August 6th

Hello everyone. I hope that you had a wonderful weekend. I was able to enjoy Saturday’s Olympics until mid-afternoon than I lost the channel and it hasn’t been back since. I’m somewhat disappointed that I now can’t watch this weeks events. I will have to follow them in the news reports.

I am finding myself some what down in the dumps. Not sure why. I think some of it is that I always hate to see August arrive. That to me has always been the ending of summer and my favorite time of year.  This year extremely saddens me because the hot heat has prevented me from enjoying the outdoors. I miss the mild springs leading into summer and the summers that averaged in the 70’s. I don’t mind the heat but this year has been extreme.

We are seeing forest fires all around us and I worry about what is yet to come. Having grown up in the mountains I appreciate my beloved trees and I can’t stand to see forest fires.

I am saddened by the destruction especially of those that are human started. I understand how this affects the balance of nature. I understand the stress on animals trying to get away and find safety being left homeless to try to survive if they make it at all.

I fear that one day this land will be barren without trees and all anyone will know is the hot desert growing with sage and cactus.

I am saddened by the city in Oklahoma that has lost everything. These are sad and hard times.

I am saddened that my health is not in good enough shape to allow me to get out and about and help with service projects.

I told my son one day that I would just like to be able to run down the street. He asked my why I wanted to run down the street. My response was just because I want to know I can.

Growing up I either ran or walked every  where and I was in excellent shape. Later in life I took up dancing to keep in shape and it was nothing for me to go dancing three nights a week. Now I can only walk one block and stand for around fifteen minutes due to back pain. Now how fair is that?

I want my body back physically fit. I want to be able to come and go as I please without pain. I live in chronic pain everyday. I watched how the Olympics stars pushed through their pain and what a lesson that was for me. I think that is exactly what I am going to have to do.

I am trying to get back on track so that I can finish my book that I am almost done writing however, something seems to be holding me back. It isn’t writers block it’s more motivation. I was doing good until the Olympics came on and I didn’t write for a week . I guess I’ll get started back with my blog and push my way back to writing everyday. I want it finished by September and that’s not far away.

Well enough for my venting today. Let’s see what’s happening with the National Days. I will post Saturday and Sunday’s with today since I got lazy.

 

National Days

walnuts_20120803154115_JPG

It may sound a bit nutty, but August 3 is National Grab Some Nuts Day!

Nuts are considered to be a superfood: They’re high in protein and contain monounsaturated fat, which can decrease a person’s risk of heart disease and help boost their good cholesterol levels. Their portability also makes them a fantastic on-the-go snack. In fact, it’s been shown that crunchy snacks – like nuts – help improve mood and alertness.

A good way to boost nuts’ natural goodness is by roasting them. Try tossing a variety of nuts in a little bit of vegetable oil, some brown sugar, cayenne for spice and an earthy herb like rosemary. They burn quickly, so keep an eye on them.

Nuts are high in oil content, which means they can also spoil quickly. To prevent your stash from going bad, store them in an airtight container in the fridge or freezer.

3 National Watermelon Day

National Watermelon Day

Today is National Watermelon Day! Watermelon is a delicious summer fruit that has become a staple at family picnics and cookouts. Did you know that watermelons are 92% water? No wonder they’re so refreshing!

There are around 300 different kinds of watermelon in the U.S. and Mexico. You can find red, pink, white, and yellow varieties in various sizes and shapes. Watermelons are usually quite large, and many county fairs award prizes for the biggest ones. According to the Guinness Book of World Records, the heaviest watermelon weighed 262 pounds. To learn more interesting watermelon facts, check out www.watermelon.org.

To celebrate National Watermelon Day, have some watermelon for dessert tonight! Slice it up and eat it plain, cook it on the grill, mix it into a salsa, or blend it into a cocktail. Enjoy!

National Mustard Day first Saturday

National Mustard Day

Today is National Mustard Day! Are you a mustard lover? Do you find an excuse to put mustard on everything you eat? Today we honor this delicious yellow condiment and all the flavor it brings to our lives.

