August 10th

Another gray day. They are saying possible showers this afternoon but mostly dry lightning. That is the last thing we need right now.

Please be sure to check out my page on disabilities as I am going to put a new post on their today in regards to schools and not being allowed to enter.

I am amazed every time that I am presented with a need to write about something new that I am trying to avoid writing about. I have plenty of subject material and I could write until the day I die. However, every so often it’s like someone is trying to tell me that I have a purpose and I need to do a specific book. Sometimes I am surprised at the channels it comes to me through. Yesterday it came to me through my youngest son. A friend of his who also knows me well called him in desperation when she couldn’t get her daughter in school. He then called me and told her I’d be the best person to talk to. I was surprised at his recommendation as I taught in the district for many years but I was surprised that she called him for help.  Although he is well versed in the community.

After spending a lengthy conversation on the phone with her and eight pages worth of notes for her to understand her situation I hung up realizing I need to write a parent guide for seizure disorders. I guess that will be one of my next projects but until then I will post on my disability page the need to know now facts to help immediately.

I was never expected to finish high school by my teachers and sometimes I am amazed at what comes out of my mouth and how much I have learned along the way to help other people and yet politics still interferes with that instead of embracing it.

I am considered to be a rebel because I speak the truth, I dare to disagree, and I dare to challenge the ignorant.

I am glad I am who I am but it has made my life much more difficult along the way because I always find myself standing alone when it would be nice to have someone standing next to me.

However, I will never change. I will continue to help those that I can in any way that I can.

Yesterday by accident I flipped the tv channels just in time to see Dr Phil who I rarely watch. However, I was glad to take the time yesterday as the program was addressing Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Veterans. This is something I feel very strongly about and know from first hand what PTSD can do to a person.

I was relieved to see that they were going to get help for the Veteran’s that were on the program. I was also updated on some things I didn’t know about.

However, now once again I am compelled to write about how it affects people in everyday life. I guess that will be on the back burners for a while.

There is so much information to share in this world of our if we would just take the time to listen to one another and learn from the experiences of others. Instead we’ve become a society of ants scurrying around too busy in our lives to even notice what is going on around us.

The Chinese always relied on their proverbs and the wisdom of the elders. We could learn from those proverbs and from our own elders.

History has a way of repeating itself and that’s because no one listens to anyone. We could end wars, stop starving and all the crisis’ in the world if we’d just listen, learn and accept.

Well the thunder is rolling in so I am going to hurry along and finish this part. I will have to come back later for the disability page.

Let’s see what is happening in National Days.

National Days:

10 Lazy Day

No research was found in regards to this day however, it is recognized by some as the day that you can be lazy. Take time for yourself, rejuvenate your body and just sit back and relax. Today it is Lazy Day at our house. My son was off work early today as there wasn’t anything left for them to do so they sent them home early. I have been lazy all week due to an upset stomach and am just now feeling like I should be doing something. However, the weather isn’t going to cooperate with me either so if you lose me it’s not my fault.

Whatever you do today remember it’s your day to relax and have an excuse to do nothing that you don’t have to do. However, don’t use this day at work or it could create some problems for you.

10 National S’mores Day

S’mores Day

Even if you were never a Girl Scout you have surely enjoyed the deliciously decadent campfire treat, the S’more. Simply crafted from Graham crackers, marshmallows and chocolate, there is no better treat to top off a fun day at camp or even a rainy day at home.

The first recipe for the s’more was published in the 1927 Girl Scout Handbook, giving s’mores national attention. The origin is not known, but it is believed that the popular campfire dessert was simply born of convenience. All the ingredients were easy to transport while camping, and the presence of a campfire provided just the right vehicle to toast the marshmallow and warm the chocolate.

You can celebrate “S’mores Day” by letting your family make their own, outdoors over a campfire or indoors in the oven.

S’mores can also be done in the microwave so hurry out buy yourself graham crackers, Hershey’s chocolate bars, marshmallows and get ready for a wonderful treat.

Children love to make these and if you are not familiar with them there are plenty of how to do recipes on-line so just pick out your favorite one.

So enjoy the day being lazy and having a treat.

 

Well the storm is getting worse so I am going to close until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

