/respect-for-parents-day-august-1st

Growing up we were taught to respect our elders. I grew up during a time when children should be seen and not heard. There is something to be said for respecting those who have more life’s experiences, wisdom, and have earned their right of passage.

My children were taught to respect adults and all others but especially anyone that was their senior. To this day they appreciate learning that lesson. I think it is a very important part of knowing your place in society.

Senior Citizens in this country deserve much more respect than they are shown. Children who learn early to respect their parents will respect them later on in life. Children live those lessons they learn in childhood.

However, today would be a great day to show respect by doing something kind for your parents, grandparents, or other senior citizens. It also makes you feel good to do something for someone else.

August 1st thru the 7th was designated “National Clown Week” by Joint Congressional Resolution, approved October 8, 1970 and signed into law by President Richard Nixon on August 2, 1971.

In part the proclamation reads,

International Clown Week

The first week in August is International Clown Week

“Whoever has heard the laughter of a child or seen the sudden delight on the face of a lonely old man has understood in those brief moments mysteries deeper than love.
All men are indebted to those who bring such moments of quiet splendor-who redeem sickness and pain with joy. All across

America good men in putty noses and baggy trousers following a tradition as old as man’s need to gently touch the lives of his fellowman. Today, as always, clowns and the spirit they represent are as vital to the maintenance of our humanity as the

builders and the growers and governors… “

You can read the full proclamation here.

You can also find out more about International Clown Week, which also runs the first week in August here:

http://www.internationalclownweek.org/   

or check out their facebook page

 

1 National Raspberry Cream Pie Day

Raspberry Cream Pie with Pecan Topping

Crust
1 pre-made Pillsbury 9″ pie crust (*avoids thrown vegetables*)

Filling
1 cup white granulate sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/3 cups sour cream
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup frozen raspberries—thawed and drained
1 cup raspberry jam, room temperature

Topping
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup dark brown sugar, firmly packed
1/3 cup pecans, chopped
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

– Preheat oven to 400 degrees, and remove pie crust from box, leaving it out on the counter 15 minutes to make it easier to unroll.

– Meanwhile, combine sugar, flour, eggs, sour cream and vanilla. Stir or whisk until smooth. Gently fold in raspberries and jam.

– Unroll premade crust and place in a 9″ pie plate, crimping the edges. Carefully spoon in raspberry/sour cream mixture, and bake for 30-35 minutes or until the center of appears set and not jiggly.

– As pie bakes, mix together ingredients for the topping. Blend with your fingers or a pastry cutter until crumbly. After filling is set, pull pie from the oven, and add the topping. Return to the oven for 10 minutes, or until topping is golden.

– Remove and cool on a rack. Garnish with sweetened whipped cream. Serves 8-10

Wow! What a start for August. We are going to simplify our life, add humor through the laughter of clowns,  show respect to parents and our elders, and enjoy another raspberry dessert. I don’t think you could ask for much more than that.
That’s a great start for August and what’s a better time to clean out those old clothes before the starting of school, winter coming on and have a clean sweep for the fall. There’s still time for yard sales or just donate to your local second-hand stores. I know I need to do some simplifying.
Well that’s all I have for today so until next time 🙂
2 Responses

  1. I thought I replied to this but I can’t fimd it so just want to say that I enjoyed this post immensely! You always make me hungry after dinner when I don’t like to eat! 🙂

    Micki

  2. I saw your reply the day before maybe that is what you were thinking of. I always try to include the food for the day. Sorry I guess you need to read me before dinner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

