August 17th

Hello everyone. 🙂 I am going to have to make this quick and short. Today is my birthday and I have a lot to do. I plan to go to lunch with a friend.

However, I wanted to leave the information for today.

I hope everyone has had a good week and will look forward to a wonderful weekend. Keep smiling as long as you can as that is what life should be about.

National Days:

17 National Thrift Shop Day

August 17th is National Thrift Shop Day, sometimes referred to as National Thrift Store Day. No matter what you call it, this annual “holiday” raises awareness about the ginormous value of second-hand shops. While the origins of this particular holiday are unknown, who needs an excuse to go shopping for a great deal?

Today with our economy as poor as it is we need to be thrifty. I remember when I started shopping at thrift stores and how it soon became an adventure to see what treasures could be found cheaply.

However, prices have reason even there and it has become harder to find those wonderful bargains that you once found. However, a wise shopper can still beat store prices.

I have learned to barter more than I use to. If I don’t have it to spend I don’t have it and I will ask them if they will take less.  Sometimes they do and sometimes they can’t it all depends on how long it’s sat there.

However, with high heats this summer yard selling has been more difficult and the thrift shops should not be stocked with the left overs.

It’s a great time for back to school shopping. They have many usable school supplies in addition to school clothes.

Maybe today I’ll swing by and take a look after lunch.

 

August 17, 2012 is

National Vanilla Custard Day

Today is National Vanilla Custard Day! Vanilla custard is a sweet pudding-like dish made with vanilla, eggs, sugar, and milk. It can be enjoyed on its own or as a topping for other desserts.

Vanilla custard has been around since the Middle Ages, and was traditionally used as a pie filling. (A very simple custard tart was a popular dessert during that time period.) Today, custard is an important component in many dessert recipes including éclairs, trifle, and Boston cream pie.

To celebrate National Vanilla Custard Day, whip up your favorite homemade custard dessert to share with friends and family. Enjoy!

Well that’s it for today and I am going to have to run so until next time:)

8 Responses

  1. Happy Birthday–have a great day and many more!!!

  2. Happy belated Birthday! I’m sorry I missed it!!! – I hope you enjoyed your day. May all your wishes come true.

  3. Hope you had a wonderful Birthday celebration. I’ve fallen behind on my reading. Sorry I missed National Custard day too. 😦

  4. Thanks I plan to 🙂

Leave a Reply

