August 29th

Well the sun is out again today. It is going to be breezy. The month of August is almost over and with it ends our summer’s activities for the most part. Every time a season ends with it ends a chapter in a person’s life. I didn’t get to do half of what I planned to because of the heat but I did accomplish my marketing and writing goals and even surpassed my expectations.

Now it is time to set new goals for the fall and what I plan to challenge myself. I have already made up my mind to start socializing every month. I will try to go to a social activity at least once or twice a month and I will attempt as many guest presentations on writing that I can schedule as health and weather allows me to do.

I will continue to mentor my senior on her senior writing project this year. I will also try to get my books into the school libraries now that they are in the public libraries.

I will soon be finishing my book on “Coming of Age in the Rockies” The Rebel years. It’s in its final stages now.

I need to get working on my book “The Cat in the Box.” It will be a combination of stories and poetry. However, my cats aren’t cooperating. I’ve been trying to take pictures of them for the book but they act like “Oh no we’ve been caught.” They stop what they are doing and walk away as soon as I pull out the camera. Really, how do people get such wonderful cat pictures. My cats don’t cooperate.

I will continue to work on the art of taking cat pictures and when they least suspect it I will get them. I am determined.

I will spend most of my time working on “Secrets Behind Closed Doors,” my forty-year journey of teaching. It has already been started but I have been waiting to finish my current book.

Then I will try my had at a book in progress, my first romance story. “A Heart Broken ” A Twist of Love.

I hope that with fall starting people will think of ordering books for Christmas presents. They make such a wonderful gift especially for that person who has everything or that hard to buy for person. You can never have too many books. Order early because the printers get very busy from here on with their printing books for the holidays.

Well my cats decided to go to sleep since I pulled out the camera so it’s quiet for now and no pictures.  I guess that means its time to check out the nations days.

Nations Days:

29 More Herbs, Less Salt Day

More Herbs, Less Salt Day

Today’s a great day for all of us intending to live a healthier lifestyle. We can start by celebrating “More Herbs, Less Salt Day” and swapping out our salt shakers for herbs like thyme, basil and oregano. The consumption of salt has been linked to heart disease and high blood pressure, and as little as two teaspoons a day may increase a person’s risk of stroke.

You can make your own herbal blend to use as a salt substitute by combining specific herbs and seasonings that you prefer. Some that work well are cayenne pepper, garlic powder, sage, thyme, oregano, basil, onion powder and black pepper. Experiment with different combinations in varying amounts until you find one that works well for you. Keep in mind that many herbs are also believed to be helpful in fighting cancer.

International Day against Nuclear Tests

Since the first nuclear weapons test in 1945 there have been nearly 2,000 more. Due to their devastating effects on human populations and our environment, many people have sought to put an end to nuclear testing once and for all. On Dec. 2, 2009, the 64th session of the United Nations General Assembly designated Aug. 29 as the “International Day against Nuclear Tests.” In recognition of this important day, you can call or write your elected officials to let them know how you feel about this controversial issue.

 

On Aug. 29, 1964, Walt Disney released the timeless classic “Mary Poppins.” Starring Dick Van Dyke and Julie Andrews, it still remains a favorite of parents and children the world over.

August 29, 2012 is

Chop Suey Day

Today is Chop Suey Day! No one really knows where this Chinese-American dish originated. Some say that Chinese immigrants created the dish after arriving in America, while others insist that the dish is traditionally Chinese. Either way, chop suey is now a staple on many Chinese restaurant menus across the country.

So, what exactly is chop suey? It is a stir fry made with a hodgepodge of ingredients like egg, meat, and vegetables. In fact, the name “chop suey” comes from a Cantonese word meaning “odds and ends.” The dish is traditionally served with rice or noodles to soak up all the delicious flavors.

Today, head to your favorite Chinese restaurant and order some delicious chop suey to celebrate Chop Suey Day. Enjoy!

 

Today is National Lemon Juice Day.  Who doesn’t like that nice clean smell of lemons or a fresh squeeze of lemon on your fish and chips?  Cut a lemon and put it in your water to make it taste fresh, then throw the lemon down the garbage disposal to help it stay fresh smelling.
Perfect time to enjoy it on some good cooked fish. Growing up we always put lemon juice on the trout that we had caught. It enhanced a wonderful flavor. More and more people are using lemon for household cleaning and zing flavors in food. For more information look up uses for Lemon Juice. However, you enjoy it today is your day.
Well that’s it for today so until next time 🙂

 

 

2 Responses

  1. Hi Janice, Interesting post today as usual–I don’t always get time t post a comment but I do enjoy reading them. ! have to cut salt way low and I find ways to make my food delicious without it. Thanks for the tip.

    Micki

  2. Hi Micki I’m not suppose to eat salt at all and I find it a challenge as everything you buy from the store has sodium in it. I have cut way down on what I was eating and I even have my sons reading labels now. They are amazed at the sodium content on labels. I have been watching The Chew and some other cooking shows and they have shown how to substitute salt with herbs. I’ve never known how to cook with herbs but I would like to do more of that. I am learning a little bit more each day. I wish you the best with your busy schedule.

Leave a Reply

