August 15th

Good morning world. Today is a grey day out there. Mostly from the smoke of all the forest fires that surround us. I hope that today the dry lightning will move out and end the chance of any new fires that might start. My prayers go daily with those fighting the fires and their families. My prayers are with those loosing homes, property, and animals. May God protect you all.

We lost one fire fighter on Sunday. She was only twenty. She loved fighting fires but a tree fell on her and took her from us. My prayers go out to her family. I pray that you find peace and comfort at this horrible time of loss.

I hope that everyone will be thoughtful of the many animals that are getting separated from their homes and owners, and the wild ones running free not knowing where to go. This is a time to be careful of animals who fear for their lives.

I read an article one day that said, ” If I knew how to do a good rain dance I would do  it.” Maybe we all need to attempt that whether we know or not for this year the fires are destroying our beautiful land. The devastation will be horrific and with it will come erosion, mudslides and many other types of problems.

It definitely is a time for the “Power of Prayer.”

Well my prayer for today is for rain without lightning. Lots and lots of rain. Yes Lord, I hate rain but please we need it now. I am asking you to send lots and lots of rain our way. This is not something I ask lightly but when I do you know I am serious. Thank you in Christ’s name. Amen.

Now to change the subject. Today I wish to write about a personal note. Today is the day I married forty-one years ago. It was a bright sunny summer’s day and I had my whole life ahead of me. Friends and family attended a modestly small wedding in my hometown of Butte, Montana. I married my best friend, my companion, my lover, my high school sweetheart. We had been through seven years together before marriage. My parents liked him and I got along with his parents. What could possibly go wrong?

We were considered the perfect pair. All our friends from high school and college said so. We never fought, we were happy and we were moving forward in our life. The perfect couple.

Then what could possibly go wrong?

We both were teachers with our careers ahead of us. We started a family and had a perfect baby who ate and slept and life was grand. We bought our first car, our first home and had a steady income.

Then what could possibly go wrong?

We decided to have another child as I didn’t want them to far apart and we had a second boy who had colic and cried through the night and day and never slept and everything went wrong. Now I had a two-year old and a fussy baby. My husband was gone most of the time as he chaperoned the band on their trips.

I was exhausted all the time and he thought I was crazy. He didn’t understand that their was something wrong.

Now he was angry because his new baby wouldn’t go to him. For one year the only other person my baby would go to was my mother.
My husband felt rejected by his own son. Thankfully after his first year that went away and things started to get better or so I thought.

So what could possibly go wrong?

Now we had our home, car, careers, two beautiful boys and attended church and had family and friends.

What could  possibly go wrong?

We ended up moving to another town and my husband wasn’t able to find a teaching job. I began to suspect that he had something in his file from his past employer that interfered with future employment. Now he would pick up any work he could get to support the family. He finally ended up working in the evenings and I rarely saw him as I went back to teaching to help out.

What could possibly go wrong?

Now the kids were getting older and ready to start school and rules were changing at home. I was the disciplinarian as I was with them the majority of the time.

On my husbands days off Friday and Saturday he would try to have fun with the kids and be the good parent.

What could possibly go wrong?

I found my life drifting away from my best friend, my sweetheart, my husband, my lover. Now we rarely had anything in common and rarely talked.

I missed him and I wanted him back.

What could possibly go wrong?

I tried to talk to him and even told him I’d move away anywhere to make things better but I wanted him on days so we could be together.

Now he had started to stop at the bar on the way home after work. His excuse was everyone was in bed and he didn’t like coming home to an empty house. But that wasn’t the reason. I never went to bed before he came home. I always waited for him and he sent me to bed once I got home. I was rejected. He had gone and had his social time with buddies while I stayed at home being the good wife.

What could possibly go wrong?

One night I was awaken in my sleep to hands running through my hair. My husband was sound asleep but talking in his sleep. He was calling out another women’s name as his hands slipped through my hair. I was horrified. He had never liked running fingers through my hair nor allowing me to do that to him.

I wanted to hit him and wake him up but I was afraid of waking the boys up. I chose to think on it and not react right away.

What could possibly go wrong?

Shortly after the night episode I would catch him in a lie when he came home late a night he needed to take me to the bus. I was doing a craft show out-of-town that weekend. I had called his work to see if he was there and he had left on time. Two hours later he arrived at home lying once again about overtime.

I confronted him and had him take me to the bus.
Now he had a weekend to think about what to do. I went to my sister’s and saw my parents along the way. Returning I saw my parents once again.

What could possibly go wrong?

Upon returning home a friend picked my boys and me up from the bus and took us home. One hour after I was home my mother called telling me my father had dropped dead after we left. Now everything was wrong.

I called my husband at work and asked him to come home to help me with the boys as they were ten and twelve years old now and very close to their grandfather. He refused until I threatened to send the sheriff for him.

We went home buried my father. He returned and I stayed for a week.

What could possibly go wrong?

Upon returning home I was lost and needed comfort but there was none. I found my husband had straightened up all his clothes in the closet and in his dresser. He didn’t want anything out-of-place. He had removed any evidence that could be used against him.

What could possibly go wrong?

Fifteen years of marriage, four years together before marriage, friends in high school and now I was facing a divorce.

Everything that could go wrong did go wrong.  I went through Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome and even though the doctors say I’m over it I’m not. There are still moments when it appears its ugly head.

I went through difficult times with the boys, I lost everything. I remarried and ended up in a domestic abuse situation. I divorced immediately I remarried a third time only to be abandoned and have all our money stolen. I won’t remarry again.

The reason I am writing this is not for anyone’s sympathy because now I am fine except for one thing.

