August 7th

Good afternoon. I’m off to a slow start today. I ended the night with an insect bight which is rather dangerous for me with my allergies. Not sure if a mosquito got in the house or if it was one of those nasty little spiders. I was on my computer and barefoot  as usual. I had to take allergy medication as I swell like a balloon and have to worry about blood clots. Then I am sleepy from the allergy medication and end up sleeping in later than what I want to.

Oh well today it is doing fine thank goodness. I am so thankful that my sister had sent me the Sting-Kill capsules with contain Benzocaine. I can’t buy them in Idaho and they work wonderful on any kind of insect bite. They take the sting out of bee stings and they also take swelling down. Now today I have no lump which had started immediately. I don’t understand why every state doesn’t carry these capsules as they are marvelous.

I guess I will have to have her send me more while they are in season.  However whenever I have health issues like this my body reacts and today I’m not feeling my best.  I will try to do my best though to provide you with today’s National Days and what is going on.

National Days:

7 Purple Heart Day Purple Heart Medal

On this day in 1782, in Newburgh, New York, General George Washington, the commander in chief of the Continental Army, creates the “Badge for Military Merit,” a decoration consisting of a purple, heart-shaped piece of silk, edged with a narrow binding of silver, with the word Merit stitched across the face in silver. The badge was to be presented to soldiers for “any singularly meritorious action” and permitted its wearer to pass guards and sentinels without challenge. The honoree’s name and regiment were also to be inscribed in a “Book of Merit.”

Washington’s “Purple Heart” was awarded to only three known soldiers during the Revolutionary War: Elijah Churchill, William Brown and Daniel Bissell, Jr. The “Book of Merit” was lost, and the decoration was largely forgotten until 1927, when General Charles P. Summerall, the U.S. Army chief of staff, sent an unsuccessful draft bill to Congress to “revive the Badge of Military Merit.” In 1931, Summerall’s successor, General Douglas MacArthur, took up the cause, hoping to reinstate the medal in time for the bicentennial of George Washington’s birth. On February 22, 1932, Washington’s 200th birthday, the U.S. War Department announced the creation of the “Order of the Purple Heart.”

In addition to aspects of Washington’s original design, the new Purple Heart also displays a bust of Washington and his coat of arms. The Order of the Purple Heart, the oldest American military decoration for military merit, is awarded to members of the U.S. armed forces who have been killed or wounded in action against an enemy. It is also awarded to soldiers who have suffered maltreatment as prisoners of war.

 

My father in law was a recipient of the Purple Heart when he was wounded in World War II in Africa.  He was hit with shrapnel which remained in him for the rest of his life. However, he was one of the lucky ones and was able to have a normal life.

7 National Lighthouse Day

It was on this day in 1789, that Congress approved an Act for the establishment and support of lighthouse, beacons, buoys and public piers. In Celebration of the 200th Anniversary of the signing of the Act and the commissioning of the first Federal lighthouse, Congress passed a resolution which designated August 7, 1989 as National Lighthouse Day.

for full information on this act go to : http://www.lighthousefoundation.org/museum/natllighthouseday_info.htm

 

I don’t know how many of you have ever seen the Lighthouse video. It lasts for about fifteen minutes. It was a training video they showed to teachers one year. It was short to the point and the message was as strong as they come.

It showed how we touch everyone in our life. It started on a beach by a light house. Someone picked up a shell and gave it to another person. It showed how that gesture of giving affected the other person throughout their life. Ever since I have seen that video the Lighthouse has been a symbol of hope to me.  Now when I see a lighthouse I feel like I am being reminded of my direction, my dreams, my goals, and my purpose. I feel like there is hope and a light to show me the way. Not having lived around lighthouses I took them for granted but I no longer do. They are a valuable part of our history and they have given direction to many. They now remain a symbol of direction for me in my life.

 

National Raspberries and Cream Day

Five Food Finds about Raspberries

  • Raspberries, as well as strawberries, belong to the rose family.
  • There are over 200 species of raspberries.
  • Raspberries can be four different colors, although red and black are the most common.  They can also be yellow or purple.
  • Raspberries are rich in Vitamin C and produce more fiber per calorie than any common fruit – even prunes.
  • Don’t wash the berries until they are ready to be used.

Raspberries are also known to help burn belly fat. They clean the body of toxins and they break down fatty tissue around the belly area. You should eat around seven ounces a week at least.

 

Well enjoy the day and find your direction whatever it maybe. Remember we all have a purpose. Make the best of the day and be safe wherever you are. So until next time 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

