August 8th

Well I am slowly recovering after a day of being sick. I haven’t been that sick in ten years. I don’t know what happened it wasn’t the flu but my body sure turned on me. Maybe it’s just that every so often it needs to clean itself of toxins.

Well today it is overcast but hasn’t rained as yet. It looks like we will probably get a late afternoon showers. We could use the rain but I sure don’t want the lightning and more forest fires.

Well I miss not having the Channel for the Olympics but from what I understand there has been a lot of negativity this week. I don’t miss that.

I understand a gentleman has taken it upon himself to send metals to fourth place winners. That concerns me. The question I would like to ask is at what point to we learn that it is perfectly okay not to be number one at everything. What are we teaching our children? I think it is great to award the top three Olympians however, I see the expectancies have become so severe for today’s children that they don’t believe in themselves. We first need to teach people to love themselves for who they are. Then if they go beyond expectancies be proud of them but don’t forget to be proud of them during the journey.  Too often our children never know what it is like to have someone feel proud of them. With today’s stress and work schedules, parents frequently never see a performance at school of their children. Now with state standards if you don’t hit a certain percentage you are a failure. I know what it is to feel like a failure. That is a feeling you never get over.

I think we should start being proud of our children from the day they are born. It is time that we start reading about the good in the life of children and not the abuse and betrayal. It is time parents are held up to the expectancies of being a good parent.

This is not about winning metals it is about winning at life. Life is nothing but a game and if you have the right strategies you come out on top and are a winner. The journey you take shows that you are a winner. You cannot blame judges or anyone else. It is your life and you make the choices.

This is the lesson we need to teach our young people. Their isn’t room to blame anyone but one’s self.

You do the best that you can in life and as long as you do that then you can accept your destiny. It is okay to be normal and not a super hero.

More people are average than high achievers. If our high achievers don’t learn to accept some failure in their lives they will be at a higher risk for suicide during their adult life.

I admire the ones that know when it is time to walk away and go on with a normal life.  They know that their time was good but it is now over.

Congratulations to all who can accept who they are. I hate to see the young people take it so hard that they are in tears at the competitions. You can’t always be a winner in sports but as a person you can be a winner with a good heart, and soul.

The person that I was most impressed with throughout the Olympics was the young lady in gymnastics who didn’t make the final two. I believe her name is Jordan. She demonstrated true leadership. She didn’t give up she continued to help her team members and let her smiles and confidence shine through. I would rather have her on my team any day than any of the others.  She has shown a spirit that is true to herself and those around her. She is a winner in life and I have more admiration for her than anyone that I have seen at the Olympics. She will go far in life.

 

Well let’s see what’s happening today under the nation’s days.

Nation’s Days:

8 Sneak Some Zucchini onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Day

August 8 is National Zucchini Day or “Sneak Some Zucchini onto Your Neighbors’ Porch Day.” Due to overzealous planting of zucchini, citizens are asked to drop off baskets of the squash on neighbors’ doorsteps. This might annoy some neighbors, but a nicer holiday than the “Place a Flaming Brown Paper Bag with Dog Poop on You Neighbors’ Porch Day.”

National Zucchini day is not to be confused with the April 24th; this is National Zucchini Bread Day.

I would love to have some Zucchini placed on my porch. The first year my husband and I decided to plant a garden way back when, we weren’t experienced gardeners. We decided to just throw a few things in and see what happened. We were going to condition the garden for the next year and get serious then.  However, we hadn’t taken several things into account. We forgot about the hedge of  bushes we had removed along the fence and we weren’t counting on the ground being fertile. We also knew nothing about Zucchini. I let my husband do the planting as he was in charge of the yard. He planted three Zucchini plants. A package of cucumbers, a package of onions, a package of carrots, some potatoes eyes cut from potatoes, a package of beets, and four or five tomato plants. Now we were living in Montana then. We were use to a different season than where we lived. By the end of August it was obvious what our garden was doing. However, as soon as school started I had to come home everyday and harvest my garden and can until 2:00 am in the morning then get up at 6:00 go teach teenagers and repeat that for over a month. Every day I would fill a bushel basket with cucumbers and zucchini. My zucchini weren’t small they were as big as my arm because I couldn’t keep up with them. I found every recipe possible for zucchini.  We had zucchini bread, zucchini pickles and zucchini recipe. I never found time to do the cake or cookies. We had cucumber pickles. My entire laundry room was full of canned pickles, beets, carrots, etc.  The only thing that didn’t grow well that year were the onions. We learned our lesson after that. We learned one Zucchini plant was sufficient. I had never eaten Zucchini until the summer. I even learned how to bread it and fry it up with green tomatoes. What an experience as a novice. Here I was teaching, raising two young children and canning. My husband worked nights so I was on my own. Needless to say my canning days are over but I sure wouldn’t mind having some. I would never be insulted by someone leaving any food on my porch. I also learned you can freeze just about anything. Zucchini is great frozen for bread so you can have it all through the winter, just grate it before you freeze it.

