August 26th

Today here it is sunny and beautiful. A gentle warm breeze and the temperatures rising.

I would like to ask everyone to say a prayer for those being affected by Hurricane Isaac. We wish safety to all out their. I will follow-up on this when I have more news.

Last night I lost most of my television stations so I was not able to watch the news or any movies. Then by midnight when it was time to go to bed they were back on figure that one out.

I don’t know why I lost only have of my channels. This has happened a couple of times and it is usually on a Saturday. I wish they’d get it figured out though.  Saturday night is when I like to kick back and watch a good movie.

So I ended up putting in the second Harry Potter movie and watching it again. I hadn’t seen it for a while so I figured it was a good time and it kept me occupied.

My son was attacking the garage yesterday which is also known as his “Man Cave” and I knew I wasn’t going anywhere that disaster.

What is it about men and garages? I have yet to find one kept organized. My garage had almost nothing in it and was clean until my son moved in, now it’s a women’s nightmare.

Sure glad I didn’t want to go anywhere this morning cause I couldn’t have even gotten to my car. I sure hope he plans to finish it today.

I guess it’s time for mom’s law to kick in once more.

The cats were wild all night because they couldn’t figure out why he wasn’t coming in the house. I had one hour of sleep. I finally after breakfast gave up and went back to bed and got some much-needed rest.

Now the cats are sleeping away and I’m the only one up. Gee what a weekend.

Well let’s see what the nation has for today’s special days.

National Days:

26 National Dog Day

August 26, 2012 is

National Dog Day

Today is National Dog Day! Dogs have been “man’s best friend” for over 15,000 years. We rely on our wonderful canine companions to keep us safe, bring us comfort, and love us unconditionally. National Dog Day is our opportunity to show our deep appreciation for these remarkable animals and to find homes for all of the dogs in need of a loving family.

To celebrate National Dog Day, adopt a dog from your local shelter, organize a play date for all the dogs in your neighborhood, or treat your dog to a new toy. Check out the official Dog Day website for more ideas!

 

Picachu - adopted from PACC

August 26 is National Dog Day. Hot dog!  Who knew?

Here are some random thoughts about dogs…

Favorite Dog Quotes

“Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.” ~ Roger Caras

“A dog is the only one who loves you more than he loves himself.” ~ Josh Billings

“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.” ~ Will Rogers

Today make your day about dogs. Take your dog for walk, play ball in the yard, throw the frisbee, give your dog some treats or sit back and watch your favorite dog movies. There are so many good dog movies that I can’t list them all. However, the first two that I remember growing up was of course Old Yeller and Lady and the Tramp. Two classics to be remembered forever. Now when I want my funny bone tickled I like to watch “Snow Dogs”. How funny is that movie. Yet, there are so many more that I love. I no longer have a dog to care for and my cats have to yield to my dog movies but I still have my love for dogs.

I was fortunate to have a father who loved dogs and taught us how to raise, train and love animals.

 

August 26, 2012 is

 

There is nothing more special in a child’s life than growing up with a dog. Thank God for dogs.

So today celebrate man’s best friend enjoy National Dog Day.

 

26 Women’s Equality Day

 

File:19th Amendment Pg1of1 AC.jpg

 

At the behest of Rep. Bella Abzug (D-NY), in 1971 the U.S. Congress designated August 26 as “Women’s Equality Day.”

The date was selected to commemorate the 1920 passage of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, granting women the right to vote. This was the culmination of a massive, peaceful civil rights movement by women that had its formal beginnings in 1848 at the world’s first women’s rights convention, in Seneca Falls, New York.

The observance of Women’s Equality Day not only commemorates the passage of the 19th Amendment, but also calls attention to women’s continuing efforts toward full equality. Workplaces, libraries, organizations, and public facilities now participate with Women’s Equality Day programs, displays, video showings, or other activities.

for more information go to : http://www.nwhp.org/resourcecenter/equalityday.php

I hope that all women around will understand how much was given up  for women to earn this right to vote. I ask that all women realize this is not a privilege without pain and agony of women from the past.  We owe it to all women who never were allowed to be heard to make sure that doesn’t happen every again. It is the duty of every women to take this responsibility seriously.  It is the duty of every women to vote for who she thinks is the best candidate.

There are many women around the world who still are not allowed to vote or be heard. We are an example for all women.

This year as elections for president come around please make sure you use this privilege and take it serious remembering those who sacrificed for all of us to be able to do so. Let us no longer be second class citizens.

National Cherry Popsicle Day

It’s National Cherry Popsicle Day! According to legend, an eleven-year-old boy named Frank Epperson accidentally invented the popsicle in 1905. He was stirring up a soft drink when he got distracted and left the cup and the stirring stick out on his front porch overnight. The next morning he discovered a delicious frozen treat with a convenient stick handle!

Nowadays, popsicles are quite a fashionable dessert. Today we celebrate the classic cherry-flavored variety, but that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Gourmet popsicle shops turn out dozens of unique flavors—avocado, hibiscus, chai, cranberry cosmopolitan, cucumber-jalapeño, and many more.

To celebrate National Cherry Popsicle Day, make your own homemade popsicles! Team up with some friends to invent a totally unique flavor or put a twist on a classic.

 

Today is a wonderful day for celebrate man’s best friend and a favorite summer’s treat. There is nothing more enjoyable than a popsicle on a hot summers day, even the dogs like them.

So enjoy your day and until next time 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

