November 16th

Good Morning everyone 🙂

This morning I woke up to the twang of my sons guitar. Not the way I like to wake up but I will make the best of the morning at hand. I was going to go back to sleep but then figured why?

I got up feed the cats and sat down at the computer still trying to wake up. I played a game of solitaire until I was more awake and then read my emails.

Now as I sit ready to write I look out the window and the sun is nowhere to be seen. It is a grey overcast day. There is moisture in the air and I fear snow is definitely on its way.  I remember the days of enjoying the first snow fall and running out to play in it. Now I hesitate because of aching bones, driving on slippery roads and simply wanting to hibernate like a bear.

It bothers me because I feel like when winter sets in I lose so much of living because we do tend to be less productive in the cold months especially as we get older.  I am afraid I should have been one of those senior citizens that went south for the winter but that just isn’t in my life style at least at this moment in time.

Like the animals I will nestle in and prepare to stay warm for the winter and think of the coming of spring although it is a long way off. However, everyone needs a dream and that shall be mine.

Now that the cats have been feed they are content to settle down for their morning nap. I’m sure they were romping during the night while I was asleep.

I think my household schedule is all turned around and has been since harvest. It’s time to get everyone back on the same schedule.

Yesterday I found out my hometown Public Library was ordering two of my books and I was thrilled. Finally, I am reaching beyond the area I live in. I am going to continue to work on libraries and do the best I can do.

Next week is Thanksgiving and I am thankful that I will have a day to spend with my family and be  thankful that we have a roof over our heads, food to eat and a day to laugh and reminisce.

My youngest son has decided to have Thanksgiving at his house and that is fine with me. I guess I will do Christmas again this year.

The difficulty of going somewhere else is not having anything to pick at when you come home. I am hoping to teach my oldest son how to make pumpkin pies this year he just doesn’t know it yet. 🙂

I will sometime during the week find time to call my sister and wish her a happy Thanksgiving. She celebrates with her family and I never know where she is on Thanksgiving Day. We probably will talk afterwards and share the details of the day.

Then on Black Friday I am trying a first, I will be doing a book signing at the Book Plaza in Burley, Idaho. It will be interesting to see how many come to the bookstore on that day.

I hope I do well as I do not yet have any Christmas shopping done as usual.

The toll of higher gas prices, food prices, and cost of living have had its impact on my menial check.

I don’t understand why property taxes are always due at the worst possible time right before Christmas. I know it’s the end of the year but you would think they could plan better. Thank Goodness mine aren’t that high.

I am very thankful for many things and I don’t want my blog to sound other wise however, lately I have felt the need to talk about things that really bother me in our society and need change.

Yesterday I talked about School and Teacher Bashing and will do more later.

However, today I want to address Social Security Checks. Social security checks are assigned by the last numbers in your Social Security. For example: I get my check the third Wednesday of the month.

Now that doesn’t sound like a problem but it is a huge problem. One month you get your check on the 15th the next you get it on the 21st. You are constantly trying to juggle your medicines to last and extra week, pay your bills and contact about payments that won’t be in on time.

Then there is the fact that your check comes after every bill is due and you mount up late fees on all bills because everyone expects to be paid before the 10th of the month.

Try to explain to them the third Wednesday of the month. They get irritated with you because they can’t enter it into the computer that way. They need to have a date. So then you are trying to pick a date close enough but will cover every month hoping you remember what you’ve done.

Now it’s not bad enough that social security doesn’t care about if you eat, have a roof over your head or are cold and on the street but you have to also keep the bank happy.

You try to balance your check book to a tee but heaven forbid you make a mistake. The more medications you take, the more tired you are from lack of sleep, worrying about daily living, and just plan existing the easier it becomes to make errors. Then when you do you have overdraft fees that eat up your limited income.

You go into the bank to see if you can get anyone to help you as it was a human error but not one on purpose and they don’t care. You sit there with tears streaming down your face wondering how you will make it through the month and they chalk it up to experience.

Then you have to listen to the news talk about cutting medicare/Medicaid and social security.

You aren’t suppose to get depressed because that will cost you money for another pill which you don’t want to take.

Then you look at the cupboard and realize there isn’t any extra food to take with your medications.

Now you know you have to be careful about the time of day you take your medication so you can eat what may be the only meal of the day with the medicines needed hoping not to tear up your stomach too much.

When you finally are worn out from the days activities you look at night medicines and know you need to eat something but if you do there may not be a meal tomorrow. You do the best you can and you skimp as much as possible.

Then they tell you to stay active, get out about and be social. How do you do that when you are exhausted, hungry, and worrying about bills all the time?

How do you manage to keep your head up high with pride when you have fallen into the worst category of all.

You now are old, unwanted by society, and broke. This is not a healthy environment for any senior citizen.

Then you see a commercial advertising a free Thanksgiving dinner at a local cafe but you don’t have gas money to go to it. You look in your cupboard and know you will be thankful for that can of soup you hid and saved for a special occasion.

Yet you hear young people on a daily basis complain about their whoa’s of not having the things they need, new clothes, new cars, new homes, a job because they lost the one they had, and yet they are able to physically get around and do what they need to do.

You begin to wonder what happened to the generation gap. It seems to become wider every year.

Then you see a commercial on television about buying your child their dream gift for Christmas but it’s too big to fit in the car.

What every happened to homemade gifts and being thankful for the true meaning of Christmas.

When did our country lose sight of the values that are truly important. Now in every facet of life the corporations exist and you can’t get away from them.

Now you are lucky to see a person smile. Clerks are rude, everyone is demanding and the consumer is always wrong.

What ever happened to wanting to please the consumer to make that sale and make a difference in a person’s life?

What ever happened to taking a moment to make someone’s day a better day.

What ever happened to working with those who try so hard to be on time with their payments and do what is right?

Why do you we treat people like they are bad? When did we stop carrying?

As you enter the holiday season I challenge each and every one of you to make a difference in someone’s life.

Look around you and be aware of who needs an encouraging word, or a smile. Look around and see who isn’t going to have a holiday meal and share with them.

Look around and forget about material items and go back to the special times of homemade gifts, family time, love, joy, sharing and caring.

If we do not change what is going on in our society soon we will self destruct.

So until next time 🙂

 

 

4 Responses

  1. Feeling a bit Bah humbugish? I can relate. My SSD check use to come in the 3rd week too. But since I got medicare I get it on the 3rd. Not for my convenience but for the convenience of my hmo. However my bills are still late never the less because most of them are due at the end of the month. Calling and trying to reach a human well don’t know if there even human’s there to help. I hope your book circulates continually in the library and your book signing is a big success.

  2. Thanks silentlyheardonce, even when I got my medicare they didn’t change the dates. I agree it’s hard to get a human on the phone but even when you do they can’t help you. All we can do is the best we can. Hope your writing goes well for you.

  3. I was very touched by what you wrote – unfortunately, so much of it is true. I’ll print it out and put it by my computer as a reminder during the holidays to open my eyes, and heart more than I do my wallet. Thanks for writing this. Hope your book signing goes great!

    • Thank you darlene we all have to take time to be sensitive to others and their needs. It is a very dangerous time during out economy and it doesn’t take much to tip the scales the wrong direction. May God bless you and may you have a blessed Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

