August 16th

Hello everyone. I hope that your day is as sunny and bright as mine is. I see that it will be another warm day today although there is a slight breeze outside.

The days are getting longer and the nights are getting shorter. Last night I went to dinner with my best friend. We always take each other out for our birthday. My birthday isn’t until Friday but her work schedule is difficult and I need to work around my family so we went out early. Dinner was great but I ate way too much and I may not eat today. I am still full. I had barely returned home when my sister called long distance of course.

I had a few minutes to chat with her before her husband returned with their very active granddaughters. She also was saying how she hates the nights getting shorter and shorter and how early it is now getting dark, of course she lives in the Rocky Mountains so it gets dark earlier there.

It’s sad to think of summer coming to an end and school starting but it is nice to have enjoyable seasons. I don’t think I could live where there weren’t four seasons.

Friday I don’t know if I will have a chance to post as I have already been invited out to lunch by a friend who owns her own restaurant. I am going to take advantage of that as I haven’t been able to see her since her husband suddenly passed away. I look forward towards the visit with her but after this week I know I am going to have to exercise and diet.

Now I am thinking about all those getting ready for going back to school and I am very relieved that I can stay home, enjoy my cats and work on my books. However, with summer ending I also know that my son’s job will be ending and that will bring another challenge for us. I hate the thought of more unemployment.

I am hoping that a door opens for him after his summer of hard work.  He of course will be able to work through harvest but winter can be a long time without work.

However,  for now we will certainly count our blessings and be thankful for what we have.

Well let’s see what is in store for us for the National Days.

National Days:

16 National Tell a Joke Day

Oh boy this could make for an interesting day right off the bat. I remember the first joke my oldest son ever told. We were at a friend’s house for dinner and he was about four years old. Right in the middle of dinner he said, ” I know a dirty joke.”  We all looked at each other and I was holding by breath wondering what was going to come out of his mouth next as he didn’t hear things like that at home. Before I could say anything he said, “The pig fell in the mud.” Everyone laughed with much relief and he was so proud of himself for being able to tell a joke. I to this day don’t know where he learned that.

The jokes that I remember from being a child were ones like “What did the big chimney say to the little chimney?”  answer “Your too young to smoke?”

Growing up we always had the moron jokes and we were to understand that meaning and back then it wouldn’t have been politically incorrect.  We just thought of a moron as someone stupid lacking common sense.

We told moron jokes all the time such as ” Why did the moron take a ladder to school?”  answer “He wanted to attend high school.”

However, my favorite joke was the one I learned out camping in the dark.

“It floats”.  While sitting in the dark with the flash lights and telling ghost stories someone decided to tell this joke. It started out with a man walking in the forest by the river after a day of fishing. While he was walking he suddenly heard a sound. He stopped to listen and he heard a whisper saying “It floats,” he thought he was hearing something and continued to walk on his way when he heard another sound. Once again he stopped to listen, now a little louder he heard “It Floats.” Now become someone surprised by this he called out whose there. No one answered so he walked further down the stream. Once again he hears a noise and stops now somewhat trembling.  A louder voice shouts “IT FLOATS.” By this time he is shaking and decides he’s had enough. He shouts back ” WHAT FLOATS!”  Now by this time everyone listening is on edge of what’s going to happen. Suddenly a voice replies in a calm voice “IVORY SOAP FLOATS.”  Of course we were young and thought it was pretty funny.

The moral to the story is don’t be afraid of what you don’t know and don’t let your imagination get the best of you.

Today, will be a fun-filled day, with lots of laughter. To fully participate and enjoy this day, just tell some jokes. You can do it in person, or pass along a few humorous emails. That’s easy enough to do. The more jokes you tell, the more fun this day will be. We also encourage you to listen to many jokes today.

 

National Airborne Day

George W. Bush, President of the United States of America, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the United States, do hereby proclaim August 16, 2002, as National Airborne Day. As we commemorate the first official Army parachute jump on August 16, 1940, I encourage all Americans to join me in honoring the thousands of soldiers, past and present, who have served in an airborne capacity. I call upon all citizens to observe this day with appropriate programs, ceremonies, and activities.

Let us give thanks to all of those airborne troops that are fighting to protect freedom and liberty around the world. Help out a military family. Say thanks honor them with hiring them and showing your appreciation.

Elvis Presley Commemoration Day

Who can forget that fateful day in 1977 when we heard the news of Elvis Presley’s death? Today marks the 35th anniversary of that sad day, as we remember and honor “The King.” His popularity remains strong today — his Facebook page has more than 6.5 million likes and in 1992, the U.S. Postal Service honored him with his own stamp.

Let’s all celebrate together by reminiscing with some little known Elvis trivia.

* Elvis was a black belt in karate.

* Elvis’ entourage was known as the “Memphis Mafia.”

* Although Elvis recorded more than 600 songs, he wrote none of them.

* Elvis was a direct descendent of Abraham Lincoln’s great-great grandfather and a distant cousin to Jimmy Carter.

 

I grew up during the Elvis craze and like any teenage girl I had posters all over my bedroom. I listened to all his music and loved to watch all of his shows. My kids even grew up watching his old movies. Every generation has been touched by the King of Rock.

However, when he passed away I was angry. I was angry over the amount of pills that were being pumped into his body everyday. Pills to walk up pills to go to sleep pills to make it through the day. What kind of life is that. I looked at him through different eyes. I was saddened at his passing but I was disappointed not only in him but in a world that would put those kinds of demands on a person to turn them into a pill cushion. No one can survive like that and be happy. My heart went out to his family members. It made me think about the starts who had gone before him like Judy Garland and Marilyn Monroe and I still think about the more recent stars such as Whitney Houston , Michael Jackson and others who continue to die at an early age usually with drugs and pills.  It seems to me that there is something dreadfully wrong with the industry if they can’t help protect these people from a horrific fate. My parents always told me if you don’t have health you have nothing. All the money and fame in the world isn’t important when you are dead.

I am saddened that stars don’t just walk away from a world that makes their live so unbearable. I know there are many other issues in a persons private life but I feel we as fans and a society need to know when to back of not demand and appreciate them. Even stars need privacy and time off. I am sickened by the paparazzi who not only interfere but cause accidents.

We don’t have a right to sell anyone’s soul. I hope that eventually there will be some new standards set to help protect those who have chosen to bring happiness into our homes. We need to protect them not abuse them.

August 16, 2012 is

Bratwurst Day

Today is Bratwurst Day! Bratwurst is a heavily spiced sausage, usually enjoyed on a roll with mustard or by itself with a side of sauerkraut. The term “bratwurst” is a compound of two German words—“braten,” which means “to fry” and “wurst,” which means “sausage.”

Bratwurst originated in Germany and have been around since the 14th century. These sausages are generally made from pork, veal, or beef. Truly dedicated fans can attend the annual Bucyrus Bratwurst Festival in Ohio to celebrate this historical dish.

Today, grab a “brat” in honor of Bratwurst Day. Don’t forget to wash it down with some beer!

 

So today invite an airborne friend over for dinner enjoy Bratwurst and beer while you tell jokes and enjoy the day.

Whatever you decide to do today it should be a relaxing enjoyable day.

So until next time 🙂

 

 

4 Responses

  1. I love that it’s tell a joke day. Means we should all be smiling.

  2. I wish I knew earlier it was “tell a joke day”. No one here to listen now except my cat and he has a limited sense of humor. Great post!!

    • Micki you can always catch up during the week on “tell a joke day”. Practice on your cat and you will be ready or post some jokes on your blog site or fb. What ever you do have a smile and thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