To celebrate this unique occasion, break out your favorite kind of mustard and use it to enhance your food at lunch and dinner today. You can also invite some friends and family over for a mustard tasting party! The truly dedicated can head to Horeb, Wisconsin to witness the annual National Mustard Day Parade, which is sponsored by the Mustard Museum. Enjoy!

4 National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day

Chocolate chip cookie-lovers: Where would we be if it weren’t for Ruth Graves Wakefield (1903-1977), a 1930s-era Massachusetts innkeeper? Without Ruth there would be no chocolate chip cookies and by extension, no peanutbutter chip cookies or other flavors of chips, no chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream, no Chipwich. But why dwell on those what-if horrors? Let’s look at the happy history.

The History Of The Chocolate Chip Cookie

Ruth Graves graduated from the Framingham State Normal School Department of Household Arts in 1924. She worked as a dietitian and lectured on food.

In 1930, Kenneth and Ruth Wakefield purchased a historic Cape Cod-style inn, the Toll House, on the outskirts of Whitman, Massachusetts, halfway between Boston and New Bedford. Originally constructed in 1709, the house had served as a stop for travelers in Colonial times: they paid their road toll, changed horses and dined. Over 200 years later, the Wakefields opened a lodge on the premises, the Toll House Inn. They served traditional Colonial fare. Ruth did the baking, and her desserts were very popular.

One day in 1937, while preparing a batch of Butter Drop Do cookies, a colonial brown sugar cookie recipe, Ruth found that she did not have the baker’s chocolate required, and instead chopped a bar of Nestlé Semi-Sweet Chocolate into tiny pieces. She added them to the dough, expecting them to melt during baking; instead, the chocolate held its shape and softened to a creamy texture. The new cookies became very popular at the Inn; Ruth’s recipe was published in newspapers throughout New England, and sales of Nestlé’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar skyrocketed.

Ruth eventually approached Nestlé and reached an agreement that allowed Nestlé to print what would become known as the Toll House Cookie recipe on the wrapper of the Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar (part of the agreement included supplying Ruth with all of the chocolate she could use for the rest of her life). As the recipe continued to grow in popularity, Nestlé began to score the chocolate bar and packaged it with a special chopper for easy cutting into small morsels. In 1939, they introduced Nestlé Toll House Real Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels. Nestlé claims that the Toll House is the most popular cookie of all time. Who are we to disagree?

And the recipe was originally called Toll House Chocolate Crunch Cookies, as the morsels, or chips, came later.

The After Story

Officially, chocolate chip cookies are the state cookie of Massachusetts, where they were invented, and Pennsylvania, home to Hershey’s, Nestlé’s chief competitor in the chocolate morsel business. Alas, you can’t visit the Toll House Inn today. In 1966, Kenneth and Ruth sold it and retired to Duxbury, Massachusetts. The new owners turned the building into a nightclub. In 1970, it was sold again, to the Saccone family, who restored the original Toll House Inn and Restaurant. Unfortunately, on New Year’s Eve 1984, the old building caught fire and was destroyed.

http://www.thenibble.com/reviews/main/cookies/cookies2/chocolate-chip-cookie-history.asp

4 U.S. Coast Guard Day

Coast Guard Birthday

(August 4, 1790)

 

Two hundred and twenty- two years ago,                                                        Congress created the U.S. Revenue-Marine.

Now on this day we celebrate the U. S. Coast Guard,                                                We honor you with all our regard.

For The Coast Guard protects the nation’s shores,                                           Keeping our homeland safe is their biggest chore.

Protecting maritime resources,                                                                                  Serving our oldest continuous seagoing service.

Benefiting every citizen,                                                                                              Whether living near water or inland.

Therefore, we salute you on this day of days,                                                      Wishing all who serve, Happy Birthday.

God Bless You All

@Copyright “A Tribute To Those Serving, The Red, White, and Blue,” 2012 by Janice N. Richards

 

5 Friendship Day – First Sunday in August

Friendship Day

Through thick and thin, our friends are always by our sides. Friendship Day has taken place in the United States since 1935 after Congress proclaimed it a national holiday. Following the popularity and success of Friendship Day in the U.S., many other countries around the world soon adopted this tradition. In 1997 the United Nations named Winnie the Pooh as the world’s Ambassador of Friendship!

