September 7th

Good morning everyone. It’s a beautiful day. The sun is shining. I’m alive and up early. I feel great and what more could a person ask for than that.

Today I would like to take time to talk about unconditional love. This will be very personal to me but it is an example of living life that I feel needs to be shared.

My cousin Deborah Lynn Holter lived her life as a happy bubbly person. She went through a marriage, divorce, and being a single parent. After about eleven years of being alone she didn’t think she would meet her soul mate.

Seven months ago she met him and they hit it off marvelously. She was having the time of her life. Her daughter was grown up with a child of her own and now Deborah could lead the life that she so deserved. Her new companion was a pilot and they traveled several places.

They were planning to go to Hawaii in November which is when her birthday was. He is a scuba diver so Deborah decided to surprise him and take scuba lessons without him knowing. This is true unconditional love however, Deborah had grown up around the water.

She finished her classes and all she had left was the day she had to go and take her test to be certified as a scuba diver.

She told him what she had done and he wanted to take her to her test. He stood on the shore watching while she was in the water with classmates and her instructor.

The pair you up and you take turns leading each other through the water.

Deborah had been pulling her partner when she became very tired and told her partner. Her partner said let me pull you for a while. They switched and as the supervisor was watching her head went down into the water.

Immediately the instructor had them get her back to shore knowing that something was wrong.

By the time the arrived at the shore she wasn’t breathing. 911 was called immediately and the Emergency Responders did CPR for 55 minutes on her then she was life flighted to the hospital.

After a day the doctor told the family that the only thing keeping her alive was the life support. There was damage to all her major organs and swelling on the brain.

The family agreed to take her off life support. The removed her from it on a Sunday and on Monday she had passed from this world to the next.

My cousin was 55 years of age. Today is the graveside service which I am not able to be at but I carry her in my heart.

I am not writing this for sympathy. However, I am writing it to talk about living life and everyday to the fullest because you don’t know when it will be your last day. Deborah’s death isn’t the tragedy her as she died out of unconditional love. She wanted to try something new and she wanted to surprise the love of her life.

The tragedy here is that he stood on the shore and watched helpless as she died doing something that he loved to do.

I pray that this young man who gave her so much happiness in the past seven months can focus on what happiness they had together not on the loss.

She had more happiness with him in that short period than over the last eleven years of her young life.

Unconditional love brings us that joy for however, long we know we have it and quantity is what is important it’s the quality of the time we have it.

Deborah with her bubbly personality and love for life would not have wanted to die any other way than doing something from the love in her heart.

So in memory of my baby cousin who I sometimes thought was a pest. I send my blessings to her and leave everyone with this thought.

Celebrate the life of those near and dear to you. Do not remember their death for they deserve more. Honor their memories and keep them alive forever.

Do not ever give up what you love because it took them away. The reality is that it wasn’t the event that caused the death it was nothing more than their time to leave.

So as you say your ado’s blow a kiss into the air and surround them with love.

Cry not for me,

I left this earth happily.

I found the love I was looking for,

No one could ask for anything more.

Remember me with joy,

Celebrate my life,

Do not shed a tear,

I will be waiting near,

Until we meet again.

@copyright Janice N. Richards 2012

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Grandma Moses was a painter in her own right. Anna Mary Robertson Moses, born Sept. 7, 1860, was a “primitive” American painter. She’s considered a primitive painter because she was self-taught and never received a formal art education, according to the Encyclopedia World Biography.

She did not start painting until she turned 78. The lesson: It’s never too late to try something new.

Another example of living life to the fullest. 🙂

 

School Time:

 I ran across this writing that I had written for another time and I felt it appropriate for this week so I’m sharing it today as the first week of school is ending for many.

As a child, I anticipated the first day of school with great excitement. I wanted to know who my teachers was, would he or she like me. Who would be in my class, and what kind of year would it be? I loved school and looked forward to going.

