Nove 2nd and 3rd

The past two days have been beautiful fall weather. I have enjoyed the warmth of the sunshine.

I have however, been in a slump. I have found it difficult to get started writing again. No I don’t have writer’s block.

I have lack of motivation.

Every time my momentum picks up on my books, my son gets laid off from a job. It gets depressing.

You just think you are finally going to get a little bit ahead and you barely make the bills.

Then you see a storm like Sandy roll in and you count your blessings for what you have.

But the devastation of friends, family, and strangers can’t help but dampen your spirit.

Then you start to feel guilty that you have  been blessed by not having to go through their troubles.

You wish you could do something to help. The heart and mind are willing but the body and pocket-book aren’t.

Then you watch the news and find out that in a week another storm will be rolling in.

You feel like dropping to your knees and praying. However, the truth is I wouldn’t be able to get up if I did. Instead I sit in my chair and pray morning, noon and night.

I ask the Lord to lead us out of our own destruction and show us the way. I pray for forgiveness for all of our sins. I pray for a better life where all can live together in peace and harmony.

When I think of writing my books seem so unimportant compared to the problems of the world.

I am thankful that I finished the last two books when I did and that I did the events that I did.

Fortunately my book sales are paying for the insurance on the house and the cars at this point.

My son usually pays that when he is working and it was due right after harvest ended.

This year he made no money on harvest because it all went into paying for gas just to get there.

The world needs help and it needs it now. Our young people need hope. We must see some light at the end of the tunnel.

I live in a rural area and the job opportunities are few.

I spend a lot of time worrying about the future of my sons. My future is behind me. I will be okay but my sons need help.

Many of our sons and daughters need help.

Please all join me this week in prayer and some moments of silence for our future.

Hopefully on Monday I will be able to start writing again.

 

Friends and Neighbors are the future of the world. Who have you helped this week?

 

So until next time 🙂

5 Responses

  1. I hope things start to look up for you and your sons soon.

    • Thank you Sandra they are starting to already improve.

      It’s just normal everyday living. I hope tomorrow that I can get back to doing what I love to do.

      Thanks

  2. Hi Janice,
    No matter how old our children become, it seems as Mothers or Fathers inherit the same gene-worry! Thanks for your reflections. I too have been unable to complete my new book for distractions seem to come in bundles!

    • Thank you Rosemary. Once a parent always a parent. We will always, love, worry, and care about your children.

      Writing will come in surges but don’t get discouraged. When you have a moment write even if it is only a couple hundred words. You will be surprised what you do. I am starting to get back into it now. But my schedule has been hectic and my health issues haven’t helped.

      Thanks again things are looking up.

    • Rosemary yes it does. However, things will get better.

Leave a Reply