 

You can celebrate “National Frozen Custard Day ” by stirring up a batch of your own.

Who would have guessed that cream, sugar and eggs could be turned into such a rich, luscious treat as frozen custard? This American favorite has been served at least as far back as 1919 , when it was offered as a carnival treat on Coney Island. Surprisingly, Milwaukee sells more frozen custard than any place else on earth, and is known as the “Custard Capital of the World.”

 

This rich, luxurious ice cream earns the term “custard” because of the number of egg yolks it contains. For this reason, custards bear some watching during the cooking process; you want to heat the mixture through, but overcooking leaves you with scrambled eggs. As with homemade yogurt, the addition of nonfat dry milk here gives extra body to the final dish.

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • 5 beaten egg yolks
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup nonfat dry milk powder
  • Dash salt
  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • Caramel shards (optional, see below)

Directions

  1. 1For caramel, in a heavy small saucepan, cook the granulated sugar over medium-high heat until sugar begins to melt, shaking saucepan occasionally. Do not stir. Reduce heat to low and cook until sugar is melted and golden brown, stirring frequently with a wooden spoon. Remove saucepan from heat.
  2. 2Carefully stir in the 1/2 cup whipping cream. (If a large lump of syrup forms, place saucepan over low heat and stir occasionally until syrup lump dissolves. This may take 15 minutes.)
  3. 3In a medium saucepan combine egg yolks, milk, dry milk powder, and salt. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture coats the back of a metal spoon. Remove from heat. Stir in the 2 cups whipping cream. Add caramel, brown sugar, and vanilla to saucepan, stirring until brown sugar dissolves.
  4. 4Cool custard mixture by placing the saucepan in a bowl of ice water. Stir occasionally, adding more ice to water as necessary until mixture is completely cool. (Or, cover and chill in the refrigerator for up to 24 hours.) Freeze custard mixture in an ice-cream freezer according to the manufacturer’s instructions. If desired, garnish ice cream with Caramel Shards. Makes 8 servings.
  5. 5 Caramel Shards: Butter baking sheet. (If desired, line the baking sheet with foil and butter the foil.) Set baking sheet aside. In a heavy large skillet cook 3/4 cup granulated sugar over medium-high heat until sugar begins to melt, shaking skillet occasionally. Do not stir. Reduce heat to low. Cook and stir about 3 minutes more or until sugar is melted and coppery brown in color. Remove from heat. Stir in 1/2 teaspoon hot water. Immediately pour mixture onto prepard baking sheet, spreading as thin as possible. Cool for 30 minutes. When cool, tap gently with a spoon to break into shards. Store tightly covered.

http://shine.yahoo.com/food/recipes/frozen-caramel-custard-539600.html

 

Well it looks like today is all about healthy food. Share zucchini with your neighbors. Have some frozen custard and enjoy whatever treat you decided to whip up.

So until next time 🙂

 

4 Responses

  1. Sorry you were sick. Happy you’re feeling better. You are right our children need to be lifted up.

    • Thank you. I think we have just gone to expect too much of our children and that they need to enjoy time to be children while they can. Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment. Thanks I am feeling much better now.

  2. Janice, great post–sorry to hear that you’ve been sick

  3. Thanks Micki. I am feeling better now. I don’t know if it was something I ate or just my body needing to heal itself. Now I can get back to normal whatever that is.

Leave a Reply