I have never had closure with my first husband and he is the only husband that counts.

To this day I think of him as my husband, my best friend, my high school sweetheart, my lover, the father of my children.

I will always consider him my one and only husband. Marriage is for life. We married in the church. The vows said for better and worst till death do you part. We had children together. He is the only man I have had children with. He is the only man who counted as my husband.

When you life is ripped apart like mine was it leaves a whole in your heart that cannot be filled. Now I chose to be alone.

However, this day would have been our anniversary and it has been hard on me every year since 1986 when we divorced.

The only thing good about this day is it is two days before my birthday and my best friend is taking me out for dinner tonight so I will celebrate my birthday and forget the past. However, I know in my heart there is a man in another state remembering this day forty-one years ago. It was a happy day and he took that happiness away from me.

You can sign divorce papers, remove wedding bands, and remove a person from your life but you cannot remove past memories. You are affected by them forever. That is what is difficult for other people to understand.

Our society needs to understand for every action there is a reaction. For every person you come in contact with you touch their life forever whether it is for the good or the bad. That is why it is so important that one is truly ready with unconditional love before they make a commitment to another.  I have loved, I have lost, and I have learned. Now I grow in wisdom.

Now let’s check out our National Days as I am not a National Holiday. 🙂

National Days:

Yesterday I was not able to post as my internet was down so I will include the 14th with the 15th

14 National Creamsicle Day

August 14, 2012 was

National Creamsicle Day

It’s National Creamsicle Day! This enjoyable frozen treat is the perfect way to sit back, relax, and cool down on a hot August day. The combination of vanilla cream and fruity ice is pure genius!

Creamsicles are not hard to find, but they are also easy to make at home. Mix together fruit juice and vanilla ice cream in a large bowl. Then, gradually add milk and continue to mix. Finally, pour the mixture into small paper cups and place them in the freezer. Once they are partially frozen, insert popsicle sticks into them and place them back inside the freezer. When they are frozen solid, peel off the paper cups and enjoy the creamsicle! Happy National Creamsicle Day!

14/15 V-J Day – which date do you mark the end of WWII?

On August 14, 1945, it was announced that Japan had surrendered unconditionally to the Allies, effectively ending World War II. Since then, both August 14 and August 15 have been known as “Victory over Japan Day,” or simply “V-J Day.” The term has also been used for September 2, 1945, when Japan’s formal surrender took place aboard the U.S.S. Missouri, anchored in Tokyo Bay. Coming several months after the surrender of Nazi Germany, Japan’s capitulation in the Pacific brought six years of hostilities to a final and highly anticipated close.

 

15 Relaxation Day – now this one’s for me!

National Relaxation Day

It’s National Relaxation Day! Today we live in a very fast-paced world that is often stressful and overwhelming. National Relaxation Day is all about taking a step back to unwind and decompress.

Although a certain amount of stress is normal, too much of it can be harmful to your physical and mental health. Take care of yourself today. Read a book, get a massage, watch a movie, go for a long walk, or take a nap. No matter what you choose to do, just remember to take it easy, even if it’s only for a few minutes. Happy National Relaxation Day!

 

Lemon Meringue Pie Day

This was an all time favorite of my mom only she always got mad if the meringue wept. However, it always tasted wonderful. We lived at a very high altitude and that and the barometric pressure had a lot to do with baking. However, mom was a wonderful cook and I always enjoyed eating what she made. Here is a recipe I found on-line so enjoy a great desert today. If you want more information follow the link at the bottom.

 

Lemon Meringue Pie

  • 1-1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 cups water
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • zest from 1 medium lemon
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (juice from 1-1/2 medium lemons)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 baked, cooled 9-inch pie shell

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Combine the sugar, flour, salt and water in a heavy saucepan. Stir constantly over medium-high heat until mixture boils. Boil, stirring constantly and vigorously, for 1 minute. (A long-handled spoon to stir with really helps here to get you back from the heat.) Remove from heat.

Slightly beat the egg yolks in a bowl with a fork. Mix about one-third of the boiled mixture with the egg yolks; then pour the egg yolk mixture back into the pan with the boiled ingredients, and cook for 1 more minute, stirring constantly and, again, vigorously. Remove from heat, and add the butter.

Add the lemon zest and lemon juice. Stir to mix thoroughly.

Pour into cooled, baked 9-inch pie crust and top with meringue (recipes follow), sealing meringue to edge of pastry. Bake in a 350°F oven 12 to 15 minutes or until nicely browned. Makes one pie.

Prep time: 35 minutes; Cooking time: 15 minutes; Total time: 50 minutes

Meringue

  • 3 egg whites, at room temperature
  • 6 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

Beat the egg whites at high-speed with an electric mixer until soft peaks form. With mixer running, add the cream of tartar, then gradually add the sugar, a tablespoon at a time, and beat until stiff peaks form. Beat in the vanilla.

Pile atop pie, and bake at 350°F for 12 to 15 minutes, or until lightly browned.

Pie Notes

 

Unlike many lemon meringue pie recipes, our does not use corn starch. This recipe instead uses flour which we believe gives it a smoother texture.

Be sure to seal the meringue to the pastry edge when spreading it on your pie. To minimize “weeping”, spread the meringue on the pie filling while the filling is hot. Also, remember that meringue pies cut better with a wet knife blade. We talk more in-depth about the meringue for this recipe in our post Secrets to Good Meringue.

http://www.texascooking.com/recipes/lemon-meringue-pie.htm

 

Well not that I’ve written almost a book here I think it’s time for me to go so until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

