January 4th 2013

Hello everyone. I hope everyone is safe and warm. We have been hit with the arctic cold and subzero temperatures.

Much of the day is spent under blankets trying to keep warm and the cats are sleeping more and more.

I don’t make New Year Resolutions as I find it more important to just try to make each year a little better than the year before.

However, as we enter the Golden Years I think it is important to reside to acting our age. We may be tempted to get out there and sleigh ride, ice skate and through snow balls however, we have to remember that bodily injuries are more serious than when we were young.

My brother-in-law decided to go out and play in the snow with the grand kids, they hauled the sleds and he took his hunting toboggan.  It had been years since they did this and they did come down in the same spot as when they grew up and the land formation was different. They flew off a ledge. The younger ones thinking it was great. However, when my brother-in-law hit his toboggan shattered and as he walked into the house all that was left was the plastic strap in his hand. His pride wasn’t the only thing injured. At the age of sixty-seven his body was complaining and my sister had to run him down before going to bed that evening.

There is no shame in saying that one has reached, a point in their age where they are now too old to do it. I would much rather see that then a broken hip or leg.

I now at the age of sixty-two prefer staying in away from people especially during flu season as I remain healthier. I was reading an article today that amazed me it was about a hospital that required all employees to get a flu shot. One of the nurses who had worked their for numerous years chose not to and lost her job.  She was one out of eight that lost their jobs for not getting the flu shot. Is it right that an employer make flu shots mandatory? What about people who are allergic and can’t take the shots?

Then as I was coming on to my blog site I saw an article about the airplane passenger who was duct tapped to his seat for being unorderly. I didn’t even take the time to read it. However, it comes to my mind that there is something wrong in society when we have to take extreme actions.

The only thing that I have seen positive this week is the fact that the Sandy Hook students were able to return to school and get back to normal. Good for them. Adults should take lessons from children and rebound like children do.

My son was asked to go with a friend and spend the weekend up at their cabin and he decided it was too cold to be in a cabin.  Hurray for common sense.  I sure wouldn’t want to be in a cabin when the temperatures are below zero and all you have is a fire to keep warm.

Well I guess it is going to be a long cold spell and I will be very glad when the snow melts and the sun comes back out and I can plan for an active spring. However, until that time I will take breaks and write when I can and then bundle under the warmth of my heavy Mexican blankets that I will never regret purchasing on my travels.

However, for now I am going to do what I can to stay in doors and keep warm, avoid the flu and cold season and hope for the best.

I wish everyone who has to leave their home a safe and warm trip and hurry home to the comfort of your own castle.

After all there is nothing like home. so until next time 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