Take part in this national tradition by spending some time today with your friends. Go to lunch, hit the mall, or have a party! Friendship Day is also a great reminder to call friends that you don’t see regularly just to catch up.

5 International Forgiveness Day – First Sunday in August

Celebrate International Forgiveness Day

by | August 2, 2012 | 0 comments

 

This Sunday, August 5, is International Forgiveness Day – a day organized by the Worldwide Forgiveness Alliance (yes, that’s totally a real thing) and dedicated to promoting the importance of sincere forgiveness in building strong relationships and communities.

Sound familiar? That’s because, a bit more than a month from now is the international Jewish day of forgiveness, also known as Yom Kippur. A day where Jews atone and apologize – to themselves, others, and God – for any errors and wrong doings they committed, and others are meant to forgive them and move on. (Check out this interesting article in the Washington Post about forgiving and being forgiven on Yom Kippur.)

So think of this Sunday’s forgiveness holiday as a primer for Yom Kippur – a day to begin getting you into the spirit for the massive season of forgiveness coming up on the Jewish calendar. Here are some ideas to get you started:

5 Sisters Day – First Sunday in August

Sisters Day

Today is Sisters Day! Did you know that 80-90% of all the people in the USA have at least one birth sibling? By the time we’re eleven years old we spend over 30% of our spare time exclusively with our brothers and sisters. It’s no wonder that they are the people who know us best!

Sisters Day is the perfect opportunity to celebrate your relationship with your sister and tell her how much she means to you. Send a free Sisters Day eCard to express your appreciation and make plans to spend some time together. Grab lunch, hit the beach, or watch some home videos. Happy Sisters Day!

5 Work Like a Dog Day
Work Like a Dog Day honors and recognizes the hardest working among us.

Some people skate by, doing as little as possible. Others, do only what they have to. Others still work like a dog. While work is to be done, they dig in relentlessly. They seldom take a break until the task is completed.

We want to make sure to differentiate between “Work-A-Holics” and those who “Work Like a Dog”. Work-A-Holics are always working, even though they may not be working hard. Those who work like a dog, work very hard while they are working. But, they do not work all of the time.

Today is a day to show appreciation for those who carry more than their load, and work like a dog. You can also honor them by working like a dog today.

 

 

6 Wiggle Your Toes Day

“This little piggy went to market, this little piggy stayed home.” That’s right, today we honor those 10 little piggies because it’s “Wiggle Your Toes Day!” It’s probably no accident that this holiday falls during the heat of summer when shedding our shoes is something we all might be tempted to do. Why not spend the day in sandals or flip flops and let your toes have their 15 minutes of fame?

 So take off your shoes and get to wiggling … you’ve got less than 24 hours left to celebrate!

August 6, 2012 is

National Root Beer Float Day

It’s National Root Beer Float Day! Between the creamy vanilla ice cream and the frothy root beer foam, how can anyone resist this sweet refreshment? Today we celebrate this tasty summer treat.

At the end of the 19th century, a man named Frank Wisner invented the first root beer float. This early version was also known as a “black cow.” To make one of these delicious beverages, just add a scoop of vanilla ice cream to a tall glass of root beer. (Note: If you reverse the directions and add the root beer to the ice cream you’ll end up with a big mess!)

Today, enjoy this delicious American tradition and make your own float for National Root Beer Float Day!

 

So whatever you choose to celebrate there are plenty of choices. I will celebrate Sister’s Day, Wiggle your toes, and possible a Root Beer Float.

So until next time honor our military and stay safe 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I know your pain. I walk real slow for my lungs. This causes more pain on my back. I push myself and pay later.

  2. I feel for your pain as I know what it is to pay later. Only those who have chronic pain can fully understand it. However, we have to keep on going and do the best we can. I have found that the herbal home remedies are far better for me than the prescription medications. I am trying to clean my body of its toxins and it is helping. However, I have to make an entire life style change which is difficult in today’s economy.

Leave a Reply

