Friday Free Writing Prompt

#FWF Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario

This is a newly discovered blog for me thanks to my friend Sharla Shultz . I now hope to check on it weekly and follow the writing prompts as I find these a fun writing activity.

Welcome back to Free Write Friday! If you are new, feel free to read the intro. Otherwise, let’s get started! Here is your FWF prompt…

Time & Place Scenario

Goodnight on FairieSwampGarden (Photo credit: echoroo)

 

It’s after midnight. You find yourself in an eerie yet, magical swamp. You hear whispering and see flashes of light…

what happens? 

 

 

Suddenly I awoke as if from a dream, I am startled as I find myself in an eerie swamp. Little doI know of swamps as I was born in the Rocky Mountains and never chanced to be around swamps. How did I end up here? The last thing I remember was falling asleep dreaming about a Grandfather I had never met. He died when I was two. However, my mother told me his kin had come from the Blue Ridge Mountains and I wondered what that would be like. A different time, a different place than what I was familiar with. I had drifted of dreaming of him and now I had awakened somewhere else. How did I come to find myself in this place? Suddenly there were flashes of light zipping and sagging. They were moving in every direction I didnt know which way to go. The lights were small not like the large ones you had heard about from Space Ships. Suddenly I heard whispering. Whose there? I asked in a startled voice. Please help me! Can someone tell me where I am?  From out of the lights appeared miniature figures.  I rubbed my eyes as I thought I was still asleep. I looked again and they were still there, little people with wings. No this can’t be. They look like fairies but fairies aren’t real. Suddenly one approached me and started to speak. “Welcome to the FairieSwampGarden, “I am Princess Augustina who are you? I told her my name and asked how did I get here and where is here? Then she proceeded to tell me I wished myself here. What? How could I have wished myself anywhere? “Oh, my dear when you dream of the MagicalSwampGarden anything is possible,” she replied. But I wasn’t dreaming of it I was dreaming of my Grandfather. “Yes, my dear, but he has been here before and he brought you to us.” “There are very few people who know about this garden, so you are amongst the chosen.” “You will enjoy your time with us safely and when you leave this place it will only be a dream to you.” “We must keep our home a secret from outsiders,” replied the Princess. “But what if I wish to come back to visit?” I asked with a quivering voice. “Then all you have to do is follow your dream.” The Princess said as she disappeared into the midnight sky. Now it was quiet and I felt very much alone. I was left with a strange and eerie feeling.  There were no more lights, whispers or fairies. The next thing I knew I knew I suddenly sat up right and found myself back in my bedroom at home. I couldn’t remember anything except that I had fallen asleep thinking how I would have like to have met my Grandfather and known something about him. I started to move the blanket to get up, I found fairy dust on my bed, and there was a leave from a mangrove tree. Now how in the world did they get into my bed?

2 Responses

  1. Nice job, Janice–I enjoyed that. I love to write from prompts too–sold many stories to magazines and e-zines from prompts since I don’t have a great imagination. Give me a prompt and I’m off 🙂

    Micki

  2. Thanks Micki it was spur of the moment. I haven’t been doing any creative writing for a long time. I need to get back into the habit. I use to love doing it with the kids at school. I have to have an inspiration. That’s why I enjoy my poetry that is my creative writing now. I am going to do the Friday proms if I don’t forget. I hope you will join me. They are free and all you have to do is post on your own wall.

Leave a Reply

