October 28th

 

Hello everyone! October has been a wild and crazy month for me with finishing two books, a book event, dealing with libraries and trying to maintain some home life.

I can’t say I am ready for winter but today it is beautiful. The sun is shining and it is suppose to reach seventy degrees which would be nice.

I laugh as I watch the squirrels scurrying around gathering their winter food stopping to munch here and there.

The magpies have been screeching a lot and I’m sure they are made at the squirrels.

My cats haven’t been happy campers with the change in weather as they like the warm sunshine and the window open. Today I will have to open it for them for a little while.

I am posting the new links to my books today. I am sorry I didn’t get them done when I was suppose to but my body gave out.

I hope everyone remembers books for Christmas presents and starts ordering now. Remember the printers get very busy so order early.

 

The Rebel Years

This is a sequel to Growing Up in the Rockies

I remember the days when I would have been known as a “Rebel.” I think of my poor mother and father and how difficult it was for them to let me grow up. I was a spirited girl with a seizure disorder, whom they had been able to protect as a child. Now they saw that those days were ending and they feared my growing up. Everyday would become a new challenge and there would be times my mother wouldn’t want to give in and allow me to do what I needed to do. It would be a time that in order for me to survive I would have to rebel. There would be times I would do things without permission and ask for forgiveness later. It was a time when I needed to find myself and know who I was meant to be.

A Parent and Teacher Guide for Early Childhood Learning

The most important part of this book is that the adult and children are able to have fun. Learning should be a fun experience.

Poems are intended for the adult to read to the child setting a language example.

Finger plays are interactive with the adult and child. Repetitive words reinforce language skills. Using the same format for rhymes helps children to develop structural language patterns.

Having the child first hear the adult say the words develops receptive language skills.

Having children repeat back what they hear develops expressive language skills.

The stronger the receptive and expressive language skills are the better their communication skills will be later on in life.

I have included a partial list of monthly celebrations, along with foods for the days. Often times, food experiences enhance the learning process. There are many more national and international days according to history, events of the day, music of the day, births of the day, etc. I narrowed it down to ones that could be incorporated into any environment

Haunting

( To the song A Hunting We Will Go!)

 

A haunting we will go,

A haunting we will go,

See a Ghost and scream BOOOOOOOO!

A Haunting we will go!

 

A haunting we will go,

A haunting we will go,

See a witch and cackle HEHE! HEHE!

A Haunting we will go!

 

A haunting we will go,

A haunting we will go,

See a black cat and MEEOWW! MEEOOWW
A Haunting we will go.

 

A haunting we will go,

A haunting we will go,

See a bat and FLAP! FLAP! FLAP!

A haunting we will go.

 

A haunting we will go,

A haunting we will go,

See a spider and scream EEKK! EEKK!

A haunting we will go.


A haunting we will go,

A haunting we will go,

Scare a trick or treater,

BOO! HEHE! MEEOWW! FlAP FlAP! EEKKK! 

A haunting we will go.

 

A haunting we will go,

A haunting we will go,

But we’ll take a rest right now,

Until a haunting, we will go.

 

 

You can mix these up with other Halloween characters as you choose. You can also add the sounds from the verse before for memory practice keeping the sounds in order. You can assigning certain children characters and only they make the sound. There are many variations that you can do with this fun rhyme. You can also go backwards at the end to repeat before finishing. It depends on how long you want it to last.

You can also move around the room and do actions with it for mobility training. This is a fun one to act out.

A good art project would be to make masks of the different characters before hand and then use them as you say the rhyme.

The creative parent or teacher will find many ways to use this.


@copyrighted 2012 Janice N. Richards

28  Mother-In-Law Day – fourth Sunday in October

28 Plush Animal Lover’s Day

28 Wild Foods Day – plants, fruits, and vegetables 

28 National Chocolate Day  

Make today a special day by remembering your Mother- In- Law. Combine it with Plush Animal Lover’s day and give her a Plush animal to remember you by.

Today is also a good day for wild foods such as plants that you can pick fruits and vegetables. Now as harvest is ending and farmer’s markets are closing remember that this is the end of the season and the last chance to pick what is left before winter sets in. So enjoy what you can as the animals scurry around to pick what they can for the winter storage.

Today is national Chocolate Day but everyday is a good day for chocolate so celebrate it with your favorite treat whether it be a candy bar, cookies, cake, ice cream or some special delight topped with chocolate. Today is the day for you chocolate lovers so enjoy it.

I will be adding the links today for my books. I thank everyone for their support of my books and my blog site. I have met many wonderful friends and I am thankful for that.

Please remember to like my books on Amazon.com as that helps move them up in ranking so they are easier to be found. If you feel like you could write a review I can always use that.

Thanks to everyone and have a good day. So until next time 🙂

3 Responses

  1. Nice sunny day? We have a nice Sandy day. 🙂 All the best with the sales of your book.

  2. Dear silentlyheardonce,
    I will pray for your safety and that of all who are being touched by the destructive winds and water of Sandy. My prayers go out to each and everyone. I pray for your safety and the rebuilding of this country. We must all stick together and help one another 🙂

Leave a Reply

