September 4th

I hope everyone enjoyed their Labor Day weekend. Now it is back to work and school.

Now the summer is officially over and we can watch the squirrels as the scurry to collect food for the winter. Soon the birds will be migrating again. I always hate to see the Robin’s leave.

The leaves are already beginning to drop from the trees and now it is time for fall clean up. Nothing like raking leaves up only to have them drop again or have a wind storm come through before you can finish.

Gardeners are getting their gardeners ready for that first heavy frost that could come anytime now.

Hopefully the heavy frost will hold off until October but the chill in the night air makes you wonder how soon it will be hear.

I will need plastic on the windows again but I hate to put them up any sooner than necessary.

The cats will not be happy when I no longer open the windows for fresh air. They will have a long winter starring out the window wondering where the birds are and I will be scolded for not letting them feel the air through the screen.

Many of us will be stocking up on our Ben Gay for our arthritis and out will come the heating pads. Social life will come to a hault and neighbors won’t see much of one another unless they participating in the same activities.

Football season has begun and I will be cursing the television stations as I try to find a movie to watch until I get use to the fall schedule.

Winter clothes will be taken out of storage and summer clothes put away or donated.

Yard sales will be winding down and come to that final weekend before the weather changes.

Farmers are preparing for the big harvest season and once they get started the work days will be long. It will be early mornings, coming home after dark and dropping into bed only to repeat the schedule the next day until everything is finished.

Farmers will be hoping that the weather holds until they finish harvest.

I myself know that my September presentation will be one of the last ones for the winter. Then I will be pretty much indoors until the spring arrives.

I will spend the winter months writing as much as I can so that when spring arrives I can have time for marketing my books.

Everyone has some kind of a schedule that they follow and senior citizens are no different.

However, I will miss the sun on those grey winter days that are heading this way.

I always feel energized by the sun.

Today there is a gentle breeze blowing throw the trees. However, I can see the tree leaves have already darkened and soon there will be no green left outside my window.

It is time to get the last photos of the summer to look at through the winter.

It’s sad that all good things must come to an end. So for now I will end this phase and move on to what’s happening today in the nation.

National Days:

4 Newspaper Carrier Day

Newspaper Carrier Day is celebrated in the  US in honor of Barney Flaherty, the first newspaper carrier (or paperboy). He was hired in 1833, as well as all current newspaper carriers. It is celebrated on September 4, the anniversary of Flaherty’s hiring by  Benjamin Day, publisher of the New York Sun.

When my father was in high school the family was having financial difficulties do to the economy at the time. My father dropped out of band so that he could deliver news papers to help feed the family. Throughout our history young boys have been able to make some money learning about work skills while delivering papers.

However, it saddens me that in today’s age it is not safe for the boys to be on the streets alone. Now it is vital that adults accompany them.

Children all over use to ride their bikes alone and think nothing of it. However, it is no longer safe. It has become difficult to find newspaper carriers for that reason.

Many parents who need the help aren’t able to go on deliveries with their children because of other family or work duties. However, no one should ever deliver alone.

If this is a tradition you want to carry on please do it safely. It is a time honored tradition as it was how the news was spread from neighbor to neighbor throughout the communities.

If you have a newspaper carrier that comes to your home please remember to pay them on time and treat them with kindness or you might find out one day there is no one left willing to deliver the news. 🙂

 

 

4 National Wildlife Day

National Wildlife Day is to bring awareness about wildlife and the endangered species. It is also a day to thank all of the zoos and wildlife sanctuaries that work to protect wildlife. It is a day for awareness and letting people know that they can be a part of saving our beautiful wildlife. It is a wonderful time to educate our children so that eventually we can all live together in harmony. It is about making awareness not just nationally but globally about the hundreds of endangered species every year. Today is a day to reach out and help keep those species safe. Today is a day to educate the public so that everyone can be a voice for those animals that can’t speak for themselves. There are many organizations that work to preserve endangered species. For more information go online and check out Endangered species organizations.

4 National Macadamia Nut Day

 

Five Food Finds about Macadamia Nuts

  • Macadamia nuts are native to Australia. They are named for John Macadam, a Scottish born physician and chemist who promoted the nuts cultivation in Australia.
  • The Macadamia Nut is one of Australia’s few contributions to the world’s food plants, and this rich, buttery nut is considered by many to be the most delicious of all nuts.
  • The Macadamia was introduced into Hawaii around 1881 and used as an ornamental. The first commercial orchards of macadamias in Hawaii were not planted until 1921.
  • Most of the world’s macadamia nuts are grown on the island of Hawaii.
  • Today Macadamias are cultivated in many areas, including Indonesia, Central America, South Africa, the West Indies, Mediterranean countries and California.

Growing up my grandmother always had a bowl full of mixed nuts on her dinning room table. We loved the Macadamia but we couldn’t say them. They were also known by another name which is no longer politically correct however, hoping not to offend anyone I am going to say it for historical purposes. It is what helped me learn this nut. Due to their black shell on the outside the were also known as “Nigger Toes.” It was not a racial slang as we didn’t live in an area where that was a problem.

Many foods were given easier names for kids to remember for whatever the reason was. I always remembered which nuts they were because I was given an easy name to attach to it.

I did the same with my children on many different foods through their childhood.

It would be no different than asking for a ” hot pocket,” we don’t really eat pockets and yet there is a food named that.

So my apologies to anyone if I have offended them it was not my attention. Today I call them by their name Macadamias and I still find them very enjoyable.

Well today is a great day for saving things. We are going to save endangered species, save the newspaper carriers tradition and enjoy the healthy benefits of Macadamias in the process.

There are many recipes that call for Macadamias so go online and find a new treat.

I am going to enjoy the day. I am going to write for a while and then enjoy my animals outside watching them scurry around.

So until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

