September 12th

Today the sun is shining and it is a much brighter day than yesterday. However, the night air was chilly and so was my house. I so dread turning the heat on for the first time of the year but it looks like I’m not going to be able to hold of too much longer.

The cats and I spent the night curled up under my warm blanket of course they were on top but cuddled close. Then they arose early and raced through the house awakening me letting me know it was time to eat.

Now they are content and taking a nap. Their bellies are full and the house is warming up so as one sleeps on the desk and the other behind me on the couch I am free to write.

Yesterday I went out for dinner with a friend and my son was gone all day so they had been left home alone. When I returned after three hours they were very unhappy. My female, Baby, let me know she was upset. I sat at the computer and she kept whacking me on the back with her paw. She is very gentle when she does it but it’s her sign she needs to be taken care of.

I had fed them when I came home so I knew it was the need for food. I decided I’d better leave the computer and sit on the couch and watch a movie with her. Then she was content as she slept in my lap until after the news was over.

Being back to normal everything was forgiven and I was able to once again return to the computer.

Since I stopped working outside of the home my cats have become very unhappy if I leave even just to run to the grocery store. They are more accepting if I bring them something home but they really want me at home twenty-four- seven.

My male cat who has abandonment issues from his early years was exhausted and as soon as he knew I was home and all was well he crashed. You could tell by the way he draped himself across the couch that he was stressed.

People who don’t understand cats and their emotions really don’t know cats at all. They are very sensitive, nervous animals. They like a normal routine with stability.

They like to be talked to. They make very good listeners and it calms them.

They don’t like loud noises or to be yelled at. They are just like babies. They want affection.

My sons say I spoil my cats but that’s okay because I spoiled my boys too. I love my cats and they are family. I enjoy watching their activities, and being able to laugh at them. I scold them when they are bad and then love them and let them know that everything is okay. I love to watch them sleep.

Now that the weather is changing I worry about the mice and the cats don’t like it if the mice try to come in. That is one problem with living in a trailer they get under the skirting and the cats can smell them. I well be glad in two months when everything settles down and we don’t have that problem.

I hate mouse trap time of the year.  With harvest time starting it makes it worse as the fields are dug up and their homes are destroyed. It’s funny how every season brings that little quirk that you could do with out.

I wish the mice would migrate south like the birds do . 🙂

Well enough about me for today. Let’s see what’s happening in the nation.

National Days:

12 National Video Games Day  (see Video Games Day in July)                             National Video Games Day Falls on September 12 each year. It is a day to honor the Gaming industry and how far technology has developed in the areas of gaming. This is a day that one can celebrate by playing their favorite games, inviting friends and family to share in fun gaming activity and be thankful for the many accomplishments that the gaming industry has made.  Who would have thought in today’s age we would be using Smart Phones iPods and all the other Gaming Instruments out there?

Gaming sure is different from in my days of growing up when it was make-believe with cardboard boxes or you played cards and table games. Now most table games you can play on video games. How amazing is it to transform childhood memories to a video screen for example: Monopoly or Scrabble. Then of course there are the action games. Who would have thought you could be racing a car looking at the road as if you were in the car or fighting the Androids. It’s a whole different world. With this new world comes new responsibilities for parents and children.

It’s all about learning what is reality and what is fantasy. It also is about time limits . You still need to go outdoors and enjoy the fresh air without video games. You still need to enjoy the beauty of nature. Everything in life requires a balance. Today is your day for video games so how about if tomorrow you plan an outdoor activity.

Do not confuse this day with Video Games Day in July. They are two separate days. Today is in honor of the industry and their accomplishments so pick your favorite games and have fun.

 

12 National Chocolate Milkshake Day

National Chocolate Milkshake Day

Today is National Chocolate Milkshake Day! Smooth, frothy, rich, and sweet are just a few of the words that describe today’s reason to celebrate. Did you know that the first reference to a milkshake appeared in a British newspaper in 1885? The original recipe called for a shot of whiskey! Milkshakes were popular at soda fountain counters in the early 1900s and are now a mainstay at ice cream shops, diners, and fast food restaurants throughout the country.

To celebrate National Chocolate Milkshake Day, enjoy a delicious milkshake for dessert tonight! To make your own at home, combine 2 cups of chocolate ice cream, 2 bars of dark chocolate candy (diced), and 1/2 cup whipped cream in a blender. Garnish with more cream and chocolate shavings. Enjoy!

Growing up my mother made the best ice cream desserts. She had worked in an ice cream parlor in her young adult days before marrying my father. She never lost her love for ice cream. A real treat for us was to get a milkshake from Pork Chop John’s In Butte, Montana. Back then the milkshakes were made from real ice cream. There was only one size which was large the size of the container that they put on the blender. I loved chocolate milkshakes and I especially loved them with whipped marshmallow. Very creamy and rich.

Today is the day to find the best ice cream in your area and whether you make it yourself or buy it already made enjoy this long time tradition honoring ice cream.

Here’s to National Chocolate Milkshake Day. 🙂

Well that’s it for today. Now I must go and get ready for tomorrow’s presentation at the Public Library in Burley Idaho. I will be talking about writing and publishing and most of all my books. Tomorrow will be a busy day for me and of course my cats will be upset once again. So tomorrow night will be on the couch soothing the nervous babies.

I wish everyone a happy day. Stay safe and enjoy the weather while you can. So until next time 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

