August 30th

I woke up this morning to grey skies, aching bones, tears in my eyes and wanting to push back time.

I wondered if today was my cousin’s funeral as they are in Washington and I can’t attend and don’t know the particulars. Last night I looked on her Facebook page and saw her older sister ,who was the youngest until she was born, posted “My heart is breaking,” I miss you sis.

It is hard to understand why she would leave us so young and full of life. Her family has longevity and all her siblings are still alive so why her why now?

It is always hard to loose someone but when you see those younger than you passing before it becomes somewhat haunting.

I use to think of her as the little pest, I had to look out for her when she visited and she was just enough younger than me that I couldn’t help feel that way. But right now I would give anything to have her back and be at my side.

I always hate the end of August. It is the closing of a chapter in your life a season has passed and will never be the same again. As we get older we don’t like to talk about the fall of our years because the reality is that we are now past the spring, the summer and the fall and we are living in the final days of our winter not knowing how long we will have.

My mother had a large family there were thirteen born children, eleven lived to adulthood. They were strung out all over the United States. It made it difficult to know all of them closely. However, the family is a very tight knit family.

Having attended the only family reunion that was ever had it was interesting to meet all of the generations of family. It is a huge family with an abundance of love.

They were more outgoing than my father’s family. My father’s family had four living children one stillborn son. All of them lived into their eighties except my father who died at sixty nine.  We lived in the same town with my father’s family and it was a close knit group with lots of love although more private.

We live in a time of mobility now when families are spread all over and it is so difficult to get back to see those you love or to attend funerals all over the states especially in this economy. However, that just makes the heart ache more.

I remember when my mother passed away everyone of her siblings who could attend were there and it was amazing they came from all over. It meant the world to me.

I will be calling my aunt this weekend and checking on her as her health isn’t good and I know that this has broken her heart. She was close to her niece as they lived close by.

I will be sending a letter off to my cousin’s daughter and letting her know that I am here for her.

I wish the sun had shone today it would have made it a much easier day. I always relate grey skies, and rain with funerals.

Well the best thing one can do is to share happy memories of our loved ones and I plan to do that when I write my letter.

Love journeys on in our heart.  So as the dove flies through the sky I will look to the heaven’s and I will know that burst of light that shines through is the smile on Deborah’s face as she looks down on all of us. For her new journey has begun and one day we will meet again.:)

I want to talk a minute about employment. This country talks about economy and employment however no one addresses job ethics. I have been observing over the past few years how many people are being let go because of age, and salary not because of work abilities.  When you live in a right to work state they don’t need a reason to let you go. Therefore they let those go who have families and make more money and keep the younger ones who make less.

My son worked a job this summer where he showed up everyday early and never missed work. He not only did his work but he cleaned up the equipment that his co-worker left unattended. His co-worker took a week off for a family vacation. Then he would call in sick or go home sick on days when he didn’t like the weather. He was always pulling stunts on my son and trying to get him to do the dirty work instead of equally working together. They hired a third guy to help with the extra work that needed to be done.

All of sudden with no warning, no reason my son no longer has a job. However, the older one and the younger one are still there.

How is a mother suppose to teach her children good job ethics when the businesses don’t follow those rules.

I have seen this over and over again. If you are too good of a worker, don’t milk the clock, think for yourself, are a self-starter and work hard they get rid of you.

What is our society wants. Do we want a bunch of dummies that act like robots just getting by?

It sure seems like we do. We’ve dummied down education. We’ve dummied down the work force… What is left to be dummied down other than the politics and I’ll leave that for you decided on what level it is now at.

The only way a self-starter, hard worker with job ethics can survive this day and age is to work for themselves. It’s a sad time in our history.

Well now that I have vented my wows of the day….. I’ll move on before I get myself into real trouble….:)

National Days

30 Frankenstein Day

There are many Frankenstein Days celebrated however this day is the celebration for the author.

Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley , best known for “Frankenstein,” Shelley was born on August 30, 1797. While Shelley went on to write six other novels, it was “Frankenstein” that became one of the most famous novels ever published and one of the best-selling stories written by a female author. “Frankenstein,” published in 1818, tells the story of Victor Frankenstein and his ultimate creation.

August 30, 2012 is

National Toasted Marshmallow Day

Today is National Toasted Marshmallow Day! With summer coming to a close, today is the perfect opportunity to invite friends and family to gather around a campfire and toast up some marshmallows.

The history of the marshmallow dates all the way back to Ancient Egypt. The Egyptians harvested the sweet gooey extract of the mallow plant and used it to make candy. It was a very special treat reserved exclusively for gods and royalty. The modern-day marshmallows we know and love today emerged during the 19th century.

To celebrate National Toasted Marshmallow Day, grab a stick and a bag of marshmallows, and head outside to toast some marshmallows over the fire. Enjoy the last few weeks of the summer season!

Toasted Marshmallows Recipe

Print 3×5

Ingredients for Toasted Marshmallows Recipe

  • 1 tablespoon granulated gelatine
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Whites 3 eggs
  • 1½ teaspoons vanilla
  • Macaroons

Instructions

  1. Dissolve gelatine in boiling water, add sugar, and as soon as dissolved set bowl containing mixture in pan of ice-water; then add whites of eggs and vanilla and beat until mixture thickens.
  2. Turn into a shallow pan, first dipped in cold water, and let stand until thoroughly chilled.
  3. Remove from pan and cut in pieces the size and shape of marshmallows; then roll in macaroons which have been dried and rolled.
  4. Serve with sugar and cream.

for more information go to : http://cooking.lovetoknow.com/toasted-marshmallows-recipe

 

Well I am going to put a smile on my face and make this the best day I can make. I am going to look forward to a sunny weekend and I am going to be happy for everyday that I can rise and shine so until next time please be safe:)

4 Responses

  1. I have several friends in their 50’s that are having a difficult time obtaining work. I have one other friend who has worked for twenty-five years for the same company. This company was in the world trade building both in 1993 and 2001. In 1993 she walked down 57 flights of stairs. In 2001 she arrived late to work and was about to walk in when people started jumping out the windows. Her fiancee went to work early and perished with several of her co-workers in the towers on 9/11. This young kid who just started working there gave her an evaluation last year saying she wasn’t doing her job. The same job she did for twenty-five years. Thus makings her ineligible for a raise. Six months later she gets another evaluation saying she’s doing her job well. But they don’t give raises on six month evals. They are trying to push her out. Her loyalty and dedication should stand for something but it doesn’t. You are right that businesses have their own ethics and they aren’t fair.

    • Part of the problem is that the young generation hasn’t been raised with the job ethics that the unions created. When the unions were forced out the ethics went with them now no one has any grounds to stand on to protect themselves and the younger generation is threatened by the older generation therefore wishing to push them out the door. Our country needs to learn to recognize the wisdom and benefits of experience from the older generations. You need to have a balance.

      • My girlfriend is 53 if they change her retiring age to 55 she would gladly retire and collect her pension. But the retirement age for her pension is 62. That would be an easy and do-able fix.

  2. Some businesses offer an early retirement. She might be able to negotiate with them for early retirement. Otherwise the best thing she can do is to work cooperatively with them in the mean time.

Leave a Reply