One day I found myself as an adult being the teacher. I anticipated the first day with anxiety wondering who would be in my class. What would the parents be like, and what challenges in special education would I have to overcome.

I worried about the first day because this was stressful for my students who didn’t like change, who had difficulty with directions, and needed a smile and a kind word. I worried about how their regular classroom teachers would handle the day.
I would spend most of the first day making sure schedules were right. Students were in the right classes, and that new students not registered would be taken care of.
I would find myself doing the work of three people and relying on those close to me.

I was also thrilled when the first day ended and we survived with minimal casualties.

Now I look back and wonder how many classmates of mine were scared to death while I was excited. I had always looked forward to school but now I realized it wasn’t that way for everyone.

So now as school begins I have the following wishes: students are greeted with smiles, the parents and teachers develop a working relationship, the school community does they best they can for each and every student, that the government provides necessary funding, politicians stay out of the schools. Schools aren’t corporations they are a place students need to be safe, nurtured, and guided with parental love.

May this be the best school year ever. I am now retired and do not miss the hustle and bustle but I always remember the students. God Bless all! 🙂

Now let’s look at what is happening with the National Days.

National Library Card Sign-Up Month

With school starting back up this is the perfect time to introduce young children to signing up for their own library card. Education is enhanced through the many services now offered at the public libraries.  There is reading for relaxation, reading for information, and reading related to specific skills. Now there is computer technology that will assist in many school projects. There is technology learning for all ages.

Most libraries also offer special events throughout the year. Get involved with your public library.

National Days:

7 Neither Rain nor Snow Day

The U.S. Post Office is obligated to deliver mail in the snow and the rain? It’s not the official motto of the postal service; it’s just a contemporary legend. The phrase, “Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of nights stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds” does have a direct connection to the postal service, though.

 On Sept. 7, 1914, Labor Day (imagine, the U.S.P.S. working on a holiday!) the New York Post Office Building located at 8th Avenue opened to the public. Architect William M. Kendall had the inscription engraved on the front of the building. To confuse the matter further, the U.S.P.S. use the motto as part of a longer message in TV commercials aired after the 2001 anthrax mailings and events of Sept. 11, 2001. 🙂

Funny that while I was typing this the post office worker knocked on my door. I wondered why she put the mail in the mail box. I went to the door to find out and found my UPS package sitting on the steps with my books I had ordered. Once again the Postal Service has come through letting me know I had a delivery. 🙂

 

Salami Day

Today is Salami Day! Salami is cured sausage that has been fermented and air-dried. Countries like Italy, France, Hungary, Germany, and Spain each produce their own style of salami. The varieties differ in the coarseness or fineness of the chopped meat as well as the size and style of the casing.

Although the exact origin of salami is unknown, there is evidence that fermented sausage has been made in the Mediterranean region for more than 2,000 years. Both the Romans and Greeks cured their meat so that the final product could be stored at room temperature for up to ten years without going bad.

The way in which salami is fermented has many natural health benefits. For example, the final product contains lactic acid bacteria, which can help maintain a healthy digestive system. To celebrate Salami Day, enjoy some delicious salami on a sandwich, in a salad, or on its own! 🙂

7 National Acorn Squash Day

It looks like dark green pumpkin with pronounced ridges, but it’s really an acorn squash. The acorn squash is a winter squash, as is the butternut squash. Winter squashes are rich in Vitamins A and C, potassium and fiber.

The acorn squash, like other winter squashes are tough, fibrous and best when cut, steamed and mashed, or baked. It tastes both peppery and nutty. Both winter and summer squashes were found in abundance by Europeans exploring the New World.

For recipes go online to find a variety of delicious ways to enjoy this health vegetable.

Well today I am happy that the sun is shining and I am going to remember my cousin with all of her laughter and life and I know that one day I will see her again. In the meantime I will make the best of the day that I can and I hope each and every one of you can find unconditional love and live life to the fullest.

So until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

