August 28th

Everyday is filled with surprise. Some good and some bad.

When I get up every morning I thank God that I have one more day that I have woke up.

Then I look out my window and if the sun is shining I thank God for the sunshine.

Then I as the Lord to help my on my journey through the day as I know not what is ahead of me.

Today I really needed God at my side as I opened my email to read before blogging.

In the 84 emails that I had I spotted my aunt’s name. Next to it I spotted my cousin’s name. I knew immediately something was wrong. I don’t hear from my aunt often since her stroke.  I proceeded to go straight to her email skipping everything else along the way.

My heart was crushed as I read that my cousin was taken off of life support on Sunday. She either had a massive stroke or a blood clot. This cousin is younger than I am and would be in her 50’s. She was a surprise baby. Her parents had already raised their family and were surprised later in life with this bundle of joy. Being the youngest in the family we would never have expected her to go ahead of her siblings.

I am devastated. I didn’t see her after I left home as the distance kept us apart. However, she was a special part of my growing up years as they would come and visit every summer. She liked to ride the roller coaster and her dad would be a whole roll of tickets and we’d ride until I begged to stop. I don’t think she ever would have stopped.

She was this happy bundle of fun. There were times when I considered her the pest because of the age difference but family is family and I loved her pest or not.

Just in the last few years we had connected again. I didn’t hear from her often but occasionally on Facebook or an email we kept in touch.

Now my heart is broken knowing my baby cousin is no longer with us.

We reach an age in our life where we start to see friends and family leave before us. It becomes a rather frightening feeling as you know your clock is ticking away and you aren’t sure how much more time you have left.

It’s like a cruel joke being played on you especially when younger ones go first.

It kind of gives you the feeling of playing Russian roulette. You wonder whose going to get it next but you certainly don’t want to know.

I called my sister today to make sure that she knew because she can go for weeks without checking her email and of course she hadn’t opened her computer.

Then I find out that my brother-in-law left yesterday for the lake to meet people who didn’t show up. He was off by himself and she was home alone when the big wind storm hit her place. She was without power for a couple of hours having to find candles to light the  house. Now normally I wouldn’t be worried about her as she’s always taken care of herself however, she was just recently in the emergency room because of hip pain and she couldn’t stand or walk. She’s now using a walker and on pain pills. Not a good time to be left alone.

Then they wonder why all my hair is falling out. I can’t keep up with anyone and as they get older they get more stubborn and don’t listen to anyone. I call her weekly now to check on her. She is the only sister I have and is four years older than me.

Everyone has problems in their own life but some days are just harder than others and you wonder why you got out of bed.

I couldn’t sleep last night. I was up every hour. Then I cancelled my doctor’s appointment because I was too tired to go.

After looking at my email I was glad I didn’t go. Now I have to reschedule. Oh well another day and we’ll survive.

So that’s why I’m not getting around to my blog today until three in the afternoon. I just couldn’t get myself to do anything after that.

But it’s time to shake it off and move forward.

Let’s see what’s happening in the National Days:

National Days:

28 Race Your Mouse Day

Well, the folks at Wellcat.com, who created this day, want you to race your mouse around the icons on your screen. They suggest you do so while waiting for “whatever it is you’re waiting for to come up on the screen”.

Let the race begin…………Happy Race Your Mouse Day

Dream Day – Dr. King

On Aug. 28, 1963, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. delivered his “I Have a Dream” speech at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington. Considered to be one of the greatest political speeches of all time, Dr. King inspired peace and hope in the hearts of civil rights activists around the globe.

Today is “Dream Day” in commemoration of that historic speech. You can celebrate by reading the words of this awesome document and vowing to live your life free of hatred and prejudice.

National Bow Tie Day

First there was planking, then Tebowing, and now … bow tying? Yep, that’s right! Aug. 28 is “National Bow Tie Day” and bow tie-sporters all over the world will be tying up their bows in celebration. Currently Dhani Jones, former University of Michigan and NFL linebacker, holds the Recordsetter World Record for bow tying. As part of a fundraiser for young adults with cancer, Dhani tied a bow tie in just 13.59 seconds!

 

August 28, 2011 was

National Cherry Turnover Day

It’s National Cherry Turnover Day! Turnovers are a delicious pastry that can be enjoyed for breakfast or dessert. They originated in ancient times and are classified as “portable pies.” Other dishes in this culinary family include pasties, empanadas, and spring rolls.

A traditional cherry turnover recipe calls for puff pastry, which is stuffed with a gooey cherry filling and then baked until golden brown. There are many variations on this classic treat though. Some recipes call for cream cheese, extra lemon juice, or even ice cream.

To celebrate National Cherry Turnover Day, bake your own homemade cherry turnovers to share with friends and family! Bon appétit!

 

Well today you can be thankful for what you have. You can race your mouse or race to tie your bow tie. You can dream today or you can enjoy a delicious easy treat of turnovers. Many of you may do all of them.

Today is another day for enjoyment so enjoy what’s left of it while you can.

So until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

